Getting My Glutton On! Oh, and Giving Thanks

Hello everyone!  I hope everyone is having a wonderful week so far – I’m for sure looking forward to Thanksgiving and the 4-day weekend ahead.  Last year, I was cooking a mini-meal for B’s family before we took off for Japan/Thailand, but this year it’s a lot more mellow with just B and I getting our glutton on with a mini-Thanksgiving spread, planning our honeymoon, and for the most part putzing around homestyle.  I think I’m pretty thankful on a consistent basis for all the good fortunes or learning lessons that have occurred in my life, but now’s a good of a time as any to reiterate my thanks:

I’m thankful for an awesome and loving family, who have supported me despite being cray-cray more often than not, and celebrating with me during good times.  I completely lucked out being born into this family, and it’s so awesome that my mother, brother, and cousins married some amazing people that have made this family circle into a gigantic “village” of awesome families.  I can’t wait to make it even bigger by adding B’s family into the mix.

I’m thankful for B for helping me push past my comfort zone, for loving me despite my dorky tendencies, and for just being there for me (even when a complete Mars vs. Venus scenario arose the other day when I vented about something, he said, “yeah, that’s lame… are we getting pizza?”, I fumed even more, and he stated, “but you told me not to fix things…” lol).

I’m thankful for a loving and supportive network of friends, whether through college, the gym, running groups, or the workplace.  All these members of my “chosen” family who I can’t imagine life without, and all of which I might not hear from for a few months or years, but pick up right where we left off like old times.

I’m thankful for the PF community, for being so incredibly knowledgeable, supportive, funny, and encouraging.  Wendy, Tonya, Mackenzie, Melanie, Michelle (times 3!), KK, Shannon, Laurie, Ross, Mrs. PoP, The 1500’s, John, Nate, Erin, Erin, Tara, E.M., Eva, Jocelyn, Lisa, The Frugal Rules Family, Cat, Femme Frugality, Mochimac, Pauline, Morgaine, Holly, Kathleen, Mr. DbF, Andrew, Steve, Harry, Roger, Tanya, Stefanie, Hayley, Erika, S – sorry I’m too lazy to link, but I feel so fortunate that we’ve crossed paths and that I’ve learned a thing (or five) from all of you!

I’m thankful for great health and employment, and pray that all of us continue to have these for many, many years ahead.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone (um, well, to those that celebrate)!

37 thoughts on “Getting My Glutton On! Oh, and Giving Thanks

  1. I love hearing little tidbits about you and B because it just shows how 2 people couldn’t be more perfect for each other. 🙂 You know I’m so happy I’ve met you because you truly are like the older sis I never had. Happy Thanksgiving my American friend. 🙂 xo

    • Aww, I definitely value meeting you, as well, GMD! You, too, are like the lil’ sis I’ve always wanted, and it’s been so awesome getting to know you this past year! Looking forward to you and J’s wedding planning details. xo

  2. Happy Thanksgiving, Anna! I’m glad I came across your blog =). I love your snippets about B, your relationship dynamic sounds really similar to mine. Whenever I’m upset R tries to change the subject, and it’s usually about food. Men!

    • Haha, I wonder if that’s some defense/survival mechanism to switch the subject to food if R also does it? 😉 So glad to have “met” you as well, E.M., I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your fam!

    • Happy Thanksgiving to you, as well, Kali! I’ve been reading your well-written posts in a few places, so I look forward to “knowing” you even more these next few months! Have a safe and fun weekend. 🙂

  3. Happy Thanksgiving Anna~ I feel like I lucked into my family as well mostly because of my mom. A lot changed this year for you and more changes are coming next year but for the better. I thank you for befriending me here and you were the first to welcome me when my blog started. I really really appreciate it.

    • Awww, you have helped me *so* much with wedding stuff, and just being there in general, so I’m so grateful to have ‘met’ you as well, Michelle! Know that I always have your mom and your family in my prayers, and I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving! xo

  4. Dorks rule.

    Thanks for the shout out and I’m thankful for knowing you are well. You were one of the first bloggers I connected with and I’ll never forget it. Also, we have the Whitney connection. How many people can make that claim?

    • Haha, dorks and Whitney, what a combination! You always write the funniest posts, so I’m grateful that I’ve ran across them. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving, Mr. James-Bond-Super-Villain and 1500 fam! 🙂

    • Aww, Mackenzie, my SoCal connection – I’m aiming to read a book a month next year (which pales in comparison to your reading records, but ya know, baby steps ;)) thanks to you! Have a great Thanksgiving, as well. xo

  5. Have a great Thanksgiving! Seeing your name in a list of blessings like that just makes you go awwwww 🙂

    I like your note at the end. Sometimes I forget that this isn’t a global holiday… But it should be.

    • Aww, of course, CR, you were one of the first PF bloggers that I ran into and it always blew my mind how incredibly smart and on the ball you were with finances at such a young age – it’s something I truly admire! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving. 🙂

    • Aww, Melanie, so grateful that you reached out to me during some sad family times, and just getting to “know” you on a more personal level. I have a feeling we’ll meet one day (um, I meant that in a non-stalker way, I swear. ;)). Happy Thanksgiving, love! xo

    • Thanks, Roger, I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving, as well! I managed to also get some Ebates deals when I bought bridal party gifts this weekend, so thanks for introducing me to it. 🙂

  6. Hey, girlfriend!! Sounds like you guys have a perfectly wonderful Thanksgiving planned. 🙂 Know that we’ll be getting our glutton on right there with you. Go, gravy!

  7. Aw, I’m thankful for you, too! Hope it was an awesome feast! You had me cracking up at the “You told me not to fix things…” comment. We put them in hard situations sometimes lol. Yay for great family! The ones we were born with and the ones that married their way into our lives.

    • Haha, I know, I could just see the smoke coming out of his ears thinking “does not compute?!” Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving with your loved ones, my friend. 🙂

  8. I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Bf and I had Boston Market (I was thankful not to cook 😉 Two Thanksgivings ago was my first time making a dinner myself. I put the turkey in at like 2pm, we didn’t eat until about midnight, my family will never let me live that down (thankfully it was just bf and I and nobody was waiting on the food but us).

Leave a Reply

