Napa Valley, California

A few years ago before the “Baby Boom” when most of my girlfriends got pregnant (circa early 30’s), we took a girls’ trip to Napa Valley for some wine tasting and outlet shopping.  I hate to brag (but I will), but I absolutely love my girlfriends – there’s about a dozen of us who have kept in touch the past 12+ years, and they’re about the nicest girls you could ever meet.  Nine of us went on the trip, and there was absolutely no drama, no fights, and no awkwardness, but rather tons of laughter, paying the bill and giving each a few dollars back since everyone would put in too much (I love when this happens), and a lot of “‘it’s okay, you go first,” “no, you go first,” “no, you go first.”

By the by, I would usually end up saying “okay” first.  When you gotta go, ain’t nobody got time for that! 😉

We visited two wineries, V. Sattui and Beringer Vineyards.  I’m actually not much of a wine gal and prefer Newcastles, Shock Tops, and Fat Tires.  But, I learned a lot (though I didn’t retain it… those little tastings add up and I am a lightweight) and it was a fun trip:

The costs were relatively inexpensive since flights back in the day on Southwest were super cheap (like $100 round trip or something), and we stayed at an Embassy Suites so we could have people sleep in the bedroom or the suite area (plus, it’s a free breakfast, and we just had to pay a little extra for any additional folks).  Ground transport was covered since a couple of our friends lived in the area, and in exchange we paid for their meals and gas.  The priciest things were the wine that I ended up just giving as gifts and some of the meals since we splurged on nice places.

On our final day, we took a trip to the outlets and shopped for awhile.  There were no pictures, though we did buy one dress from BCBG that we’ve rotated among some of the girls for weddings and such.  We all made a pact that our next girls’ trip will be in Paris when we’re 40, so I hope it really happens (with me saving up for it, of course!).

19 thoughts on “Napa Valley, California

  1. My friends that I grew up with all remained pretty close for about 10 years out of high school. Then it became cliquey and unfortunately it just wasn’t what it used to be.

    I would love to visit the Napa Valley wineries at some point in my life. We have wineries here, but I can’t imagine they are anything like they are out there.

    Every time I here someone say “Ain’t nobody got time for that” I get the Sweet Brown remix stuck in my head 🙂

    • That’s a bummer about the cliques – there’s some of that with my other group of friends, but these girls are awesome and so inclusive of others. I’d definitely recommend Napa – we have local ones here, too, but not the same at all. And YES, you got the reference!! She is so awesome, love her 🙂

  2. LOL, Sweet Brown! Her 15 minutes of fame have extended, that’s for sure 🙂

    I have never been to Napa Valley even though I’ve lived here in Cali all my life. It’s definitely on my list of places to go, though!

  3. While reading your post, my eyes wandered to the right. Jeepers, your debt is really moving in the right direction. Keep it up!

    Also, that sounds like a really cheap way to do Napa Valley. I love sharing hotel rooms with friends because we always stay up and talk about the old days. good times…

    • Thank you!! There’s definitely something about publicly shaming myself that’s keeping me on course to pay off the debt. 🙂 I agree about sharing hotel rooms – it’s becoming rare now with husbands and boyfriends always joining, but always fun when it’s all the same gender.

  4. Other than my best friend, I don’t really have a group of friends that I’m really close to and when I do try to coordinate a trip or a gathering, it’s a nightmare~
    I really envy what you have with your friends~
    I hope you all keep this going and make it to Paris when you turn 40.

    • Yeah, the planning was not very fun, but once the trip happened it all went away. Hoping Paris happens, too! 🙂 Maybe you can also do a Paris trip with your best friend – quality friends rock!

  5. I love Napa and the Bay Area. I went a few years ago too and had a blast. I just love everything about the geography, wine, people, culture. A girls weekend sounds like so much fun!

  6. Pingback: My favorite bachelorette party story | Are Ya Gonna Eat That?

Leave a Reply

