Revolutions Around the Sun

Pretty soon, I’ll be marking my anniversary of another revolution around the sun, a.k.a. bday.  I first greeted my 30’s by doing this:

Is that a pencil in your pocket or are you just happy to jump with me?

Is that a pencil in your pocket or are you just happy to jump with me?

But now I’m just celebrating this revolution by staying home and knitting.  Ha, just kidding – yarn is costly and I lack hand-eye coordination.

A month back, I read this post from Budget and the Beach’s archives, and thought it was a great way to look back and ponder life’s lessons.  I’m pretty sure I would just be copying a lot of what she said and pawning it off as my own, so I figured I would mix in some random stuff about me.  This also reveals my age, which is a bit hard for me considering I have that debt stuff still going on.  But, I have nothing but faith and determination that I’ll get it done by the next revolution, and overall life is awesome so I’m excited at what else it will throw at me:

1) 98% of the time, it really isn’t about you, so don’t be so self-conscious.

2) When things are beyond your control, I go by the quote “be like water, and flow.”

3) When things are within your control, seize the opportunity and run with it!

4) When I was 4, I cut off the right side of my bangs (like 2 inches worth or however long my forehead was at the time) and when my mom cried in horror what I did, I pretended to not know what she meant.  Looking back, I think the real question is how did I get access to scissors??

5) Travel lots and talk to as many locals as you can.

6) Keep it simple.

7) I think a positive and optimistic attitude is important to cultivate.

8) My 8 costly kryptonites are designer jeans, Shiseido products, craft beer, restaurant dining, travel, running events, salon shampoo/conditioner, and camping gear.

9) When a guy tells you he doesn’t want marriage and kids (or doesn’t want them for awhile) – get over the urge to change him and believe him!!  You’ll save yourself a lot of heartache and years.

10) Try to make an effort to outreach to loved ones as much as possible, even when it feels like you’re mostly making the effort. The true friends will reciprocate over time.

11) I was 11 when I went to my first concert – Debbie Gibson.  And yes, I had the hat.

12) My 12 favorite movies are Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, El Secreto de sus Ojos, Memento, Dial M for Murder, Requiem for a Dream, Black Swan, American Psycho, Habla con Ella, Love Actually, Kill Bill, When Harry Met Sally, and Amores Perros.

13) One of my favorite quotes that I try to live by is “Be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle.”

14) Another life motto I strive for is “Smile and the world smiles with you!”

15) My 15 favorite authors are Dosteovsky, Vonnegut, Neitzche, Sedaris, Kerouac, Nabokov, Austen, Bulgakov, Hagedorn, Lawson (Erik), Voltaire, The Dalai Lama, Hosseini, King, and Capote.

16) My 16 favorite shows are Modern Family, Big Bang Theory, Battlestar Galactica, New Girl, The Daily Show, The Colbert Report, Anderson Cooper, Dateline, Tosh.0, Alfred Hitchcock Presents, Twilight Zone, RHOBH, Jeopardy, Happy Endings, The Brady Bunch, and Sex and the City.

17) Yet another inspiring quote I like to strive for is “Motivation is what gets you started.  Habit is what keeps you going.”

18) Vote!  And not just every 4 years.

19) I was 19 when I had my first alcoholic beverage – it was two wine coolers and all I remember was tripping over the wires of the outdoor concert, though I’m pretty sure that would have occurred sober, anyway.

20) My 20 favorite musicians are Shakira, Metallica, Rage Against the Machine, Tupac, Eminem, Yo-Yo Ma, Mana, Julieta Venegas, Prince, Django Reinhardt, Beyonce, Disturbed, Rodrigo y Gabriela, John Coltraine, Mumford and Sons, The Black Keys, Arctic Monkeys, The Ramones, Janet Jackson, and The Roots.

21) I’m obsessed with true crime and forensic psychology books and shows.  Whenever people ask why I like them so much, I respond “to learn from their mistakes.”  People don’t seem to laugh at that, at least boyfriends.

22) I went to Burning Man when I was 22, and it opened my eyes and mind to the power of art, loving and free spirited people, and Buddhism.

23) I think politeness and manners go a long way, and is a lost art form these days.

24) I ran my first marathon when I was 24, and have been addicted to running ever since.

25) I was 25 when I first got laid off… it’s not a fun situation, and probably why I’ve stuck with a “safe(r)” route in regard to employment.

26) Stating “You’re right” to a person who really is, diffuses a situation rather quickly.

27) Not everyone is good and kind, and if you are then just steer clear from them.

28) Keep your health a main priority, and don’t skimp on preventative actions you can take now.

29) My mom is Catholic, stepdad that I call dad is Jewish, bro and sis-in-law are Born Again, B is Catholic, and I identify both Catholic and Buddhist.  I think if we all walk into a bar, a bad joke will ensue.

30) Use sunscreen, at minimum SPF 30.

31) I have a few friends who have been trying to conceive for one or more years, and this is fast becoming one of my fears.

32) I’m thankful that a personal finance community exists online to learn from, give and get support from, and discuss this subject that’s fairly taboo in my circle of loved ones.

33) I met B when I was 33 and I honestly feel I lucked out with him, so much so that it made all my bad relationships worth it (though I recognize in those relationships the common denominator was me).

34) I’m now switching from “Work Hard, Play Hard” to “Work Hard, Play Moderately, Save/Invest Lots!”

35) Try to live each day with an open heart and mind.

If there’s other pearls of wisdom, I’d love to hear them!

19 thoughts on “Revolutions Around the Sun

  1. Thanks for the mention! I’m pretty sure every little girl takes the scissors to their hair at one point or another, and usually they f it up. 🙂 So true about if a guy doesn’t want marriage and/or kids… good list!

  2. I should’ve accepted turning 30 with grace and did something fun and memorable like you. I moped around and got depressed even though I knew I’ll miss being 30 when I’m 40 or even 31.
    It was fun reading your list and getting to know you better.

    • Aww, that’s a bummer to hear, but maybe there’s still time to do something fun and memorable for your 31st – every revolution is a good milestone. It felt pretty narcissistic to write so many personal things, but I’m glad to hear you enjoyed. 🙂

    • Thank you! I think I’m fairly responsible with most spending categories, but those ones I definitely spend too lavishly… frugality blogs are good motivators to keep it in check, though!

  3. Pingback: Link Love/Week in Review 2/22/13 | Budget and the Beach

  4. Pingback: Sunday Worship | Do or Debt

  5. Pingback: Confessions Catharsis | Are Ya Gonna Eat That?

Leave a Reply

