Winner Winner, Kalua Pork Dinner

Happy Friday, everyone!  I wanted to share a recipe that I asked from a friend and tried a couple of weeks ago, which is a hit at potlucks (provided the attendees are carnivores).  The best part is that there’s barely any ingredients and it’s easy peasy lemon squeezy!

Kalua Pork

Ingredients:

Pork shoulder

Liquid smoke (located in bbq sauce section)

Hawaiian sea salt (I bought this at World Market)

Cabbage

Steps:

1) Place the pork in your crock pot, and sprinkle in some liquid smoke and Hawaiian sea salt.  I tend to like the “wing it” method when it comes to cooking, but I would guesstimate that I probably use a couple teaspoons or so (we’re not huge fans of salt).

2) Set the crock pot on low for 24 hours.

3) Shred the cabbage, and take out the pork and put in said cabbage into the crock pot.  I should’ve probably fully cleaned out all of the meat before putting in the cabbage, but I’ll do so next time.  While the cabbage is stewing, shred the pork (since it’s been in the crock pot for 24 hours, this part was super easy).  Stew the cabbage until it softens, meanwhile swatting away B’s grubby fingers from the meat as it cooks.

That’s it!  I like to serve it over rice, rice baby (dun dun dun dun, dun dun dun dun), but it was also delicious on a roll, especially Hawaiian sweet bread.

IMG_20130920_172745_324-1

If anyone has super easy meals like this, especially in a crock pot since it’s the best treat to have everything ready by the time you get home from work, I’d love to hear them!

11 thoughts on “Winner Winner, Kalua Pork Dinner

  1. I am so making this. Thanks for sharing it! The idea of this on a sweet roll, maybe with some macaroni salad on the side….mmmmmm!

    I like to do a really easy bbq brisket the same way: just put some some sliced onion into the bottom of the crock pot, but a basic dry rub on a beef brisket (brown sugar, salt, pepper, paprika, chili powder), and cook all day on low. Drain half the juices, add in your favorite bbq sauce for the last hour, & serve on a roll.

  2. Sounds delicious, Anna! I will definitely have to give it try. I happen to have some liquid smoke in my cabinet and love pulled pork, so I’ll have to keep an eye out for when pork goes on sale. Crockpot meals are my favorite. I love just tossing ingredients in and walking away. Granted, since I work from home, I also find myself hovering a little too frequently over the crockpot, inhaling the yummy aroma!!

  3. We made pulled pork yesterday! I’m not a fan of cabbage, so I might try this recipe w/o it but still the pork on a sweet bun sounds good, thanks for the recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

