Becoming a Curmudgeon

As much as B is a kid at heart, there are also times when he can embody the spirit of a 90-year old curmudgeon.  This is most often observed while watching the news, since B always has a comment at whatever is being presented.  Before I would get upset because I wouldn’t be able to hear the rest of the story as he goes on his cantankerous tirade, but I’ve come to accept that this is the way he is, and I just try to follow up with the written version of the piece afterward.  What I didn’t think would occur, though, is that at times I’ve become a curmudgeon.

1) Youth – before, when I would see teenagers or people in their early 20’s, I would observe their dress, mannerisms, or hear snippets of their conversations, and think to myself, “Look at all this youthful energy!  Full of creative imagination and optimism!”  Now, it seems my blue-haired spirit self looks at them and thinks, “Ugh, look at them, full of hopes and dreams… they’ll learn…” as I grumble on by with my rain cloud in tow.  In my defense, this is usually when they’re in a line across of 5 and don’t bother to move aside which forces me to eek past them, or when they’re disrespecting their parents.

2) The cost of things – I suppose this is pretty typical and reminiscent of elders saying, “Back in my day, I remember this was a nickel!”  But seriously, things have gone up, and I find myself always saying, “Back in college, this $3 boba drink used to cost $1.50!”

3) Community pool – when I was living by my lonesome, I lived beside a pool and in a young neighborhood, so screams or laughter coming from the area until 11 p.m. was always prevalent, which I managed to tune out.  Now, even though we’re nowhere near the pool, it’s enclosed within the condo property so it echoes, and I’ve more often than not caught myself thinking, “Geeeeeez, so loud, too loud!”  At 6 p.m.

4) Lyrics – back when I was a wee little lass, I remember my mom wouldn’t let me get the latest Janet Jackson album because it had the song “Nasty Boys” on it, and nasty was a bad word in her eyes.  I didn’t understand it then, and I was fairly unfazed with lyrics as I grew up.  Now, however, when I find myself nodding to a song, I also catch myself listening to the lyrics and being critical of them.  Listening to “I crashed my car into a bridge, I don’t care!” and me thinking “Well, that’s just really irresponsible, Missy!” is a recent example (but for real, though, it is).

5) Driving – before, I was always on the fast lane, trying to get from Point A to Point B as fast as I can.  Now that bunch of whippersnappers are on the road (seriously, why don’t they use the blinkers?!), I often find myself on the second or last right lane.  I’m going normal speed, but if I find them tailgating, I often think to myself “Go around, go around…”

6) This isn’t really a curmudgeon habit, but I often call B “Spoiler Alert Smith” (last name changed) since, if he’s seen a movie before that I’m watching the first time, he’ll tell me what happens before it happens.  If he hasn’t seen the movie, he has a habit of trying to figure out what’s going to happen and he constantly has the urge to tell me, “They’ll be saved because of this character!”  Before I used to huffily say, “It’s okay to just watch, you know!”, but now I caught myself over the weekend telling him, “He’s the Rain Maker, babe, I just know it!”  (and um, not to brag, but it totally was)

I feel like I’m Benjamin Button, yo!  But in reverse (err, normal process of aging) and in over drive, so I suppose it’s nothing at all like Benjamin Button… do you find yourself developing more of our partner’s less than desirable habits?

35 thoughts on “Becoming a Curmudgeon

  1. Hmmm we may be twinsies but I’m starting to think I have a lot in common with B too lol. I always have a comment or opinion about something I see on the news and I’m always talking during a movie. Totally going to brag here – but my predictions are always right! 😛 The only habit I’ve adopted from J is being more modest with my money but I think that’s a good thing 😉

    • Haha, oh no, remind me to never sit in between you two should we ever go to the movies together. 😉 I agree, B’s definitely taught me some good financial skills, which I am very grateful for!

  2. I find myself saying “When I was your age” or “you’ll understand when you’re my age” sort of things all the time. Which is sad, but that’s part of natural process of aging and generation gap.
    I got my hubby’s spending habit when we were dating and now trying to find my way back. Also, I got my hubby’s habit of eating less, which is a good thing. I used to eat all kinds of things at all times of day and night, expecially spicy stuff.

    • Ha ha, oh man, I do the same thing! Or I’ll see someone in their early 20’s make the same mistakes and just kind of shake my head… but I guess that’s all part of growing up. It sounds like you two are very complementary with learning from each other’s good habits! 🙂

  3. We do become more curmudgeonly as we age. LOL! The first time you catch yourself saying, “back when I was a kid ….” Head slap! I imagine every generation goes through this, but still … it’s a little disconcerting when you first start to realize you’re no longer a “youngster” and surprisingly okay with it. I still drive in the fast lane, but beyond children’s movies – I often have no idea what people are talking about when they are going on and on about the latest must see movie.

    • Ha ha, I agree, I’m pretty okay with it, though I wonder if I’m embracing it a bit too much! Even the children’s movies/cartoons puzzle me these days, particularly Yo Gabba Gabba (my friend’s daughter had a themed party for them recently). Do not comprehend its appeal! 🙂

  4. I can relate with the driving thing. Sometimes I’m fine being in the fast lane, but other times I just don’t want to rush and people are still up my butt! Especially where I live, not many people have patience. It’s hard to feel relaxed on the road. I can also be very cynical.

    I can’t really say I’ve adopted any of my boyfriends habits as nothing particularly annoys me about him aside from the usual bodily noises (haha). He does say “you know” a lot so I’m trying to stop myself from saying it now as it can get to be a bit much.

    • Oh man, I’m getting kind of cynical, too. And I agree about people all up on your rear – it’s really annoying and stresses me out, as well!

  5. Yep. I generally was a pretty good kid, but once in a while I was a shit to deal with. Sometimes, I’ll see some teen disrespecting his parents and I’ll get all riled up inside. It is then that I remember…

    Sometimes though, I think things are worse. I love technology, but then I see kids’ faces buried in their phones and I want to throw my own iPhone at their head. When we were kids, we didn’t have devices like this to give us popcorn brain. Good luck in the future with your 2 second attention span.

    I have a friend who has a 12 year old kid. She got him an iPhone and the boy can’t put it down. Ever. She wants to be his friend and not his mother, so she allows this. How is this kid ever going to be able to sit through a college level course and hold his concentration the whole time. Oh wait, he isn’t!

    • Oh man, I know exactly what you mean – it’s really annoying when teens or young adults cross the street when you’re trying to turn right, but then they’re texting or whatnot and going *mosey* speed. I’m tempted to clip their heel just to teach them a lesson (just kidding ;)). Hrm, do I detect a future Thursday Rant?? 🙂

      • LOL! Rant fodder is everywhere!

        Someday, I’m going to lose it and toss someones phone into oncoming traffic. Will I be able to blog from jail? Probably could come up with some really good rants there!

  6. I’m totally turning into a old woman. The other day my upstairs neighbors were going up and down the hallway stairs and making a lot of noise. I thought to myself “those kids better quiet down or I’m going to go up there”. I didn’t I just fell asleep on the couch (yet another sign I’m a little old woman). Bf is pretty young at heart thankfully, so he keeps me in check.

    • I loved this, I do the same thing!! I get whiny in my head, but then nod off. haha That’s good that bf is a kid at heart – B is at times, too, and I agree he probably attributes to me not taking some things too seriously. 🙂

  7. Haha, I’m occasionally a curmudgeon, and definitely let my jaw hit the ground when I met a couple of Mr PoP’s fresh out of college coworkers that were in the 6th grade on 9-11. They had no recollection of the OJ Simpson trial or the Berlin wall, or columbine – which we thought were pretty pivotal. I definitely felt old even though we were only about 7 years older!

    • Oh man, that is definitely depressing! I remember watching all of those things on the news and thinking what was the world coming to (except for the Berlin Wall). We have a student intern at our workplace and when she was listening to Oasis “Wonderwall” I told her I used to listen to this song all the time in college… she replied that she loves “old school music.” Ahem! 😉

  8. I do admit that people are seeming much younger as I’m getting older. And i’m only 28! 20 year olds look like babies! I feel old and like I can’t keep up sometimes. I’m trying not be a curmudgeon myself (thanks for using that word btw!).

    • Haha, I love curmudgeon, especially when I’m calling B out though now becoming that myself. I agree 20 year olds look like babies – I know I can’t keep up anymore. 🙂

  9. Its a part of life and growing up. I remember my mom not wanting me to carry a pager because she thought only drug dealers had pagers. The music I listened to my mom would have freaked out and now I am doing the same. You try to protect them and show that you are responsible as a parent. How can you listen to music with people cursing and saying xyz and then get mad if you children are doing the same. My son just says I’m mean and I tell him you thank me later on in life.

    • I will agree with you on that – lyrics these days are getting pretty bad! I don’t even really like cursing on TV, to be honest, but I suppose that’s part of life. Haha, I remember pagers! I loved “pager codes” like 823 or 143. 🙂

  10. I love this article! I embrace my inner-troll (my word for my inner-curmudgeon) shamelessly nowadays and figure it just comes from experience – both good and bad. I also really really hate that Icona Pop song with the ‘crashing of the car’ just for that bit! 🙂

  11. I am probably the one that brings down my wife. I am definitely a curmudgeon when it comes to certain things and my wife is now becoming one. I hope that I don’t spoil her great attitude.

Leave a Reply

