Half-Marathon and November/2014 Goals

Happy Friday, everyone!  So you know how I was mulling over signing up for the half-marathon?  You know, the mulling over that was like a hot minute ago… but anyway, I signed up!  I made little deals with myself and completed them in a shorter amount of time than I thought, so I pushed the confirm button.  The deals were to lose 2 pounds (this was probably from less eating when I had bronchitis, but I’m counting it anyway), to run three miles (did 4), and to sell stuff to recoup the cost (which I did rather quickly, though sadly as I loved the Sky dress I sold (but, I knew I wouldn’t get anymore use out of it)).  I started these on Monday, by the way, and didn’t do it in a span of two days.

So I’m running a half with Tonya (and Michelle and Kathleen, while Mrs. PoP just so happens to run a full, as well!)!!  So if you feel a surge of endorphins that day, it’s probably due to all the running events going on everywhere!

Oh yeah, but I didn’t follow the Cash Rebel’s School of Economics lesson of signing up for the full versus the half.  A full would have been a better bargain in terms of cost-per-mile since it was only $10 more overall, but I know myself well enough that I’m nowhere near ready for a full, both in terms of planning since wedding stuff will come to a head, and physically.

Here’s my training plan so far, since I want to get enough miles in but also still focus on Jamie Eason’s weight training plan (that’s a great workout plan, by the way – learned some new things!).  I made it flexible enough that I can either combine two workouts into one or probably skip my Sunday workout, though the latter tends to dorkily be B and mine’s “day date time”:

SC_training

Thank you everyone for convincing me the race fee is, indeed more of a health/wellness expense versus entertainment/fun (which is where I’ve always considered it).  That’s a great change in perspective since I do agree it’s not as frivolous as I perceived it to be, but rather an investment in my health.

As for as other November goals, it’s mostly to get rid of cc debt through Michelle’s challenge, and to focus on my 2014 finances per Shannon’s great post on Fall goals.  I’m still old school and use spreadsheets over Mint (love that new spreadsheet smell! ;)), and have fresh 2014 monthly’s/overall to populate.  A big goal is ‘saving’ 40-45% of my total income next year (safe goal of 30-35%).  When I say ‘saving’ I mean putting it towards retirement, investments, and actual savings, but that’s quite a jump from what I’m currently averaging (slightly less than 25%).  I do think it’s possible since debt repayments/wedding stuff will be squashed during the first few months of 2014, but I’d still like to cut costs since I’d like to go with a higher rate.  We do plan on combining our finances (but still keeping a portion for personal accounts), as well, so that’s another layer of figuring out my our finance strategies/goals for next year.  While we’re both eager about starting a family, we’re pretty terrified of the costs, so we just want to line our ducks in a row as much as possible.  I’ll report about it more when plans firm up!

Anyone else have November or 2014 goals that I can copy be inspired from? 🙂

35 thoughts on “Half-Marathon and November/2014 Goals

  1. Yay I’m glad you went ahead with it! I’m sure you’ll do well with the training. I’m looking forward to seeing your progress. Saving 40-45% of your income is a great goal to start 2014 off with. I need to start thinking about what I want to accomplish next year.

    • Aww, thanks for your support, EM! Can’t wait to read what your 2014 financial goals will be! By the way, WOW, R is amazing fast! I’m slow, I just like distance. 🙂

    • Oh man, you have the most delicious sounding name ever! 🙂 I’ve ran half & full before, but told myself to not run this year to save $, so I absolutely can’t wait since I indeed love!! When is your next race? Thanks so much for stopping by. 🙂

  2. Good for you! I’m glad you figured out a way to work into your schedule and budget. 🙂 I can’t believe how quickly 2013 is winding down!! I need to spend some time building goals for The Heavy Purse for 2014. Thanks for the mention too! Have a great weekend!

    • Thanks Shannon, we worked on 2014 and 5 year outlook a lot this weekend and it was both frightening (at childcare costs, mostly) and calming to have a plan in place, so thanks for planting the seed. Can’t wait to see the exciting progress of The Heavy Purse next year!

  3. “love that new spreadsheet smell!” I mean what PF blogger doesn’t? too funny! I know I’ve already said this but so glad you’re doing the 1/2 with me!!! I ran 4 today but it didn’t feel great since the air was funky (really dry and I felt like I was eating dirt). Santa Anas.

    • I know, I’m pretty excited, too!! Thanks for planting the seed. 🙂 I hear you on Santa Ana’s – it makes my throat so dry! No me gusta. Happy Training, girl 🙂

    • Thanks GMD, that means so much to me! I’m for sure committed to just getting rid of it, I don’t want to get hit with interest once it starts to take effect. Hope you had a nice weekend, love xo

  4. Well congrats on signing up for the half marathon! Race fees really are just investments in our health.
    I can’t believe you still don’t use Mint!? But that’s ok, you’ve got some sweet spreadsheet skills.

    • Haha, I know, right, perhaps I’ll convert slowly to Mint, but I just love putting formulas into cells. #nerd Thanks for the congrats, I hope you document your tri training, would love to hear about it!

  5. Congratulations on signing up for a half-marathon! Your training schedule looks intense (at least, to me :P) but I am sure you’ll do great! I love the saying “line our ducks in a row”, it’s so cute! 😛 Good luck on your goals for next year too!

    • Thanks Eva!! Haha, yeah, I suppose I use that phrase a lot, but I just err on the prudent side. I recall that your trip is pretty soon, so I hope you have a blast! 🙂

  6. I’m glad you decided to run! I think that’ll be a great experience, and have no doubt that you’ll do well.

    I love the goal of increasing your savings rate, too. I may copy that one.

    • Thanks DbF! I worked a lot on different scenarios this weekend, with anywhere from 38% to 45% savings rate (just mine, not including combined). Ooh, if you do the same goal, I’d love to hear your approach!

  7. YAY!! Am so excited that you’ll be joining in on the 1/2 marathon fun. I begin training in earnest this week if the hell cold goes away! Am super impressed with your savings goal of 40-45%. Have recently decided that I have to up my savings rate to 30% despite debt repayment etc. You have thrown down the gauntlet though…Can’t wait to hear about your other 2014 goals.

    • THanks Michelle, I’m excited, too! I’m in such great company with all of you amazing women. 🙂 I think I said that misleadingly, since a big bulk of “savings” is going towards a down payment… but I’ll clarify that. 30% is awesome, especially with debt repayment! Best wishes in accomplishing it. 🙂

  8. So many runners! Maybe one day I can run too. One day I do want to invest in a half, or a century ride on a bike. I just know that there are so many costs with racing, gear, etc as I have NOTHING. Downside of being a minimalist. I am impressed with your savings goal and so happy you guys are thinking of the future, and earnestly preparing for it. You two will be great parents 😉

    • Oooh, century rides are intense, I don’t know how people’s booties can handle that! 🙂 Thanks so much for your kind words about being great parents – hopefully we can make those hopes happen!! That really meant a lot, thank you xo 🙂

  9. That’s awesome!!! I have a goal to do a half-marathon by this time next year. We’ll see what happens. Always interesting to read about the finances of these experiences! Good luck to all these lovely PF ladies.

  10. Is it me, or does everyone have running fever? Good luck on training!

    Like you, I prefer spreadsheets over Mint. I have a Mint account, but I don’t even remember the last time I logged in.

  11. Pingback: We're Doing The Best We Can | Budget and the Beach

    • Haha, totally agree… I’ve actually done a few full’s already, though only one in my 30’s. It’s like a part-time job training for one! Half’s are a bit more manageable, though still have to put work in. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  12. Pingback: K.i.s.s.’ed my debt good-bye | Are Ya Gonna Eat That?

  13. Pingback: January Link Love, Side Hustles, and GO BRONCOS!! | The Shop My Closet Project

Leave a Reply

