Liebster Award

Liebster Award

A couple of few months ago, Ashley over at The Broccoli Blog nominated me for the Liebster Award, and most recently awhile ago E.M. at Journey to Saving and DebtFreeOneDay at Disease Called Debt did, as well.  Thanks for thinking of me, lovelies!

I was curious to know who this Liebster character was and how I can hit him/her up for my schwag bag like they have in the Oscars, but alas I’ve discovered it simply means “dearest” in German, and it’s a way for new bloggers to get to know other bloggers.  Since y’all know I love talking about myself, I’m all sorts of honored!  Here are the rules, and my answers from the first four questions of each blogger that nominated me are below:

– post 11 facts about yourself and answer the 11 questions posed by the person who nominated you (I’ve technically answered 12, since I’ve always been a fan of extra credit)

– pass the award onto 11 other bloggers and ask them 11 questions of your own

– select blogs with 200 or less followers (but not the blogger who nominated you)

11 Random Facts:

1) I like that my name is a palindrome.

2) I like waking up while it’s still dark outside.

3) I’m not a good person when I’m hungry.

4) I was two weeks late coming out, and have been a late bloomer ever since.

5) I’d like to have kids, but pregnancy kind of freaks me out.

6) I’m pretty shy in person, but once I know you I don’t shut up (much to B’s dismay haha)

7) Even though I don’t think it really does anything, I use apple cider vinegar for most ailments since a lot of old wives’ tails suggest that.

8) I want to explore as much of South America and Asia as I possibly can.

9) I don’t understand mean or malicious people, nor do I want to.

10) I love stand-up comedy and have a high respect for people in the business.

11) If I ever catch myself getting frustrated in first world problems, I check myself before I wreck myself and practice gratitude.

12 Questions from my fellow nominators (in order, from Ashley, E.M., and Debt Free One Day:
1. What is your favorite movie soundtrack?
I’m a musicals geek and love “Guys and Dolls.”

2. What is your favorite workout?
Running!

3. Do you have any pets?
No, and even the responsibilities of watering plants have been given to B (and we mostly have cacti, awesome!)

4. What’s your favorite city that you’ve been to?
Nothing but love for my San Diego!

5) Why did you start blogging, what topic do you blog about, and why do you blog about it?
I mostly talk about personal finance-ish stuff, because I figured publicly humiliating myself making myself accountable with my debt would make me more motivated to get rid of it once and for all.  I would have never thought that I would meet such amazing and supporting people, but I’m glad I have!

6) What is your favorite place to vacation in?
I loved Costa Rica and Thailand.

7) What is your favorite meal to eat?  Care to share a recipe?
I love Mexican and Thai, but a fan of this one-skillet pasta dish (I use spicy chicken or turkey sausage, use two cans of tomatoes, and skip the cream).

8) Do you enjoy doing household tasks like laundry, cleaning the dishes, and vacuuming?
Yes, I think cooking and washing dishes/clothes is relaxing.

9) What’s the scariest thing you’ve ever done?
I loved it, but people seem to think skydiving (even tandem) was scary.

10) Where were you five hours ago?
Getting my gym on.

11) What is your life’s ambition?
To travel as much as possible, and to hopefully have kids with my sidekick.

12) What is the worst injury you’ve ever had?

I’ve had stitches galore, but secretly like the scars from them and wear them like badges of accident-prone honor.

Here are my 11 questions:

1) What do you mostly write about and what has been your experience with it?
2) What are your goals in life?
3) What’s your favorite kind of food?
4) If you were able to take a month off and travel, where would you go and why?
5) Are you more of a cat person or dog person?
6) Describe yourself in 3 words.
7) What is your favorite book?
8) What is a piece of advice you would give your 18-year old self?
9) Do you like where you live?
10) On a scale of 1-10, how adventurous are you?
11) Do you have any financial advice for me and/or others?

And here’s who I nominate (I’m totally cheating as I’m pretty sure they have way more than 200 followers… it’s not like Liebster’s going to call me out since he’s nonexistent and all):

25 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Awesome. Great to find out more about you.

    I believe I have three followers and one might have been me checking to make sure that following still worked, so I might be the only one in the running for this. To be clear, I’m competing against the others on this list, right?

      • Aww, I just wanted to know more about you, I hope this wasn’t taken the wrong way! Besides, it’s been fun getting to know the people I’ve encountered the past few months. 🙂

      • Oh~ this is exciting for me. I didn’t take it the wrong way. I always am greatful for your attention and support. 200 seems like a lot of followers to me, so I was just surprised~^^

    • Haha, sorry guy, I think it’s like a blogger’s version of a chain letter, so no trophies or anything. Still, it’s a great way to know random facts about people! And um, I don’t think so, you write good stuff so I’m sure you have a strong following!

      • WordPress has a counter dealie, but I appreciate your optimism all the same 🙂

        Also, I’m not sure what the criteria would be to win, but here are my answers.

        1) What do you mostly write about and what has been your experience with it?

        I mostly write about personal finance. I’ve found that my more math-intensive posts get mostly ignored, so I try to mix in some stuff about expensive haircuts to get a little attention

        2) What are your goals in life?

        Woah. The hard questions come early… Professionally, I’d like to lead whole teams in constraints analysis. Personally, I’d like to just be a good guy

        3) What’s your favorite kind of food?

        How narrow are you looking here? The cuisine of Japan is my favorite on a national level.

        4) If you were able to take a month off and travel, where would you go and why?

        Time isn’t the only issue; there’s also money. That said, I might split it up — half in southern Europe and half in Africa.

        I would, one day, love to do an epic trip like the silk road or the motorcycle diaries route, but I don’t know that I’d feel very efficient using up all that travel time.

        5) Are you more of a cat person or dog person?

        Dog

        6) Describe yourself in 3 words.

        Alpha male, jackhammer, merciless, insatiable

        7) What is your favorite book?

        Hm. Love in the time of Cholera. Kafka on the Shore is a close #2.

        8) What is a piece of advice you would give your 18-year old self?

        Enjoy that metabolism now, son, because you’re not going to be able to eat like that and look that fit forever. Also, nice dance moves.

        9) Do you like where you live?

        Yeah. That’s why I live here.

        10) On a scale of 1-10, how adventurous are you?

        11

        11) Do you have any financial advice for me and/or others?

        Invest early and often in tax-advantaged accounts. Since you’re younger, focus on after-tax accounts like the Roth IRA.

      • D’oh, I totally didn’t explain it well, I’m sorry – once you’re nominated, you then write a post of list 11 random facts about you, then answer my 11 questions, then nominate 11 people to do the same with your own 11 questions. 🙂 Technically they should have less than 200 followers, but I broke the rules in this case (and apparently can’t count to 11 since I only listed like 5 or so bloggers).

  2. Happy to see this up! I like the picture you used. How in the world do you enjoy waking up when it’s still dark out? I need to find the secret for that.

    Pregnancy also freaks me out. Having a living thing growing inside of me and kicking me occasionally just sounds weird.

    I am also pretty shy at first, but my parents, close relatives and boyfriend don’t see that side of me, haha. Also, apple cider vinegar is very healthy for you! I really need to start bringing myself to mix it in things more often, but the smell is awful.

    • It took a couple of years to get acclimated to getting up before sun up, but I just like having trails and the gym to myself early in the morning. 🙂 That is exactly how I feel about pregnancy!! Thanks so much for thinking of me with this award, sorry I slacked on it for so long! 🙂

  3. I’m not much of a risk taker myself and I loved skydiving as well. I never did tandem but I did the static line jump where the plane pulls your chute, so I got to fly solo. Pregnancy would freak me out too!

    • Really, you’re not much of a risk taker? I see you as one, especially as a free spirit to move out of your hometown to across the country, plus with all your travels. 🙂

  4. I loved reading more about you! Thank you for answering my Liebster questions 🙂 I also love waking up when it’s still dark outside (something about the quiet I think) and well done for getting your gym on 5 hours ago!

    • Oh my gosh, I love that you’re an early bird, as well! 🙂 Thanks so much for thinking of me, it took awhile to post but now it meant a lot to me. 🙂

  5. Im not a good person when im hungry either. You can do a lot of things to me and ill keep my cool, but keep me from eating when im hungry and ill go batshit crazy!

    • Haha, that’s exactly how I am, especially when people can’t make up their minds on where to eat. After awhile, I just snap and say “Pick already!!” Everyone is quiet until I get a morsel in my system. 🙂 Hope you’re enjoying the summer, my friend!

  6. It was great to get to know you a bit better, Anna. I love San Diego. I remember the first time I visited was for work. At the meeting, some of the attendees were talking about surfing which was so cool to this Minnesota girl. Now I live in LA (thanks Shannon) but sadly I don’t surf. I’m a notorious plant killer too. I’ve pretty much killed every plant I’ve ever bought. Oh well. Have a great weekend!

    • Haha, I’m not much of a surfer myself – it’s a lot of work for a little ride, plus I’m just more of a land creature. I hope you have a wonderful weekend, too, Tanya, thanks so much for stopping by!

  7. Great learning a little bit about you Anna! I think this is great! The wifey is like the incredible hulk when she is hungry so you are not alone. I actually think my little one is the worst I have ever seen when she is hungry. Traveling is definitely a must for us too in the future.

    • Haha, your wifey and I have a lot in common… B always jokes that when he sees me start to get difficult, that he just has to hurl a chicken wing at me and I’ll be a-okay. 🙂 I agree, travel is a must!

    • Haha, no worries, girl, undoubtedly you have more than 200 followers but you know I always gotta think of my girl 😉 Hope you’re doing well, been thinking about ya and hope you’re coping okay xo

  8. Pingback: Liebster Award | Michelle's Finance Journal

Leave a Reply

