Justifying running shoes

So I confess that I blew my $100/month personal care budget for this and next month already.  A week ago, my favorite running store sent me a 20% off offer, which is hard to resist since 1) I need new shoes anyway, 2) running shoes is a necessity if you run habitually, 3) I have the flattest feet since Fred Flintstone that horribly over-pronate and limited to two models, 4) that tend to be pricier than normal running shoes.  20% is a savings of $22 in this case, and since running shoes hardly ever go on sale, I went for it.  Unfortunately, though, since I also had a deep tissue massage earlier this month (which I didn’t need since my back was maybe a 5 out of 10, but I felt too guilty to cancel), I borrowed from Peter (March) to pay Paul (February).  I’m completely aware that my debt probably stems from this kind of justifying and going over my budget, but I’ll just have to not buy anything in March to make up for it.  At least I’m aware, right?  Bueller?  Bueller?

I know… I suck with self-control.

I’ve made peace with it, though, since running is a source of so much happiness and I use it in lieu of coffee in the morning.  So, shoes might be a thing, but it’s also the vehicle (literally) for daily experiences that I enjoy. /endjustification

This weekend we’re going to Palm Springs to hang with my parents who are coming from Arizona, and my bro and sis-in-law from the OC.  I’m excited since we didn’t hang over the holidays, and I’m fortunate to not only love my family, but actually like them in three to five day increments.  I hope everyone has a great weekend!

14 thoughts on “Justifying running shoes

  1. You can’t manage what you don’t measure. At least you are recognizing the debt problem. As long as you are aware of it, I’m sure you’ll figure out a solution. It’s really the people that don’t think they have a problem that worry me. Between us, I think running shoes are an absolutely worthwhile investment in health, fun, and fashion.

    • Great first sentence – I agree. Thankfully, February is a short month so I’ll probably save in the food/gas/going out budget to absorb the cost. I agree with the running shoes part, I ran a couple of miles today and there was so much spring in my step! 🙂

  2. Personally, I get encouraged more reading blogs that have ups and downs. When I read about people getting rid of six figure debt in less than one year, that makes me want to give up.
    I can relate to you even more~^^

    • Haha, I know what you mean. I think I was more embarrassed since I’m only ~40 days into the new year and I can’t keep my budget in check! But, I guess it’s a good learning lesson in re-allocating/re-budgeting so I’m still within my means in the long run.

  3. A good pair of running shoes is the best investment you can make in running. It will save you $$ in the long run by preventing you from injuring yourself on your runs, which in turn helps you stay healthy, which in turn saves you on medical bills in the future!! So a $100 pair of running shoes is totally worth it!

  4. I finally found your site via another site!!! Disqus doesn’t always have that info so I had no idea where you came from! Yay! I know what you mean about the cost of personal care. I tend to go over in this category too because I take my health very seriously…most notably preventative heath/wellness. Good running shoes are very important for your feet and knees, so I know where you’re coming from.

    • Yay, thanks for stopping by! I agree with preventative health/wellness – I figure it will be good for at least 500 miles, so I’m trying to not beat myself up over the purchase. Best wishes on a speedy recovery since I’m pretty sure you love volleyball as much as I love running! 🙂

  5. Pingback: The Video Will Change Your Life | Budget and the Beach

  6. Saw your post on Budget and the Beach today – and the timing couldn’t be better. I posted my 2012 costs of running on our blog today, and I totally hear you on shoes. I don’t scrimp on them, and since it looks like they are discontinuing the pair that I like the best (ie fewest injuries), I may do a stock-up and buy as many pairs as is reasonable since I’m going through about 4 per year.

    • Wow, 4 pairs per year is some serious mileage! Did the company explain why they’re discontinuing? That’s gotta be frustrating since I think runners tend to be creatures of habit and stick to one style… I’ll check out your running post, but thanks for stopping by!

  7. There’s nothing wrong with this, from both the fitness and frugality standpoints. Having good, running-specific shoes is better for running and makes your running shoes last longer *and* your athletic shoes last longer (assuming you wear each out and don’t toss them out when fashions change)

Leave a Reply

