November Updates – Debt Repayment, Fitness/Running, and Wedding

Hi everyone – holy canoli, only 30 more days until we ring in the new year!  I’m starting to formulate some 2014 goals, so I think for December my goals are to “finish strong” financially and mostly fine tune some of those 2014 details (and realistically throw out some lofty or out-of-my-control ones).  Here’s what went down in November with things that I usually update about:

1) Debt repayment – I cannot tell a lie, I didn’t complete Michelle’s Black Friday Challenge and pay off my credit card debt, though she managed to pay off *two* so be sure to go over and congratulate her!  I did manage to pay off $300 which brings my total to $3789.  I’ll for sure pay off credit card by 2013, and thinking about just taking the remaining balance from my EF/savings and have all debts ($3789) completely paid off.  I figured why not start 2014 anew, I’d rather pay back myself than those darn companies, and the remaining is a balance that I feel somewhat comfortable parting with.  I always worry about poo hitting the fan, but know that if it came to that, B’s got my back.  Should I just do it?

1397244_10151824710204103_1064237701_o

Why hello there, seasonal BFF!

2) Fitness – I’ve been somewhat following Jamie Eason’s workouts, and starting to see results strength-wise with frequenting heavier dumbbells more, as well as making gains in squats (though this is attributed to B, since I join him during “Leg Day” and he definitely pushes me past my comfort zone despite him being the most awful testosterone-driven meanie who tells me to suck it up when I whine about how heavy something is).  Physically, I’ve only lost a couple of pounds, but my clothes fit better at least.

3) Half-marathon training – I’m getting in 3-4 runs a week and my longest has been a 7 miler.  It’s been nice, but so chilly con carne outside!

4) Nutrition – this area could for sure use more work, especially with Trader Joe’s bringing back my seasonal BFF, dark chocolate covered shortbread cookies.  Nom to the nom!  Besides, isn’t it good for carb-loading for my runs?

And now, onto my favorite updates – the wedding!

1) DJ picked!  She’s given awesome ideas, such as introducing us to the Vitamin String Quartet of which I am *loving* their rendition of Viva La Vida.  We’re toying with the idea of playing them throughout the dinner and making it a game where our guests will guess which songs they are (like Bohemian Rhapsody, Thrift Shop, Don’t Stop Believin’).  It’s kinda cheesy, but also kinda us. 🙂

2) Florist picked!  Flowers aren’t really high on my priority list so I was having a mild heart attack at the cost of really simple flowers, but we found a really cool guy at practically half the price.  Not only that, but he took the time to leaf through pages and examples with me, explaining different flowers, and has beautiful ideas for my bouquet (a round and neat mix of anemones and lisianthus in deep purple, with specks of mini red roses).

3) Honeymoon taking shape.  I told B I really want to go to one area of South America, he agreed it would be awesome and wants to add on another area, and he’s starting to work on this aspect thanks to some oh-so-very-subtle hints I’ve given like “um, so you got this, right?” 😉  But in all seriousness, we both started working on this during the long weekend (him prior), so it’s been exciting.

IMG_20130927_164556_3304) Wedding dress fitting – I went for my first fitting and I absolutely can’t wait to wear it, and campaigning for Wedding Dress Fridays in lieu of Casual Fridays at work, so hopefully it’ll pan out. 😉 I heard that tailoring costs a pretty penny and this is accurate, but I was at least prepared for it.  I’m wondering how the the re-sell prospect will work out with how it’s being tailored since I’m tailoring the hem, as well as the hips/tush part so it’s less A-line and more form-fitting.  I think I’d have to sell locally so people can try it on to see if it works out for them.  I’ve also decided on these shoes, though will probably drop down to flats once we start dancing.

5) Hairstyle picked – I’m going for this hairstyle and I’m going with my usual hairstylist whom I love and trust.  I need to figure out make-up still.

I hope everyone has a wonderful week – so crazy that there’s only a few weeks left in 2013!  Make it some great ones. 🙂

62 thoughts on “November Updates – Debt Repayment, Fitness/Running, and Wedding

  1. South America would be amazing! Have fun planning your awesome trip 🙂 And congrats on getting so much else done, from the flowers and DJ to your hair! I know you must have been so excited to get your first fitting.. before my wedding whenever I got to put on my dress I didn’t want to take it off!

    • Haha, I know what you mean, Kali!! The only reason why I wanted to take mine off was because it has a corset, so I wanted to breathe. 😉 Thanks so much for your support, I hope you’re having a great week!

    • Haha, indeed, best lil’ sis ever! It still makes me stomach turn a little, but I’m leaning more towards it. 🙂 Aww, thanks as always for your loving support xo

  2. DO IT! Pay off the debt. You got the money, B’s got your back, and you will get another check in no time 🙂 Also, go to South America. Live my dream trip so I can live vicariously through you and go to Buenos Aires and Rio. So good! Congrats on all the wedding stuff, so exciting for you! Love the music choices, hehe, I am so cheesy like that too.

    • Gah, I should, right? I know… I get nervous parting with it, but I’d like to start off 2014 with a zero balance. Thanks for your motivational nudge! Haha, glad we are both cheesy when it comes to silly, I mean fun, musical games. 😉

  3. Dark chocolate covered shortbread cookies at TJs? How could I not have known these existed? Now I kind of wish I could forget they exist, because I’ll be craving them all night 😉 Love the hair and the shoes. If I have a wedding you can bet there will be plenty of Journey played throughout the night.

  4. I love the hair you picked! I’d have to get extensions to get anywhere close to that! Nice job on the running. I haven’t lost any weight whatsoever! grrr. My runs were going great till today when my calves were in SO much pain for some reason. 😦 You seem really organized with the wedding planning as well. Just be careful if you pay off your remaining debt that you do have SOMETHING in case of an emergency!

    • Oh no, I’m so sorry to hear about your calves – was it from the 5k? I hope they’re doing better! Indeed, that’s my biggest concern with pulling out from EF/savings – I would have a modest amount left, but just worry about what if I need more or what if a family member needs my help fast. Something to think about!

  5. That’s a really pretty hairstyle, and pretty shoes to boot! Those cookies sound amazing…you’re going to send a lot of traffic to TJ’s now, haha. I think if you feel comfortable with paying everything off, then go for it. I would rather start the new year with a nice 0 than have to worry about it on top of all the wedding things going on. Paying yourself back is easier than handing the money over to the credit card company. I like your “guess the song” idea, too.

    • Thank you so much, EM! Yeah, that’s exactly why I would want to just pay it all off, to have a nice 0 in debt, so I’m leaning towards it (though always talk myself out of it the next second after lol). Haha, oh good, glad someone else likes the guess the song idea… I think we’ll do it! 🙂

    • Of course, I’m so impressed with you completing it! Love the shoes, too – my feet might not like them, but they’re worth the momentary pain, I think. 😉

  6. LOVE the shoes and the hairstyle – absolutely gorgeous!!! And I think the DJ plan is a great idea – go for it! Anna, you are kicking it on all of your goals – great job. 🙂 Trader Joe’s has the yummiest desserts, don’t they?

    • Aww, thanks for your encouragement, Laurie! Haha, thanks for liking the DJ idea, too – I think some people might think it’s cheesy, but that’s okay, they don’t have to play if they don’t want. Oh man, LOVE TJ desserts – I just discovered the mini mint-ice cream cookies, so yum!

  7. Your wedding is going to be top notch.. It looks like you have a great plan.

    This is the very hardest time of year to keep working out and eating right in check. It will be tough with all of the gatherings, food, and cold weather outside. You can do it though! I’m battling right the same things myself.

    • Indeed, the holidays are for sure challenging with all the treats around, but I’m focused on staying disciplined. Thanks for stopping by and your kind words, Jefferson, I’ll have to check out your site! 🙂

      • AGREED! I feel like it’s kind of an “off” time of year… so there aren’t many out there. Gotta find my wedding crack somehow! I don’t know if you’ve ever read “A Practical Wedding” but it’s my fav wedding blog – you might enjoy it!

  8. I love these wedding updates. The hairdo is gorgeous. Love, love it! Very classic and will withstand the test of time when you look back at your wedding pictures. My hair was pouffy. My dress was pouffy. In my defense, it was the style. But it was a lot of pouf. 🙂 Sounds like you have a good handle on everything, which takes a lot of weight off your shoulders. South America would make a great honeymoon.

    • Thanks so much, Shannon!! I remember the pouf – I’ll speak on behalf of your fans that we would *love* to see the pics!! 🙂 I really hope we can make S.A. happen!!

  9. Your writing style always cracks me up (nom to the nom, chilly con carne). I love a little personality in a narrative voice, so thanks!

    Glad the wedding is coming together and I agree with your plan to just knock out the CC debt. As a worst case scenario, if poo hit the fan, you could just put that money back on the CC…right back where you started, and that’s just the worst case.

    • Haha, glad someone likes my corny lines, thanks for laughing Mr. DbF! 🙂 That’s a good perspective on it – I’m definitely leaning towards it just to start fresh for 2014 (plus, it would help with my 40-45% savings goal for next year). Thanks, as always, for your kind support. 🙂

  10. Yay for wedding taking shape. I noticed how far along you’ve come in the debt repayment in the sidebar… you’re almost done with your loan! so exciting. 🙂

  11. Uh-oh. I am in so much trouble now that I know about TJ’s chocolate covered shortbread. Shortbread is my favorite cookie. Covered in chocolate. Oh my! It’s the holidays, right? We are meant to indulge, right? Right? ACK! Love the wedding shoes and I’m with you on switching to flats when it’s time to shake your booty on the dance floor. Congrats on almost knocking out your debt. Must feel fantastic!!

    • OMG they are sooo good! Shortbread isn’t as good as homemade (well… duh lol), but the dark chocolate and sprinkles totally make it! Thanks on the shoes – I love them, but they’re for sure only 4-5 hour shoes and afterward I’m kickin’ them off! haha

  12. Have you ever tried those kettle bell dingus* thingies? The Mrs. picked one up at a thrift store a couple weeks back and holy crap! Try swinging that thing around! After just a couple minutes, I felt like I had been run over by a steamroller.

    ****CAUTION: Graphic and disgusting content ahead. Readers with weak stomachs, please avert your eyes for a moment.****

    I’ve worked out to the point of throwing up on 2 occasions, but it took me a while. There was a 15 story building at my old job and I used to walk up the stairs for exercise. One day, I did it 25 times and then, Kaplooey!!! Lunch made a reappearance. However, that was after a couple hours.

    I swear, 5 minutes of swinging that bell thing around and I almost lost it. Must be good exercise if it does that do you, right?!?

    *inspired by your recent use of the word “tookus.” Next up is “flabbergasted.”

    • Not gonna lie, I’m loving kaplooey and will most likely use that during a conversation sometime this week! 25 times is a LOT, I’m surprised you didn’t lose more than that! lol I don’t frequent the kettlebells too much, though I do use it for shoulder press and do swings – it’s crazy how it works your muscles since you have to balance! What weights did you get (amount)? I stick to 20 pounds – anything higher I just look horribly awkward. lol

    • Lol, it’s probably a 20%/80% split, though he’s doing a lot with the honeymoon. 🙂 In life, though, it’s pretty balanced, which is sweet and a win-win! 🙂

    • Thanks Eva! That’s the thing, I’m wondering if I’ll feel it more urgent knowing that I’m taking out of my safety net, so to speak… I think I’m gonna go for it! 🙂

  13. I am on Day 3 of Jamie Eason Live Fit program. I finished the bikini boddy challenge last week and loved the short workouts. But now I need to build more muscle. FIrst month looks good, I’m gonna have to break up Month 2 and 3 workouts tho (with cardio in the evenings) .

    • Ooh, what shorts workout… I’ll have to look into it! I love Jamie Eason, she is so darn adorable and so motivating!! Let me know how you do with the program, nice to know someone else I “know” is doing it, as well!

  14. I did Jamie Eason, and my back got super amazing muscle-y! I never made it to phase 3 though, because I wasn’t willing to lift weights for more than 30 minutes a day, so I decided I was happy enough just staying in phase 2! It’s nice having a plan to follow though!

    • Yeah, 30 minutes would be a lot – I’ve liked phase 2, though haven’t really looked into phase 3 yet. Back muscles are the *best*!! Glad to hear you had success with it, thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • Aww, thank you! I know, I’m for sure leaning towards it because I think it’ll be more incentive to pay myself back since I love myself more than the banks! haha Thanks for your encouragement, girl. 🙂

    • Oooh, I have no idea why I didn’t ask you what was in your bouquet since I wanted to same purple – man I’m dumb! What other flowers did you have? Love lisianthus, such a vibrant color!

      • I don’t know the flower names that were used, but I asked them not to put any kind of lillies, carnations, or chrysanthemums. Sorry I have no specifics. I remember lisianthus because my florist had to special order these.

  15. Chocolate shortbread cookies yum! gotta run more to wash them down! I’ll check the workout you suggest, I’ve been getting to comfortable, but still run about 10k 3x a week, it’s time to move to the next level. Good luck with the half marathon training!

  16. Pingback: K.i.s.s.’ed my debt good-bye | Are Ya Gonna Eat That?

Leave a Reply

