March Debt Repayment and April Goals

Part of April Goals - two hill repeat sessions on Torrey Pines (ahead)

Part of April Goals – two hill repeat sessions on Torrey Pines (ahead, start at the base and putt-putt up to the treeline)

Since it’s pretty much the end of March (and if the stars align, I’ll have some offline tree-hugging time this weekend), I’m happy to report that I am now $1168 free of debt, with a current balance of $8479 to go.  In addition to my normal repayment, I put ~$200 of my Ebay sales towards the debt despite my gifts allocations for April and May, although all the nice stuff sold quickly so I don’t expect that to happen next month.  I’m still thinking of ways to create more side income, but I admit I don’t put a lot of effort in it.  In my defense, I help out B with his side business, so I’m not completely lazy… just a tad bit of a beach bum, is all.

I’ve also decided to continue with goals but making them monthly, since it sounds like it might be interesting to read (at least for one or two people), and I do admit it helped me stay accountable.  So here are my April goals:

1) Run 75 miles, with 2 hill repeats sessions on Torrey Pines (pictured above) – Torrey is actually straight ahead and a bum kicker (it’s part of La Jolla Half Marathon), but the ocean views are a good distraction.

2) Meet all the calisthenic metrics (burpees, side planks with push-ups, walking lunges, push-ups), and 4 each of back/bi, chest/tri, delts/legs sessions – I won’t go through every session, but I almost always do 4 sets of 20 with medium weights, with 2-3 different exercises per body part.

3) 12 sweets this month.

4) Stick to or go under $600 in expenses (groceries, going out, gas, gifts, miscellaneous), and meet a 25% want metric.

5) Study Spanish for at least 10 hours – I know I should be practicing daily, but sometimes it’s challenging when I’m juggling other things that might be more important like eating bon-bons and watching trash TV on my couch.

6) 4 new healthy recipes – I tend to cook for taste, and while I’m pretty good about portion control, B might not be – he’s muscular, but he may or may not have packed on some pounds since I came into the picture. :p  I’d like to find 4 healthy recipes (perhaps paleo) so I can mix it in with my dozen or so stand-by recipes that I tend to make.

I’ll do a midpoint check in to keep me accountable, and will keep track with the spreadsheet below (probably click to see clearly):

April Goals

April Goals

I’m excited for April, and actually love the name until that awful Avril singer ruined it for me.  If anyone has any April goals or delicious paleo recipes that I should try out, I’d love to hear them! 🙂

21 thoughts on “March Debt Repayment and April Goals

  1. I’m definitely one of those readers that find goals interesting! I don’t think there’s anything healthy about a paleo diet. I’ve been watching a lot of food documentaries and reading about eating healthy lately and the general consensus is that red meat (and dairy) will kill you.

    Instead of watching trash TV, cancel cable, pop on some Netflix and watch “Forks over Knives”. That was an eye-opener for sure!

    • That’s interesting, I think you’re the first health conscious person I know to say that about paleo. I agree with not having it all the time, but I guess I should say I that I would like maybe one meal a week where it isn’t so processed/starchy, but just have protein and vegetables. Before I moved in, B switched to very basic cable, so I just watch more sitcoms now over trash tv… not a bad thing. I’ll check out that movie, thanks!

      • Well you can get all of your necessary proteins from vegetables in general. But beans, specifically have a ton of protein. And peanuts. Red meat just isn’t good for you. It’s loaded with saturated fat and cholesterol and will clog your arteries even if you’re packing on lean muscle.

      • I think you just gave me an idea for future nutrition goals – less red meat. I started eating meat again a year ago after 12+ years, and probably cooking chicken or turkey/beef/pork at a 50%/35%/15% ratio. If you have any veggie recipes, I’d love to hear it – if a Marine’s happy with it, B should be, too 🙂

      • I don’t have any actual food recipes right now, because I don’t really want to think about food until the cleanse is over. But if you wanted good juice recipes. Those I have 🙂

    • Thanks, GMD!! It’s definitely because of supportive and awesome peeps like yourself to keep me accountable. Have a Hoppy Easter, too (I know, I’m cheeseball), beautiful! 🙂

  2. That’s great that you were able to throw so much money at your debt! Awesome 🙂

    As for the trash tv…ugh, I can relate. I think the Bravo network is going to be the death of me! These Housewives and their antics…I just can’t seem to turn the channel 🙂

    • Thank you!! I miss Bravo – B has the very basic tier in satellite, so no more Bravo, E!, or Style. 😦 Not a bad thing, but I miss the drama and fashion of OC and BH Housewives (though I’m able to see some on Hulu).

  3. I’m surprised blogging isn’t one of your goals. It must be tough to find time to update the internet as to how you’re doing when you’ve got all these other goals!
    Your spanish goal reminds me… I need to get back into studying spanish more consistently. Sometimes you just forget about your longer term goals.

    • Oh, I think I blog too much! lol But I’ll keep that in mind for future goals… I’d really like to learn Spanish more proficiently so I can teach any kids I can hopefully have while they’re young. I know some of my native language, but think Spanish is more practical. If you are studying it, let me know and I’ll practice on the responses! 🙂

  4. Nice job with your goals and debt repayment! I’m trying to cook some new and healthy recipes myself. My friend gave me her crockpot ages ago and I’ve never used it. I’m making a beef stew this weekend! Good luck with April!

    • I love crock pot recipes – let me know how your beef stew turns out! Thanks for the good wishes – I have to admit, all your tweets are super motivating, especially on the sand dunes 🙂

    • Hey I’m Filipina, too. 🙂 Feel free to practice Tagalog on me – I understand and can kind of speak Taglish haha. I want to say Live Mocha has Tagalog, so you can practice speaking and native speakers can help you!

  5. Pingback: April Midpoint Check-In | Are Ya Gonna Eat That?

Leave a Reply

