Week 2 results and challenges are zzzzz

Last week, I posted a Week 2 challenge filled with health and budgeting fun, and here are my results from it:

1) Run 4 times a week for 20 miles total, with a 6 mile “long” run – Pass!  I’m still slow as molasses due to a layoff in running during the Fall, but I completed the mileage so at least I’m getting some endurance back.

2) Weights week -one back/bi session, one chest/tri session, one delts/legs session – Pass!

3) 2 sweets only – FAIL.  Let’s just say stuffing my face vs. projecting it on to B this past week was better for our relationship, because let’s face it, I’m not always a nice person and no one wants to see a grown man cry. 😉

4) No more than ~$100 for food/going out/gas – FAIL.  I was close since I spent under $113, but I still went over $100.

5) Post on Ebay or donate 5 articles of clothing and 2 pairs of shoes – Pass!  And not only parsed it out, but I put all of it out there, plus put a couple of bags into the donations bin in a shopping strip near me.

Week2

I also realized I didn’t do the math with Johnny Moneyseed’s wants challenge last week, so I tabulated my “wants” from last week’s and this week’s spending.  I kind of eyeballed the calculations, but I probably spent about $100 per week on wants, which in a course of a year is $5200.  That was eye opening, because this is me actually trying to tame my wants.  Looking at the list, though, I don’t think I would necessarily cut out time with friends or family (and I suppose I “need” headphones for my runs because it’s not very fun listening to me mouth breathe for miles and miles on end), but maybe I can cinch in the belt a bit more so that I’m shaving off a couple thousand this year.

As I predicted, even though it’s kept me accountable with running and spending, I’ve already grown bored with posting weekly challenges.  Maybe I’ll do monthly ones instead, but who knows how long that will last.  I figure as long as I’m putting in my miles, staying aware of my spending, and trying to keep my hands outta the cookie jar, I should be okay.

Cop out?  Probably. 🙂  Have a great weekend!

18 thoughts on “Week 2 results and challenges are zzzzz

  1. I tried to do a weekly spending report on my blog and got bored after 2 weeks lol. I try to do a “fun friday 5” series every friday and that’s going ok so far but I don’t do it every single friday because honestly my life isn’t that interesting and I don’t always have fun thiings to say about my week 😛 I love how you always consistently “pass” on your weekly fitness goals! Health is priceless 😉

    • Haha, yeah, that’s pretty much how I thought about it – I think I’m the only one interested in the details. 🙂 I love fitness, though I’ve been slacking a little with the weights… I think I’ll ramp it up now that summer is just around the corner!

  2. Good luck trying to “tame your wants”. That’s an awesome phrase! Weekly challenges are really hard to keep up with, but monthly seems more reasonable. I’ve only ever tried monthly, and it feels like a pretty big accomplishment once you succeed. I’m currently doing no pop for lent (I’m not religious, it’s just to build will power). It’s getting a little rough, but I haven’t broken it yet.

    • Haha, thanks – that wants sure can be a wildebeest! That’s completely endearing you call it pop – I haven’t heard that since I lived in Texas. I can’t do pop (or chips) – once I start, I’ll go on months-long streaks with it, so I just avoid altogether.

    • I’d justify that as needs as well (though I can justify most anything when it comes to shopping, so take that with a grain of salt). I hope you and the bf had a wonderful staycation! 🙂

  3. I think I’d be scared to add up my wants versus needs spending (well mostly this month). I do enjoy reading these (it gets me motivated), but I can understand how posting them gets boring. Whatever works best for you. BTW several months ago I considered a new pair of headphones (the kind with the ear hook) a need because when I ran on the beach my iphone headphones kept slipping out of my ear with the wind and sweat and it was seriously making me an angry runner. It was best for all of mankind that I buy a new pair. 🙂 Totally worth it!

    • Thanks for the input! I thought they were kind of boring to read, but perhaps I’ll continue with monthly goals and a midpoint check-in. I can’t use those earphones – I have Feivel ears (stick out) and they just slip off me haha. I use the ones in the ear, and just turn it down since the sound can get intense. And you’re outta debt – you deserve a cute Athleta top and other wants! 🙂

    • Ebay’s pretty good for clothes and shippable items – I sold over $200 this week. It all went to bridal shower/wedding stuff for my friend, but at least it didn’t put me in further debt. Definitely try to sell stuff through your de-cluttering, people seem to love stuff!

Leave a Reply

