Wedding Stuff Part 2 – Reception Booked and Things Are Coming Along

Happy Friday, everyone!  I thought I’d share some wedding updates since 1) I’m pretty excited that things are coming along and 2) I think B’s sick of me talking about it so I’ll just write about it instead.

1) Reception booked!  The deposit has been placed on our venue, which has been a huge relief.  I decided to not reveal the place until after the fact since I didn’t want it so publicly displayed on the weird world web, but I’m happy to email or DM it.

2) The Homey Hook-up!  Though I’ll have to pay for the nice quality paper (though at really discounted prices), my friend who makes invitations as her side hustle has kindly agreed to create, custom design (depending on the guest), and assemble my invites, place cards, and announcements for me!  Not only that, but she’s making it thematic with the venue, and the first run is so incredibly fun without being kitschy since the materials are so nice.  It’s just below the budget I set for invites (since I was initially going with a simple DIY version), plus they’re so cute, I love them!

3) The Homey Hook-up Part Two.  My wedding planner friend is giving me the hook up with photographers, dj’s (if our one friend doesn’t pan out), and florist, which I couldn’t be more thankful for since I like having a personal reference to a vendor.  Plus, I’m hoping to at least get some sort of discount, though we’ll see how successful I am in this realm.  He’s also given me (a lot) of solid advice and creative alternatives,  since he knows I’m cheap trying to keep things simple.  I’m surprised he hasn’t unfriended me on FB with my barrage of questions, but I’m thankful he’s there for support.

4) Centerpieces and aesthetic stuff make me not so excited.  I do not have one decorating bone in my body (our place is spartan in nature due to my lack of creativity and aversion to dusting), so when my mom offered to help I was all too happy to give that girly-girl the centerpieces duty.  Her house is beautifully decorated so it was the perfect fit, and she’s been all about it with her frequent text and email updates.  Her enthusiasm is pretty adorable.

5) Wedding website almost complete.  I signed up for a wedding website for our guests, and it’s been fun writing our story, bridal party stories, etc., plus B liked what I wrote so that’s a good feeling.  B and my dad have mostly been taking care of the logistical portions like accommodations and sites to see, so it should be ready to launch once we send out the invitations.

6) Budget.  I’m not going to lie, my parents are funding the venue and catering for the reception, and I am all too eternally grateful for this.  This is the biggest chunk of the budget, and it’s really lifted some serious financial worries (at least for me).  I know I am blessed with this extremely generous gift.

Hrm, when I write it all down, it doesn’t seem like a lot, but I guess with all the driving, researching, paying deposits, etc., it feels like a lot.  More updates as they develop, but any tips or words of wisdom are appreciated!

34 thoughts on “Wedding Stuff Part 2 – Reception Booked and Things Are Coming Along

  1. Wow, it sounds like you’ve gotten a lot accomplished already! It’s so great to have the help of your parents and also your wedding planner friend – that will hopefully make it much more manageable. Good luck with the rest of the process and keep us posted!

    • Thanks so much, Roger! I’m definitely grateful for all the help that my loved ones are giving me, hopefully it’ll be low key and stress! Hope you had a nice weekend 🙂

    • Thanks Michelle! Oh man, Pinterest overwhelms me with the decorating stuff – there’s soooo many great ideas out there! I’m secretly glad I don’t have to do the decoration part since I’m not sure I would be able to choose 🙂

  2. I just recently got married in May!

    The single most important tip I can tell you is to ENJOY the day!

    Little things will go wrong, timing will not be perfect, dishes for vegetarians will get mixed up – don’t let those little things get in the way of your day!

    Stay focused on enjoying every second of your big day and let those little things roll off you.

    Your guests won’t care or notice any of the little things that go wrong that you might think is the end of the world. Because in the end, they are there to celebrate you and your husband!

    • Welcome Steve, and super big congrats on your recent wedding! I definitely intend on enjoying the day – if things go wrong I’m pretty good with rolling with the punches (par for the course, as I say), so hopefully I’ll carry this train of thought with me during the wedding, as well. I’m treating it more as a big reunion with my loved ones, so it should be fun. Congrats again on becoming a newlywed, and thanks for stopping by!

  3. In the age of smartphones, I think it would be a neat idea to set up a photo sharing page on Flickr or Picasa and include the URL in the invitation. Then, invite people to upload their pictures after the wedding.

    • That’s a fantastic idea!! My friend asked her guests to put a #billandcindy (not their real names) to any pics of their wedding, but I like the Flickr idea way better. Thanks so much!

  4. Sounds like things are coming along nicely. That’s so awesome your parents are funding the venue and catering for the reception! I can’t wait to hear more about the dress shopping!

    p.s. can I see your wedding website even though I’m not a guest? 😛

    • I definitely feel super grateful that they’re helping me with that part – haha, I think all my girly friends are excited about the wedding dress, I’m just concerned about looking super huge since white is not flattering! haha

  5. Wow you’ve done a lot and things are moving along pretty fast. Good for you~ It’s so great that your parents are taking care of reception venue and catering. Like you said, that is a huge chunk of your overall wedding budget. Great news to hear from you before the weekend starts. Have a great weekend~

    • Aww, thanks so much, Michelle! I’m definitely grateful they’re helping out, since it was definitely practically half the budget. It eases my mind with the rest of the stuff, though I still plan on being as financially responsible with it as possible. I hope you had a nice weekend! 🙂

  6. When is the actual date of your wedding? Send me the venue though email. I wanna know! 🙂 That’s great you were able to use your friend hook ups to get discounts on stuff, and that you are getting help paying for the wedding! Hope all the planning goes smoothly!

  7. It seems like everything is going smoothly with the planning so far! That’s great that your two friends are giving you the hook-up – it’s always good to know people that can help out. I feel like you guys are going to have a very low-stress wedding with all the planning that has taken place already! Planning ahead would seem like the smartest thing to do for weddings so that everything you want is available.

    • Thanks E.M.! That’s definitely the strategy – to plan ahead so there’s less stuff and stress to do later on. Yeah, friends have definitely played an important role in all of this, I only hope I can be a helpful friend down the line for them!

  8. The only words of wisdom I have are that everything seems to go fine on a wedding day. It’s like planning a big party — the planning ahead of time can be stressful and a bit overwhelming, and then suddenly you’re surrounded by all these people you love and you realize there was nothing to really worry about.

    I meant that to be short but it came out long winded…

    Congratulations!

    • Aww, I loved it, and I couldn’t agree more – I’m more excited more than anything about having all or most of my loved ones in one space. It’ll be great! I hope yours was just as amazingly filled with loved ones (sure sounds like it was!)

  9. OMG didn’t you just announce you were engaged? This happened in two weeks? Damn girl, change your career to events planner! So glad you are getting some help and that it is not too stressful (yet). I also kinda want to see your site, if you’ll let me. Also, jealous your meeting GMD in SEA. I should be meeting her in PDX, but can’t you come to PDX too and we can all meet?

    • Haha, nah, I’ve been planning for months. 😉 I’m bummed I won’t be able to do the Portland meetup, but I definitely see it happening in the future! I hope you had a nice weekend, girl 🙂

  10. Holy moly that’s a lot! We have a venue booked. And not too much else done. Lol. They do catering there, though. It’s good to know people…especially when your friends can help with so much of the wedding!

    • That’s so nice that the catering is in one spot – we have the catering down, but there’s little details that we’re unsure about. If it’s not too personal, when are you having your wedding? I hope planning is going well for you 🙂

  11. I bet your mom is loving helping out with the decorations, it must be great for her to be actively involved. Brilliant news about them helping to fund the wedding, it can be so expensive to get married these days! Do you have a special song for the first dance?

    • Oh my goodness, that’s an understatement! haha She’s been all over it and has all these fun (though some are pricey) ideas. She’s put so much work into it and I couldn’t be more grateful. I’m not sure what song we’ll have, though we both like Queen so maybe something from them (something upbeat, not slow) like “You’re my Best Friend.” 🙂

  12. Homeys are the best!! They really do make your life easier. The great thing about weddings today is that are no longer cookie cutter – everyone has as the same invite, blah, blah, blah. You can really make it your own and let your personality shine through. I don’t think you should be ashamed at all that your parents are helping out. I am sure they are thrilled to do so and it sounds like you’ve been really budget conscious too. Enjoy the gift and your special day!

    • Thanks so much, Tanya! I completely agree, my friends have definitely put a nice, personable spin on stuff, and I couldn’t be more thankful. Homeys rock! 🙂 Thanks for your reassurance about my parents helping me out, too – I am definitely grateful for their support with this.

  13. Holy crow! You’ve covered a lot of ground already – nicely done! I’m so happy your parents are helping out with the catering and location, that’s such a great help. Either way, it sounds like you’re working hard to find creative ways of getting things done (like tapping into your personal network). Good for you, you’re doing amazing. I’m excited to hear more as you go along with your plans. I love weddings!

    • Thanks Lindsey! It didn’t feel like a lot, but I guess perhaps it is… the biggest challenge is catering, since we didn’t really like our first one that we were going to do. But, at least there’s time – thanks so much for your kind words and support. 🙂

    • Thanks, Mrs. PoP! I agree, they made something that was going to be simple into something personable (and way more adorable than I could’ve ever done) – I’m definitely grateful!

  14. You are doing a great job and my favorite parts are the homey hook ups. That can save a lot of money especially if they are really dependable. I bet the wedding website is going to look really good. Congrats on getting so much done already.

    • Thanks so much, Thomas! Haha, actually, the website is totally bare bones (it’s one of those free ones on a wedding site) – it’s mostly informational and we’re not really “huggy” people so we mostly have pictures of us hanging out and stuff. But, it goes well with our personality. Thanks so much for your support 🙂

    • Thanks so much – agreed, especially when things are costing more than anticipated, I’m hoping to at least reduce in other areas as much as possible! I hope you’re doing well, girl 🙂

Leave a Reply

