Weekend with the fam

This past weekend, B and I went to Palm Springs to hang out with my family.  We only get to see each other 3-4 times a year all together, so it was fun spending time, gossiping about other family drama, making fun of each other (a family past time, though we say it lovingly), and of course, eating.  My parents rented a place with a kitchen, so I offered to cook dinner on Saturday night to help with meals cost but still trying to do so on a budget.  I made this guacamole recipe which is always a hit, shrimp enchiladas for my dad the pescatarian, and pot roast with wild rice.  The two main dishes don’t match, but it’s the two dishes that I make really well so I wanted to make them.  My mom ended up making Chinese chicken salad and my sis-in-law brought fruit tarts from a French bakery, so it ended up being a little United Nations dinner, anyway. 😉

I had the potatoes, carrots, wild rice, broth, and spices at home already, but with the rest of the ingredients I spent around $50.  I thought that was pretty good for a family of 6, especially since there were leftovers for B and I’s dinner tonight.  For a late snack, my parents, bro, and sis-in-law surprised me while I was watching a movie with B with this delicious red velvet cake from Nothing Bundt Cake (my bday isn’t for a couple more weeks, but we won’t get to hang out so this was pretty cool):

cake

It was so incredibly delicious and I’m pretty sure the walkway to Heaven’s gates is lined with these delicious cakes (plus I got to take home half!).

Besides the dinner, I didn’t spend much this weekend since B offered to take his car.  The fam mostly just hung out and enjoyed one another’s company, but here’s some cool pics from the commute to and from Palm Desert when we took two separate routes:

I hope everyone had a great weekend, and Gong Xi Fa Cai to anyone who might celebrate Lunar New Year!

8 thoughts on “Weekend with the fam

  1. Glad you were able to spend time with family! Both of my parents are gone now and I’m not close to my brothers…but I did see my 25 year old son yesterday and his girlfriend! Have a nice week! ~Sherry~

  2. Funny story about Nothing Bundt cake, our local newspaper here in Austin had a coupon for a free small mini bundt cake so I went twice (I got red velvet the first time then turtle the next. Then I found another coupon but made my mom go because I figured they’d recognize me.

    • LOL or you could’ve gone in with a mustache, but perhaps that might have not worked out considering wrong gender and all. 😉 Oh man, if I ever found a coupon for a free one I would be all over that!

Leave a Reply

