Recharged in Seattle

The past week, I was able to take a nice getaway to Seattle.  It was B’s birthday, and though it was overcast the first three days, the last few were beautiful and sunny, which is exactly what I needed for some recharging and relaxation!  Highlights from the trip include, but are not limited to:

1) I made my first cake-sized… well, cake!  I mostly stick with quick breads and cookies, but was kind of proud to be able to make B’s family’s favorite.  They all loved it, though, really, I don’t think anyone can mess up copious amounts of butter, sugar, and cream cheese.

2) I was able to unplug and read or watch trash TV (since B’s family gets channels we don’t get at home), and it was so nice to curl up and do this during the overcast days.  We also took the family to see Red 2 and it was pretty hilarious – I love me some John Malkovich!

3) We happened to be there while it was free museum day around Seattle (first Thursday of the month), so it was nice to be able to take in some culture.

4) We were supposed to go to Sea Fair on B’s birthday, but unfortunately his friend couldn’t get his boat up on time.  So, we opted for a hike with friends instead, and it was beautiful and challenging though short (less than 2 hours).  You’ll notice in the group pic that B decided to play thumb war (see #7) with me when the person counted to three… for the record, I didn’t fight it since who wants to see a grown man cry on his birthday.

5) I met GMD!!!  I was bummed because J’s car was broken into so I wasn’t able to hang with her for very long, but she is as sweet, awesome, and beautiful as she is on the interwebs!  I tend to imagine what people’s voices are like when I read their blogs, and I imagined hers to be charismatic, bubbly, and cheerful, mostly because her posts are always as such.  I thought I’d share that with her, but the words that decided to exit my mouth to convey this is “You sound like the girl in Clueless!”  Hi foot – meet mouth!  Thankfully, GMD understood what I meant, and it was great to finally meet her.  When we walked into the coffee store, I looked way up to spot J since he’s like 12 feet tall, but it turns out it wasn’t hard to spot GMD since her smile totally lights up the room.  She also doesn’t look anywhere near 30, so she needs to quit her trippin’. 😉  Her charming ways will definitely take her places!

6) I went on the Underground Tour, and it was meh.  The tour guides totally make the tour, but the tour wasn’t anything too spectacular.  It was still pretty interesting though, and my favorite historical tidbit was (spoiler alert) the most influential and wealthiest Madame back in the day had no one to leave her inheritance of a quarter of million dollars to, so it ended up funding the school systems.  Knowledge!

Here’s some pics, enjoy!

Anyone else had or will have fun summer getaways this year?

39 thoughts on “Recharged in Seattle

  1. That’s so awesome you had a chance to recharge and bake your first cake in Seattle. Oh yeah, it was also awesome that you got a chance to meet lil’ ol’ me 😀 Surely I’m not as charming as you say but I appreciate the compliment twinsie xo. Until next time my friend… 🙂

    • Meeting you was definitely the highlight of my trip, GMD (well, and baking the cake since it didn’t become crumb cake… but it was a far second!). I’m sure we’ll hang again sometime! 🙂

  2. I always wanted to visit Seattle. I’m a hopeless romantic since junior high and ever since watching Sleepless in Seattle, Seattle is a magical place in my head. I’m glad you had a great time and happy belated birthday to B~!!

    • Aww, I’ll pass along the belated wishes! I *loved* that movie, too (still do!), and I liked “You Got Mail” equally as much. Yay for being sappy romantics. 😉

    • Seattle’s definitely a great destination, especially in July/August when it tends to be more sunny – it’s a super beautiful and vibrant green everywhere! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. Seattle’s one of our country’s great cities. I love it there…sounds like a great trip and it’s cool that you got to meet another blogger. Thanks for sharing the story.

    • I agree, it’s a pretty cool city – we still waver back and forth whether we’d settle there. I think the biggest challenge is the overcast days for months at a time – I’ve never been exposed to it so not sure how I’d handle it. How did you two decide on Phoenix?

      • My wife and I moved here so she could pursue her PhD. It was between here and Columbus (which we liked, too). I’m not picky though: I somehow end up loving everywhere I live.

  4. It sounds like you had a great trip! Well done on your cake making experience – I am one of those people that can mess up sugar, butter and cream cheese lol! I can’t follow a recipe to save my life. How lovely that you got to meet GMD too!

    • The seafood is definitely super fresh there – how romantic you went there on V-Day! The cake was pretty yums, I’m just stoked that people came back for seconds. 🙂

  5. Damn, you’re making me want to jump on a plane and head over to the Pacific Northwest. Seattle is a great city and so is that whole region (Portland to Vancouver and beyond).

    Next time you make it up there, Mt. Si is a really cool hike too: http://www.mountsi.com/

    Finally, Pretired Nick (pretired.org), who writes really good stuff is also in that neck of the woods.

    • I definitely like the Pacific Northwest area, though I’ve mostly only been there when sunny. How funny, I heard Mt. Si thrown around during the trip, but I can’t remember if it was his friends or his dad… I’ll definitely hit it up next time I’m there! Any fun hiking trips for you lately, Mr. James Bond super villian? 🙂

      • LOL! As a matter of fact, yes! The wife and I went to Long’s Peak this weekend. We didn’t summit, but got to get away from the kids for a couple hours and had good conversation without constant interruption. More on my Thursday post*!

        *Shameless plug.

  6. Glad you had a chance to recharge on your trip. Your cake looks like it came out yummy! It’s so neat you got to meet GMD :). I really need to go to the west coast now that you two have raved about it. Red 2 is on my very short movie list. If it was as funny as the first one I’ll be happy!

    • It was definitely awesome meeting GMD – west coast is pretty awesome, I definitely value living here! Let me know what you think of Red 2, I liked the first one a bit better, but some parts were still pretty hilarious. 🙂

    • Aww, thanks Mackenzie, I’m planning on making your recipes this weekend or next (thanks for the links)! Love baking, though my waistline doesn’t haha

    • It was definitely cool meeting GMD, I never would have thought that I would meet such interesting bloggers in real life. Have a wonderful weekend, too, Shannon!

  7. Everyone who goes to Seattle loves it, it seems! Looks like it was such a great trip! We’re not going anywhere this summer, but hopefully that will allow us to save up for an awesome honeymoon?

  8. Glad you had a pretty good time. Bummed I couldn’t meet GMD while in Portland because I had to work (wah wah). It’s nice to unplug and relax a bit! Love your photos, I am itching to go to Seattle again some time soon. It’s so close.

Leave a Reply

