My Internet-Order Boyfriend

Even though I’m new to blogging, I’ve been a big fan of the internet for many years due to a variety of reasons – I’ve scored clothing/shoes at great prices, kept in touch with family/friends, and landed my job through the internet.  One significant way it’s hooked me up is I found B through the interwebs.

I won’t say where we met lest people think I’m getting a kickback from them, but the site rhymes with Patch.  I think it’s a great tool for someone like me, who’s fairly shy until I get to know someone, and whose schedule primarily revolves around work (dipped my pen in the company ink once and it didn’t work out, so I tend to not go this route anymore), the gym (same for work reasons since I’ve been going there for years), and hiking in remote places (because as cute as big horn sheep are, I’m just not into that kind of thing).  Seeing as some friends have had success with online dating, and my best friend actually found his now wife online, I gave it a go.

So I paid my membership fees, set up my “non-negotiable” parameters (non-smoker, wants kids someday, likes being active), and started trolling around.  Since I like camping/hiking, if a guy had a picture with something outdoorsy in the background, I gave him a wink.  If someone wrote something particularly witty and charming, then I sent an email.

B, with a beautiful mountain range in the back of him on his profile pic, was one of the first guys I winked at – what a rouse that was, by the way, since he’s what Jim Gaffigan calls more “indoorsy,” but I learned that after I fell for him.  He wrote back within a couple of hours, and after a few emails back and forth, we agreed to meet at Casa Guadalajara (which he picked since I mentioned I liked Mexican food in my profile, so he got a few adorable points for that one).

Our first meeting was kind of awkward at first, though liquid courage took care of that pretty quickly after a margarita.  There was actually one point where he thought I ditched him because I took a long time in the restroom (only one stall was working).  He asked afterward if I wanted to go out again, and I said sure.  “How about Friday?” he asked… on a Wednesday.  I agreed to it, since I thought it was quirky.

I won’t go into every date, but considering it will be 2 years in a month and we’re shacking up together, it’s reasonable to say we’re doing well.  There were definitely bumps in the road, like the few months where I only saw him on weekends since he had a job out of the city, or when we have… high spirited discussions… when it comes to all things politics, but over time there were awesome moments, as well.  Like when we had our first sleepover at my place and while I was cooking breakfast, he fixed my shower head, retainer case, and bike chain by his own initiative (anyone with MacGyver skills is just plain sexy in my book!).  Or how when I had surgery this past Fall and, though we subsisted on cereal for dinner since I was out of commission, he helped me with everything from getting out of bed to bathing.  Or when we just communicate so openly and honestly so that all of our differences can be resolved without making it into a huge fight.

He’s also easy on the eyes, which is just icing on the cake.  As my parents (who are obsessed with “The Bachelor” and love to tell me every season’s synopsis despite my eyes glazing over when they do) say, “He could be a contestant on the Bachelor!”  Um, way to set the bar, folks. 😉

Overall, the “start-up” costs of dating was a bit high.  I wanted a couple of few new outfits since I had been out of the dating circuit for awhile, a new haircut/color to symbolize a fresh start, gas to and from the dates, and of course the subscription fees of the dating service.  But meeting B was definitely priceless,and I feel so lucky and fortunate to have him in my life, so I have the internet to thank for that.

As well as finding the blogging community, of course!  But I think I’m just repeating myself superfluously on this matter.

29 thoughts on “My Internet-Order Boyfriend

    • Thank you! We’re pretty simple so I wouldn’t mind just going to the place where we met for dinner (which we did on our first year)… but I certainly wouldn’t turn down Mr. A’s or anything! 😉 Love Jim Gaffigan, he has the best delivery!

  1. I tried online dating once. She ended up being a closet psychopath and a former stripper. That wasn’t the information in her profile though!

    I’m glad it’s worked out for you Anna. It’s definitely nothing to be ashamed of in this day and age. My mom met her husband online and she couldn’t be happier.

  2. I love that you winked at B first! I made the first move with J too lol. J and I also have many high spirited discussions but I rather have a guy with opinions than one who listens to everything I say. Although on second thought, that might not be so bad…
    Congrats on almost 2 years A & B 🙂

  3. Sounds like you’ve found a good match through the interwebs. I’ve tried online dating a few times recently and it’s been alright. I haven’t found anyone I’ve really connected with, but I’m going to keep trying. Certainly a legitimate way to meet new and interesting people.

    • I agree, I don’t think it’s all that different from meeting someone at a bar, except you know a little about them beforehand before meeting them. There’s even Meetup groups where people are single and they all hike or something, which is a great idea!

  4. That’s awesome! I tried online dating 7 years ago, before I met my current partner. I met some decent people and had a nice relationship with one guy, but ultimately ended badly (which was not blamed on the internet). There is so much less stigma to it lately. Congrats and keep on going. 🙂

    • Thank you! It’s actually surprising when people still have a stigma towards it, but I’m all for it. Wow, you and your partner have been together for quite sometime! Congrats for that! 🙂

  5. Never used online dating since I’ve been locked up for a while now haha but I really like the idea of it since it allows you to filter candidates. Kind of weird to think about it that way, but that’s basically what the first few dates are for.

    • Locked up, how romantic of you! 😉 I agree it’s a bit weird, but a great time saver since I don’t have to sniff someone’s clothes to tell if they’re a smoker or not haha

  6. Congratulations~ It’s just another venue to meet people. I’m an introvert myself, but I used that reason to not date online and you used that reason to online date. It’s interesting how differently people think.

      • I only meet people through other friends because I’m a chicken. And that’s why I didn’t date much. haha~ Now I’m an old married woman, so I don’t have to worry about that.

  7. Glad online dating worked out for you. I still haven’t found time to really go there and put a lot of effort into it since I find myself to be so busy with either working, or looking for work, or hustling other side jobs. Sometimes I find the last place I want to be is the internet. And since I’m 42 I also get a lot of guys who are in their 50’s and 60’s even though I specify I don’t want that. I have a tendency to do “younger” things, so I like my age and younger. Dating has been tough for me the last few years for sure. 😦

    • I’m sorry to hear about it being tough – especially in La La land! I remember going on a couple of dates while I was there, thinking it went well, and then I ended up not hearing from them (not that I called, but still ;)) I agree about going your age or younger – you’re definitely fitter than people my age so I don’t think 50’s-60’s can keep up.

  8. I wasn’t on the market long enough to try online dating, met my wife in middle school. However, my cousin met her husband online and they’ve been together 10 years. The internet is a way to make connections just like anywhere else.
    You need to be just as cautious online as in real life.

  9. such a sweet story! I met my BF on vacation when he was on leave from his tour in Afghanistan, and thanks to internet we were able to communicate the next 4 months, building our relationship through words.

  10. Pingback: Weekend Reading Blog Round-Up - Blog Carnival, New Articles, Weekend Reading

Leave a Reply

