Anza-Borrego, California

This weekend I had a chance to reconnect with Mother Nature at one of my favorite desert areas, Anza-Borrego.  It’s about a 1.5-2 hour drive southeast of San Diego, and there’s a diverse range of activities you can do there.  There’s a lot of big wheel trucks and bikers in certain areas, but there’s also a lot of amazing hiking routes there.  It’s challenging in the sense that you have to create your trails most of the time, especially if you want to go uphill, so you really need to have a handle on navigating.  But from the slot canyons to the loose sand to to the boulder-filled mountains, you can get a good workout and amazing views with some careful research and a sense of adventure.

The best part is that camping is free though very primitive (though there are camping areas where you have to pay, but at least they have port-a-potties or bathrooms).  It’s usually best to car camp by setting up a tent on a truck bed since some areas have coyotes, but it’s so peaceful and gives you a good head start for the next morning’s hike.  A notable spot is the Marshall South Home, where a family lived in Anza for years.  Some of the house remains on Ghost Mountain, and it’s crazy to envision a family self-sustaining there for years since the nearest town was miles away.  To go to the house, you have to go on a mile hike upwards, so for him to build a house and carry all the material back and forth is just amazing to think about – talk about frugality and living off the grid!

I took a purist approach to this round (okay, okay, so it was unwillingly as I had my gadgets taken away from me so I could focus on time), but here’s some of my favorite pics of Anza from adventures’ past:

I hope everyone has a terrific Easter if you celebrate, and an awesome weekend to everyone in general!

16 thoughts on “Anza-Borrego, California

  1. Love the photos! I do miss the Cal geography, although it’s been gorgeous here this weekend! Glad you got to reconnect with nature 🙂 It’s so important to take time for yourself.

  2. Wow girl. I’m impressed with your ability to live off the grid. I’ve only been camping once in my life and even though it was so much fun and I plan on going again real soon, I have one strict stipulation and that is the campground must have a flushing toilet and sink 😛
    I love the sunset picture! Soooooo did you forget to black box your face? 😉

    • LOL yeah, most of the time “open” camping (no sink/toilet) tends to not be for my lady friends, but I don’t mind it for a long weekend – anything longer than 3-4 days is pushing it, though! The sunset one was a great hike! Haha, I still have sunglasses on so it’s kinda anonymous, right? Right? Bueller? 😉

  3. Wow~ your pictures look beautiful. Last time I went camping was 4 years ago to a camping ground with a public bathroom and electric outlets. We took our air bed and lap top to watch movies at night. You probably don’t consider that as camping, but what can I say, although I’d love to call myself an outdoorsy person, I’m really not.

    • Thanks! Haha, I have an air mattress (it’s like 1/2 inch thick), but no laptop. Too much to carry if I’m packing in, though it would be nice to have car camping! 🙂

    • It was definitely perfect – just becoming flower season but not in full force yet, and warm but not hot hiking temperatures. Hope you had a wonderful weekend, Mrs. SoP. 🙂

Leave a Reply

