Week 1 Update/Week 2 Goals – the “60% of the time, it works every time” edition

So last week, I decided to start a training plan, and here’s my results from it.

Week 1 Goals (Saturday – Friday schedule):

1) Run 4 times a week for 20 miles total – FAIL.  I was fighting off a cold and managed to run 18, but not the full 20.  I guess I could’ve rallied today to run the extra 2 today but didn’t because 1) I’m lazy and woke up late and 2) well, that’s it.

2) 100 crunches, 100 side planks each side, 100 burpees, 100 push-ups, 100 walking lunges – SUCCESS!  Though I had to come in this morning to make up for Wednesday… but it’s done at least.

3) 3 sweets only this week – SUCCESS!  Unless Luna bars count, then I failed miserably.

4) No more than $150 for food/going out/gas – FAIL.  Last minute, my cousins from AZ decided to visit for their kids’ spring break, and we went out to eat last night.  I wasn’t going to miss out since I haven’t seen the kids since they were in diapers, but I knew that I would probably “have” to foot the bill (well, felt compelled to).  I don’t have a problem splitting the bill with friends, but it always feels awkward with family, especially with ones I haven’t seen in awhile and that are visiting my hometown.  Does anyone else get like this?

5) Post on Ebay or donate 5 articles of clothing and 1 pair of shoes – SUCCESS.  Posted some on Ebay, donated more along with some other stuff.

And in case I needed to submit proof of my week’s activities – BAM, son!

Challenge_Week1

Which, I guess doesn’t really prove anything except my ability to populate a spreadsheet, but oh well.  I also tracked if I needed or wanted my expenses based on Johnny Moneyseed’s Challenge, and plan on doing this again for a few weeks just to get me more aware of my spending habits.  As you can see, my wants far exceed my need, and I’m just going to work on improving this over time.

For Week 2, I’m just going to build off of Week 1:

1) Run 4 times a week for 20 miles total, with a 6 mile “long” run (since I didn’t meet this metric in Week 1)

2) Weights week (mixing my weeks between calisthenics, weights, TRX workouts to stave off boredom) – one back/bi session, one chest/tri session, one delts/legs session.  I’ll probably still do a calisthenics session since I do this one routine with my gym buddy, though.

3) 2 sweets only

4) No more than ~$100 for food/going out/gas – with the intention that with Week 1’s spending, it’ll average out to ~$150/week

5) Post on Ebay or donate 5 articles of clothing and 2 pairs of shoes – so the rest are starting to be long sleeves and sweaters, which I don’t currently use but “might” use if we ever move somewhere colder.  Should I keep them (they’re nice and mostly work clothes), or sell them and risk having to buy more clothes in the future?  Trying to figure this out.

I had a 60% success rate with Week 1, so way to set the bar low!  I can do better.

I also put a chunk towards my debt repayment – I didn’t pay off my credit card because I have 0% interest on it for a few months, and as much as I’d like to debt snowball that mofo away, I figured I would put it towards my student loans that’s accruing interest.  I’d like to reduce it further before finalizing my April beginning balance, but I’ll report that end of the month.  Hope everyone has a nice weekend!

22 thoughts on “Week 1 Update/Week 2 Goals – the “60% of the time, it works every time” edition

  1. I had a few hiccup days from running, myself, because there was a snowstorm and a couple days it was too windy. Wind shouldn’t really be an excuse to not go running, but the only place for me to run is along a 50 mph road, so I’d rather not risk it! I’m going to try to take advantage of the pending nice weather to complete my 100 mile personal goal.

    Thanks for doing the challenge 🙂

    • Yikes, definitely not worth the risk – stay safe out there! The challenge made me think about my groceries mostly – note to self, don’t go shopping after a work out since I bought a ton of “want” snacks! :/ It’s a good eye opener for sure.

      • I usually do, but I was in a rush before work… I know, lame excuse. I totally just realized I didn’t do the math portion of your exercise (steps 3 and 4)… I’ll address it in next week’s report!

  2. Awesome job on overall success.

    About footing the bill with families, I know what you mean. I rarely see my cousins since either they’re in the west coast or in Korea (few times a decade?), but with my brother in law or my brother, my husband and I usually pay when we go out. Both of them are not too far away, but I think it has more to do with the fact that they’re single and we’re married. Don’t ask me why because I really don’t know~^^
    But we’re getting better and splitting the bill since we started budgeting.

    • That’s interesting – I get that dynamic, as well as when people have kids (like I feel kind of guilty since I have no dependents) or when they’re older (i.e., grandparents). I’ve previously been happy to do it, but now that I’m trying to limit it, it feels like I have to step back and be okay with splitting. That’s great that you’re being better about splitting the bill, I need to learn from you.

  3. I think your success outshines your “fails” greatly! 100 crunches, 100 side planks each side, 100 burpees, 100 push-ups, 100 walking lunges in one week? I don’t think I’ve done that many in my 29.5 years of life 🙂 Actually it’s getting closer to 29.6 years of life now lol.

    Keeping on winning next week lady 🙂

    • Thanks GMD! That stuff is easy, it’s the finance and parting with stuff that’s more challenging! It’s getting easier, though… I loved the 29.6… not that you’re counting. 😉 Have a great weekend and next week yourself!

  4. Luna bars don’t seem “bad” enough for you to count as a sweet in my book, so I think you did great. 18 miles is so impressive, even if you fell 2 miles short. As for going out with family, I usually treat if they’ve come to visit me and they usually treat if I’ve traveled to them (unless it’s an extended trip) and then usually the first meal is on the host and after that we split.

    • Thanks for the kind encouragement… your bill/meal strategy sounds similar to mine. We usually get more visitors since loved ones vacay at San Diego frequently (the snowbirds during winter :)), but in the big scheme of things the catching up time is worth it. I guess I’m just more conscious of it now that I’m more aware of my expenses!

  5. It’s so encouraging to see people succeed, fail, and then decide to succeed some more. I just got back from an 8 mile run, and I was super wishy-washy before hand. Sometimes you just need a plan and some good old fashioned motivation!

    • Wow, great job on the 8 miles!! Did you manage to get into the Chicago Marathon registration? I do admit, having a metric to strive for has helped out with getting fit again… hope to get into double digit mileage for my long runs by end of April. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Thanks! I force myself to do them while I’m watching TV since I’d just be loafing around anyway… have you tried the Chocolate Peppermint Luna bar? It’s like Christmas everyday 🙂

  6. Ahh the infamous going out portion of a budget haha. I have set aside $100 a month to alcohol/bars but I’m not sure how realistic that is as I always go over it haha. Vegas twice in one month doesn’t help either. Oh yea and NYC this past weekend! haha At least it was fun and I can look at pictures if I want to remember it 😉

    • That’s about what I set aside, too (mostly for going out), but I agree it might not be realistic… at least I’m not going out as much, so baby steps. Wow, Vegas and NYC sound like fun (but cold)! Hope you had a great time 🙂

Leave a Reply

