April results/ May plans

I can’t believe it’s already May tomorrow!  In April, I managed to pay down $954 of my debt so my starting May balance is now updated on the right, and here’s my April goals results (um, apparently I cut off the dates, oops):

Challenge_April

1) Run 75 miles, with 2 hill repeats sessions on Torrey Pines – PASS!  76 to be exact, and I did 3 sessions of Torrey Pines since it’s a great reward at the end of a long work day.

2) Meet all the calisthenic metrics (burpees, side planks with push-ups, walking lunges, push-ups), and 4 each of back/bi, chest/tri, delts/legs sessions – Mostly Pass.  Except for the push-ups portion (not sure what I was thinking with that metric), I completed all other categories.

3) 12 sweets this month – PASS!  With 2 that I didn’t even end up using… I’ve been wearing lighter colored clothes now that it’s spring, so this probably  has something to do with it ever since the “Melted Chocolate and White Trousers Debacle” of 2009 (est.).

4) Stick to or go under $600 in expenses (groceries, going out, gas, gifts, miscellaneous), and meet a 25% want metric – FAIL.  I ended up going to OC a couple of times to help the fam pack and then unpack (and get rid of a bunch of crap when grandma wasn’t looking), so my gas and dinner expenses were higher than usual.  But, I suppose there were some Target purchases I could’ve vetoed.  In total, I spent $716.93 with a 30% “wants” metric, so at least now I have a baseline to compare to subsequent months.

5) Study Spanish for at least 10 hours – PASS!  I also watched “La Misma Luna” which, controversial immigration/politics aspect and fairly outlandish circumstances aside, was a truly touching movie.  I like watching movies with subtitles, and then watching it again the next day by not looking at subtitles.  It can be misleading since an actor might say “I want a ham sandwich with a pickle on the side” and the subtitle reads “I want lunch,” but it still helps.  I’ve also started using the Spanish option at self checkouts or anywhere it’s available, which I always get quizzical looks at.

6) 4 new healthy recipes – PASS!  I also made this quinoa stir-fry with chicken and vegetables which was scrumdillyumptious (I used low sodium chicken broth instead of water for the quinoa, added two egg whites, and replaced snow peas with spinach).  Cash Cow Couple’s kale chip recipe also reminded me that I used to like doing stuff like that, so I made spinach chips with a bunch hanging out in my fridge.  Adding paprika was a great idea!

For May, I’m sticking to those goals, but also tweaking it a bit:

Challenge_May

1) Run 80 miles, with 2 “speed” sessions (speed to me, at least)

2) More weights sessions, 2 upper body (arms, chest, back, abs) and 2 lower body (legs, booty, lower back, abs) per week – my fitness competitor friend asked me to train some days with her and I couldn’t be happier.  She rotates me and two others as her workout buddy when she competes, and it’s a win-win since I end up doing more weights workouts even though I use half one-third one-fourth of how much she lifts since she gets in beast-mode.

3)  2 sweets a week – summer’s around the corner!

4) Stick to or go under $600 in expenses (groceries, going out, gas, gifts, miscellaneous), and meet a 25% want metric – um, and actually do this.  This doesn’t include a wedding gift or Mother’s Day gifts for my mom and grandma that I set aside with Ebay items I sold a couple of months back that I mentioned here.  But you will notice I’ve added a $500 “fun” money column as discussed in this post, though I will look for ways to supplement and absorb the costs.  I put my iPod replacement there even though I bought it this past weekend.

5) Study Spanish for at least 1 hour, 3 times a week – so I can be consistent.

6) Veggies in every meal, including breakfast, at least 4 days a week – I need to start preparing “egg quiches” with spinach and bell peppers and pack them up for breakfast – they keep when frozen, so I just thaw them out and eat.  Lunch and dinner always have veggies, anyway.

42 thoughts on “April results/ May plans

  1. That quinoa sounds awesome. We have to try it. How were the spinach chips? We haven’t tried those.

    Keep up the great work on the goals!

    • Thanks Jacob! I really liked the quinoa dish, but I think kale chips are better than spinach since the latter isn’t as robust.

    • Haha, if I wasn’t keeping track I would be right there with you, but it kind of helps me keep things in check knowing I have to report back. I also don’t like chocolate stains, which I always seem to have the tendency to do 😉

  2. Congrats on all the healthy stuff! Are you on runkeeper? I love that app My username is tlscali if you’re on there. Good luck with the new set of goals. I need the sweets challenge too. I have SUCH a sweet tooth!

    • Thank you! I used to be on fitocracy but would always forget to log in… I’ll check Runkeeper, though usually don’t have a device on me except for my iPod. I think I might actually do an 8-miler this month inspired by you (but, um, on sturdy ground ;)).

  3. I’m trying to limit my sweets too! I have Diabetes in my family so I really need to cut out the sugar. I even Google image searched “bad cavities” so maybe that will help me like every time I’m about to pick up a cookie I’ll see those gross pics and put it down…maybe?

    • I have diabetes on my dad’s side, too, so it’s definitely something I want to avoid. Join the sweets challenge with me, it’ll be motivating to know someone else is doing the same thing. 🙂 Good call on the cavities pics as a deterrent – I’ve spent too much on my teeth for anything worse to happen!

  4. THIS IS AWESOME! Your self-control over sweet intake and working out absolutely floors me. I can apply that to finances, but I’m absolutely worthless with self-motivating to run. I loved playing sports all through highschool, but if a coach isn’t screaming at me, then the motivation goes way down hill. I’m going to need some tips from you!

    P.S. Yay on the debt repayment too!

    • Aww, thank you for the support, Erin! Haha, I’m actually the opposite since I mostly like doing stuff by myself… if I had a coach scream at me, I’d constantly ask, “Why are you yelling at me?!?!” 😉 It took me a year or so to make running a habit, but now I use it in lieu of coffee to wake up. I still have problems with my sweet tooth, though.

  5. I think that’s a great goal to have, to learn Spanish! I only know a few words, but I’d like to learn the language. Everything I was taught in high school, is pretty much gone…

    • Thank you! I learned French in h.s., which was impractical living in SoCal. 🙂 I’m hoping to know enough so that when I (hopefully) have kids, I can teach it to them.

      • How’s this for “impractical” I took Latin from 7th-10th grade?! I totally wish I took Spanish since I live in Texas. At least you took a language that is actually spoken! I do speak Telugu, a South Indian language, so at least I have that going for me (kind of).

  6. Great work on the debt repayment! I admire your working on Spanish. I’ve been wanting to do the same thing with German to get the rust off, but that would require more time in the day. 😉 Keep up the great work!

    • Thanks for your support, John! Haha, yeah, I definitely don’t have my own business, a blog, AND kids (unless you count my bf, hee hee), so I figured I should take advantage now while I have some free time. 🙂

  7. You are rocking it!!
    I like watching movies with subtitles too, but I do that with all movies even the ones in English. I think I have hearing problem and I don’t want to miss anything. You’re right about how subtitles are really spotty. Sometimes they’re just wrong period. Anyway, I’m already so confused with 2 languages that I grew up with, it’s really admirable for you to try to learn another language by studying it. Way to go~

    • Haha, a lot of my friends watch movies with subtitles, too! I get too distracted since I miss out on the movies since I end up just reading… that’s awesome you know two languages! I understand my native one, but can’t speak it, and think Spanish is more practical living in SoCal.

      • I don’t think I’m particularly gifted with language skill to begin with, so growing up with two languages really messed me up. As you can already tell from my writing, I haven’t perfected any language. I really need to study English grammar before jumping into another language. haha~

  8. Great job on your debt repayment. I love to run too, although since I stopped training for the LA Marathon, I don’t do it as frequently. You’re so good with your sweets! I’m pretty good, but chocolate gets consumed more than twice a week, although I am great at just taking a bite or two! I love quinoa and will have to check out that recipe.

    • I love LA Marathon! Despite its late start and 80+ degree weather when I ran it, it was one of my best times – you can’t beat the energy of everyone else running! Congrats on the marathon, I hope for many more for you. Thanks for stopping by, Shannon! 🙂

  9. Nice job sticking to your spanish studying goal! I love how complicated your spreadsheet is, and it looks like you are religiously tracking your metrics. Have you thought about making some key graphs to make the info more digestible for your readers?

    • Thanks so much, Cash Rebel! Haha, I’m such an Excel geek at work, that I thought this was pretty primitive… this one had hidden columns and also links to other spreadsheets. 🙂 I’ve been chronicling daily habits since I was in my 20’s, so it’s a habit for me – it’s kind of funny to read back at my earlier journals and “revelations” with running. I haven’t though about putting them in graphs or charts, but that’s a great idea. I’ll have to think about that for my next update.

  10. Sounds like a great month for progress. Big debt paydown, Spanish goals fulfilled, veggie eating. I know I definitely don’t eat enough veggies, bf is always saying we should eat more. I hadn’t though about sneaking them into foods like quiche. Actually we like veggies, so I wouldn’t need to hide them, just cook them lol.

    • I like veggies, as well, just so much more fun to eat early in the morning when enclosed in an egg. My friend can eat a salad with tuna for breakfast – I don’t see myself reaching that discipline level. 🙂

  11. Pingback: May Goals Update and New Prospective Venue | Are Ya Gonna Eat That?

Leave a Reply

