Seal Pupping Season at La Jolla Cove and February-ish Debt Update

Is it just me, or are we having a moment?

Is it just me, or are we having a moment?

It’s pupping season at La Jolla Cove, and the mama and baby seals are hanging out in droves!  I’ve never seen an actual live birth, but I have seen some pup seals that are so tiny they look like little fishies flailing about to catch up to mama seal.  Unfortunately, there’s been some riff raff activity since the local news caught some people disturbing the seals at night with the seal cam recently installed (karma stink eye to them), but for the most part visitors are polite and it’s so cute to witness the mother-pup bonding:

Since the next pay cycle is going towards March expenses, I figured I’d already do a February debt update (if it changes, I’ll update accordingly). Though I splurged on running shoes and numerous boxes of Girl Scout cookies (it’s hard to say no to the little cherub-faced girl I’ve known since she was two, and at least it kills two birds with one stone because I then give them to people I don’t typically see like the custodial staff, mail and UPS delivery peeps, etc.), I managed to get rid of $1982 from my debt, bringing the balance to $9647.  This month was an anomaly, since I did this by 1) my regular debt payoff amount, 2) tax returns, 3) February is a short month, and 4) I ate (and still have plans to eat) out a lot on other people’s dime.  I still attribute putting this much debt payoff because of this blog, though, since I think publicly shaming myself reporting it puts a fire under me since I was chipping away at it before for years, but was never really motivated to get rid of it once and for all.  I’m looking for ways to pay this debt off even quicker, and hope some of it pans out.

I actually could have reduced it by a few more hundred dollars from my tax return (and yes, I’ve changed my withholdings so hopefully I’ll break even next round), but I wanted to start dabbling in investing so I started putting money into that project.  Perhaps I should have waited a bit until all my debt was completely paid off, but I was eager to stick my big toe into the investment pool since there’s a lot of PF blogs that talk a great deal about investing.  I suppose it was impulsive, but it’s better than impulsively shopping, at least!

14 thoughts on “Seal Pupping Season at La Jolla Cove and February-ish Debt Update

    • Thanks so much! I do admit, the news said that it might be in the 80’s next weekend and I almost b!tched about it being too hot, but realized that most people are probably getting hit with rain and snow so I quickly piped down. Hope you’re staying warm in Portland!

  1. OMG I love those Girl Scout Cookies! So yummy 🙂 Congrats on paying off almost 2K on your debt this month. Way to go Anna! Can’t wait to hear updates about you sticking your toe in investment waters! And yes, impulsive investing is slightly better than impulsive shopping 😉

    • Oh funny, I just responded to your post (Love SITC!). The cookies are yum, I let B keep a couple but that was it. 🙂 Thanks for the congrats, the rest of the year will definitely be lower, but it was nice to put in double this month. I’ll definitely post updates on the investment stuff in the future (it’s small scale and more of a supplement to my company’s retirement plan, but it’s a start at least!).

  2. How many more months until your balance is $0.00? Im also guilty of impulse investing, Haha, way less harmful than impulse shopping. Mind if I steal that title for a post of my own?

    • I gave myself until the end of this year to pay it, but my Excel spreadsheet states ~9 months and I have a secret goal deadline that I’m hoping to achieve. I figured putting in the few hundred into investing would delay my payoff goal by a few weeks, so my impulsiveness (and penchant for justification) won. haha By all means, steal away. 🙂

  3. I don’t particularly like girl scout cookies, but I always buy them. Like you said, how can you say no to those girls?
    Congrats to paying down your debt~ With lump sum money like tax refund, there’s so much temptation to do other things. But you did what you planned to do. And about investing, I think it’s great that you’re starting. It’s not like you’re putting all your eggs in one basket. Let us know what you learn from it.

    • Thank you! It was definitely tempting to put some of it to get some running gear, but I know full well my stuff will last at least this year. I’ll definitely post about investment stuff soon! Have a great week 🙂

  4. Wow! That’s amazing that you get to see these seals.

    When I first started investing, I too, just kinda took the plunge on impulse. I figured, I did a lot of research and now I just have to try it. Of course, I only put a fraction of my money into investments, but now I have a much significant amount of my networth in investments, and I feel fairly confident about my holdings. There is a great series on how to start investing on http://www.thebudgetingtool.com. You should check it out!

    • Oh funny, Mochi and Macarons and a couple other PF blogs were my main motivators to try out investing! I can’t wait to be able to put more money into investing down the line, as well, but I definitely want to take care of my debt first. Looks like you’re doing an amazing job with your PF stuff!

Leave a Reply

