May Goals Update and New Prospective Venue

Hey beautiful, do you believe in love at first sight or do I have to walk past you again?  Everyone feeling awkward yet? 🙂

So it’s the end of May, and I paid down $528 of my debt.  Not as amazeballs as previous months, but given some splurges and car repairs, it is what it is.  I thought I’d also share how I did on my May goals:

1) Run 80 miles, with 2 “speed” sessions (speed to me, at least) – Pass, contingent upon me completing my 5 and 3 miler tomorrow and Friday.  I’m loving how it’s already light out by 5 a.m., which helps me sneak in both running and lifting before I have to go to work.

2) More weights sessions, 2 upper body (arms, chest, back, abs) and 2 lower body (legs, booty, lower back, abs) per week – PASS!  I’ll probably focus more on this in June, since I love me some tank tops.

3)  2 sweets a week – PASS!  Even with the evil temptresses at work who give me their leftover candy.

4) Stick to or go under $600 in expenses (groceries, going out, gas, gifts, miscellaneous), and meet a 25% want metric – FAIL, with total at $633.25.  I’m kinda close, but no cigar.  I also spent over $400 on my splurges, but honestly, I loved it – my toiletries are fully stocked, I got my hair did, and I have contacts for the rest of the year.  I reassessed my retainers and think it can last a few more months (especially after seeing my friend’s busted looking retainers, which I happily clowned them on), so I didn’t buy any.

5) Study Spanish for at least 1 hour, 3 times a week – Passed on my hours, Failed on three times a week.  In the beginning of the month, my friend was getting married who was a major bridezilla enthusiastically detail-oriented, so I helped out which took up a lot of my free time.  I still managed to study, though, especially since we’re leaning towards South America for our honeymoon.

6) Veggies in every meal, including breakfast, at least 4 days a week – PASS!  This was easy, though, since egg quiches are easy to make.  I’ve been in the habit of having a cooking marathon on a weekend day so it’s less work during the week.

For June, I think I might take a break from any set goals, though I do still plan on running and lifting, as well as keeping on track with a budget and learning Spanish.  As for wedding plans, we found a new place that, where the previous one we mutually agreed upon, this place we’re mutually excited about.  The reception venue is slightly offbeat, kinda geeky, and fairly casual – ya know, 100% us!  I’ll update once it’s confirmed.

I hope everyone has a great rest of the week!

35 thoughts on “May Goals Update and New Prospective Venue

    • Haha, it does, doesn’t it? Thanks for your support, my love, hope things are going okay on your corner of the earth. :/ Keep us posted! xo

  1. So wait you’re not engaged right? Just let me know when I’m supposed to write congratulations! 🙂 Sorry the bridezil…I mean detail oriented friend took your time away from some of your goals lol, but you did really well!

    • Thanks, Mrs. PoP! All of it is fresh, though I do most of my cooking on the weekends (or at least chop everything up for quick stir-fry’s). Dinner always has veggies and lunches are usually leftover dinner. For breakfast, I usually make veggie quiches that freeze up pretty well – I can post about it if you like, but here’s the link (fresh spinach, frozen makes it watery): http://walking.about.com/od/lowcarbrecipes/r/quichecups.htm

      • Nice, I was going to ask if you used a recipe. I think tomorrow might be the day I sign up for weight watchers online. I just pulled out all of my summer clothes and my shorts are so tight it’s not even appropriate to wear them in public.

      • Aw, I’m sure it’s not bad at all. I do like WW, though, that’s how I lost 20+ pounds before!

    • Oooh, me encantaria practicar contigo! Hablas fluido? Solo se palabras y frases basicas pero importante como “Otra cerveza, por favor!” jiji

  2. Veggies every meal was pushed on me by my wife since the beginning of our relationship. Kinda stopped once I left home living with moms. The one that would be difficult is only 2 sweets per week. I just finished eating a FAT BOY!

  3. Good job on your goals. Yes, life gets in the way sometimes, but you still did an awesome job!

    This made me LOL at the office … my friend was getting married who was a major bridezilla enthusiastically detail-oriented … hahaha 🙂

  4. Oh, I’m glad you find a wedding venue that you’re both “excited” about. Can’t wait to hear all the details. I’m a workout fiend too but I think you put me to shame! 🙂 It is tank top and bikini weather, so we gotta do what we gotta do. 🙂

    • Um, I don’t know if that statement is accurate, Shannon – you did just recently do a marathon, after all! 🙂 I definitely enjoy all the people watching at the beach during the summer – a lot of characters, to say the least!

  5. I think $528 towards debt is great! I think it’s even better to get veggies in at every meal. Now that the garden is up and running we can get closer to that. Though, the kids would give us crazy looks I fear if we say, “hey, how does some broccoli sound for breakfast” 😉

    • Thanks for your kind encouragement, John! Haha, yeah, broccoli by itself might not be too appetizing for breakfast… I usually have to put veggies in an egg scramble or omelette to make it appealing in the a.m. 🙂

    • I don’t want to brag, but yeah, pretty much… kidding, of course. 😉 Thanks for the encouragement, CR – I think it helps to post goals, so we’ll see what June brings. Oh, and all before 7 a.m. 🙂

    • I’m a big fan of Live Mocha (livemocha.com) – there’s writing and speaking components, and a native speaker corrects your work. In turn, you help others trying to learn English. I think it could still be good for kids, too, to get vocabulary going. I also really like dual-language books (one side is English and one side is Spanish, there’s basic ones on Amazon), and I barter with my old private tutor – I bake her sweets or take her on hikes and she teaches me Spanish. 🙂 I occasionally go to Meetups, but everyone tends to be more advanced than me.

  6. Thanks for the advice. We’re thinking about hiring a Spanish speaking babysitter to come in a couple days a week. No idea if that would work out, but I think we’re going to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

