Does elderberry work on others or am I being duped?

A couple of times a month without fail, my mom seems to always start our weekly phone conversation with “So I was watching Dr. Oz and…”  The woman loves Dr. Oz and thinks he’s the best thing since sliced bread (and knowing Dr. Oz, he’s probably figured out what sliced bread can cure).  So a few months ago during the cusp of flu season, she unsurprisingly started off with “So I was watching Dr. Oz, and he recommends using elderberry lozenges as soon as you start feeling cold/flu symptoms.”  Weeks later at our family get-together, she armed my brother and I (and respective partners) with elderberry lozenges to take home, along with other things that Dr. Oz recommended.  I’m sure his sponsors were reveling over this, but I do admit I think it’s quirky and cute since we’re middle-aged and she still, and will always, mother us.

Digression: Another quirky thing my mother does is tell an elaborate 2-3 minute joke, and just as she gets to the punchline she’ll say something like, “Wait, did I mention in the beginning that there was a bear in the car?  I didn’t?  That’s important, let me start over…”

Anyway, this past weekend, I started feeling under the weather with a harsh sore throat, and when I mentioned it to my mom she stated, “Well use the elderberry, Dr. Oz recommends it!”  So I did, and ya know – I think it may have worked.  After taking a few lozenges on Saturday, I felt tons better on Sunday, enough to run 5 miles and eat real food (the important part).   It kind of feels like the symptoms come and go, but I haven’t really needed to take any time off to recoup.  So I thank her since I’ll give credit where it’s duly deserved, which can only mean one thing… I will never, ever hear the end of Dr. Oz’s amazing recommendations. 😉

If anyone ever gets cold/flu symptoms, this might be worth a shot.  The kind she gave us were chewable lozenges and were pretty darn tasty, which is a step up from the licorice taste of Throat Coat teas that I usually drink.  It’s a bit pricey at around $10 a bottle, but I’m all for anything that makes me feel 100% faster.  I’d be curious to know if anyone else has tried and received the same results, or if I just had major placebo effect going on.

23 thoughts on “Does elderberry work on others or am I being duped?

  1. I don’t know who Dr. Oz is, probably because we only watch Netflix/Hulu instead of “regular” tv.

    Literally the only time I’ve ever heard of elderberries was in Monty Python and the Holy Grail: “Your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries.”

    • He has a show that tries to explain things in layman’s terms – my mom’s a hypochondriac (I say this endearingly), so she loves this show. Man, I need to get into Monty Python, I’m always hearing quotes from those movies!

  2. Girl did you just call yourself middle age??? Lol
    I don’t like Dr. Oz. I do like Dr. Phil though 😛
    I haven’t heard of elderberry lozenges before either. Will keep my eye out for them next time I go to the store since I get sore throats often from talking too much hehe

    • Well, I suppose I have a few years since middle age, but figured I’d just round up lol Dr. Phil’s guests always seem to be train wrecks, it’s tough to watch! Ha ha, B tells me all the time to “save my voice.” 😉 Let me know if you ever try it!

  3. haha, my mom has a ton of these remedies that aren’t technically supported by research… My favorite one is Ginger Ale. She says you need to drink Ginger Ale when you’re sick. It’s got magic properties apparently.

  4. I have heard that elderberry works, but I didn’t know if it was an old wives tale or not. But now, knowing someone actually used it and it works, I will definitely give it a try the next time I have a sore throat 🙂

  5. Loved this! Thanks for your funny and honest review of elderberries. Heard from lots of people that the juice works, but never heard anything about the lozenges.

    • Haha, thanks! The lozenges are tasty (not super sure if it’s effective since I had to stay home today, but maybe it would’ve been worse had I not? *shrug*), so I can only imagine what jellies would be like. I’ll scout it out next time I go to the store.

  6. I love how your mom tells a joke. 🙂 IMHO, whatever works…works, whether it’s placebo or not. I used to take zycam at the “first sign of a cold,” and it always seemed I was just delaying getting the cold. So now I just let the cold happen and get it out of the way. But if you need to put if of for a vacation, or test or something, then I totally see it being worthwhile!

    • Haha, yeah she’s pretty funny even with the things she says unintentionally… I should write a best-of post someday. I used to love Zicam (the q-tip one, but I guess it had long-term side effects with smelling or something?). I agree if it works, run with it!

Leave a Reply

