April Midpoint Check-In

I’ve been glued to the latest news of the Boston explosions recently – as much as it sickens me that some malicious asshole(s) did this, I am glad to see and read about the tales of heroism and kindness during the aftermath.  These stories have moved me to tears, and restores any doubt in my faith in humanity.  Rather than try to say anything about it, I’ll just defer to Patton Oswalt who stated it best.

Anyway, I am a couple of days late for my midpoint check in of my April goals, but here’s my progress so far (probably click for better view):

April_midpoint

1) Run 75 miles, with 2 hill repeats sessions on Torrey Pines – on track with 58% miles completed and 1 hill session!  My achilles have been hurting lately, though, so I might lower mileage next month and add spin classes or “Stairway to Hell” (aka revolving staircase) sessions.

2) Meet all the calisthenic metrics (burpees, side planks with push-ups, walking lunges, push-ups), and 4 each of back/bi, chest/tri, delts/legs sessions – aside from push-ups, I think I’m fairly on target.  Knowing that I have to report it has motivated me to get up earlier so I can complete my running and lifting sessions, so that’s pretty cool.

3) 12 sweets this month – ruh-oh, Shaggy, I’m 2/3 into my Scooby snack “rations” for the month.  The beginning of the month was stressful work-wise, which probably explains my stress eating during that time period.  Not sweating this part, yet.

4) Stick to or go under $600 in expenses (groceries, going out, gas, gifts, miscellaneous), and meet a 25% want metric – man, apparently I’ve been a little crazy with spending.  If I stayed home for the rest of the month, I would be okay, but this weekend I’m going to OC to help some family members move (part of my family drama from before), and I have a feeling I’ll be footing any meal bills (plus I need to pay for gas to get up there).  I can control most of the grocery bills at home, though, so maybe it’ll balance out in the end, or at least not have it be so high.

5) Study Spanish for at least 10 hours – even though I use this spreadsheet on a daily basis, I spaced on this goal.  Unless watching “Amorres Perros” for the 156th time counts?  Didn’t think so.  How about listening to Spanish music on my runs?  No?  Man, you’re a tough judge… I’ll make it up.

6) 4 new healthy recipes – yes, kind of, since some of these recipes aren’t full on healthy or too easy to make, so I’ll try out more this month.  A friend and I brought brunch to a couple who recently had a baby, so I made egg mini frittatas (from leftover Easter ham) and gluten-free waffles with blueberries for them (holy crap, gf flour is expensive!).  I also tried this chicken and quinoa dish (super yums), as well as this mini-pizza muffin recipe, again with leftover Easter ham.  For dessert, I’m trying to find lower-fat stuff since B and I both have a sweet tooth, and tried this pudding and graham cracker recipe out (minus the cool whip and using nonfat milk).  It was pretty tasty and letting it sit overnight gave the graham cracker a cake-y texture.  I’m going to try it with vanilla pudding and strawberries next.

How are your April goals going so far?  Any suggestions for May goals?

33 thoughts on “April Midpoint Check-In

  1. Cool I like that there are goals for every little thing (mine mostly involve running) especially the treats limit. I know I’d never stick to it but it would be great to try!

  2. I loved that movie “Amores Perros”. I think it means “Love’s a bitch”. And it’s pretty friggin sweet that you have what looks like a spending tracker combined with a workout tracker. Such a good idea. I should really add that to the side of my daily spending tracker, because I do a LOT of pullups but I never really keep track of how many sets I actually do in a day. I had quinoa for lunch this afternoon and dinner last night. I’m addicted 🙂

    • Yup, that’s the translation – cool, you have great taste in movies, too! 🙂 I like movies like that with different stories and they all intertwine, plus it’s a great soundtrack. I have my monthly expense lines link up to my budget spreadsheet and my mileage link up to my running one (though I think it needs to be all in book on Google Drive), so it’s actually been a time-saver and helps me see how my monthly’s look. You should add a pull-ups column, that would be interesting to see how many you actually do in a given month. Quinoa rocks, though B doesn’t love it as much as I do (he’s more of a wild rice kind of guy).

      • I love wild rice too, but quinoa really hits the spot when I have a crazing for something rice-ish. Have you seen Magnolia? That’s pretty much the ultimate intertwining plots movie.

      • Ooh, I haven’t, I’ll have to check it out! I like Babel, too, though I don’t think it’s nearly as well done as Amorres Perros. I just re-watched City of God from free previews this weekend – love that movie!

      • Yes, love both of those! I love the name Amelie and would name a future daughter that, but B likes Jasmine from the Aladdin movie lol. You have AWESOME taste in movies! 🙂

      • That is a cute name (not Jasmine haha). My daughter has a similar name to Amelie now (sounding) so it’s out of the question for future children. I don’t need any more confusion 🙂

        If we ever hang out in real life we need to have a movie marathon. GMD would probably hate our taste in movies!

  3. Maybe your relatives will have some stuff that they no longer need that you can sell on CL or eBay. Keep your eyes peeled.

    • Good call, Sweta!! If I do, I’ll probably just give them back the money since they need it more than I do, but now that I know what sells I’m definitely keen on helping them out. 🙂

    • Walking’s the best kind, after I work out I’m at my desk all day so it’s what works for me. Aside from the gluten-free waffles, everything else was pretty inexpensive, too, so double win!

  4. Here is what I’ve come to realize with sweets. It’s all or nothing for me. I love dark chocolate, and justified that it was good for my health, but it also has sugar-duh, and I was eating too much of it. So I just can’t keep any sugary things in the house at all, and have to pass on any sweets offered to me…until I really, really can’t live without it. I’m just too addicted. Those recipes sounds yummy, but yes gluten free can get expensive.

    • I’m the same way!! At home, I’m usually pretty good and if I bake something then I’m quick to give it away, but at work I lose self-control in stressful situations. I need more calorie-free stress management techniques. I really liked gluten-free waffles better than what I usually make, but it’s just too pricey to justify having regularly.

    • Haha, oh wait, I just meant staying at home rather than going out… I would still need to come into work. 🙂 Kinda refreshing to hear that even a frugal man has some crazy spending months, though.

    • I don’t blame you, I was floored when I read the GRS post today – that’s a lot of productive hours you put in! Hope your daughter’s birthday party is a blast 🙂

  5. You must live in San Diego if you’re running in Torrey Pines?! My wife was born & raised there and my in-laws are in University City. I am with you on the sweets…if they enter the house then it’s game over – thus why we do all we can to keep them out. 🙂

    • Indeed I am! I love Torrey, and love running there – can’t get enough of that view. I know where University City is, a lot of my friends went to UC High. You’ll have to let me know next time you and the fam visit! 🙂

Leave a Reply

