K.i.s.s.’ed my debt good-bye

Hi everyone!  So after some waffling with whether to just transfer my savings to pay off the remaining debt and start anew in 2014, I decided to go for it and truffle shuffled all my debts away.

Dun-dun-dun – Another one bites the dust!

cc

And another one gone, and another one gone, another ones bite the dust

ccc

Hey, I’m gonna get you, too

loan

my biggest balance, paid off yesterday so updated today with $0

Another one bites the dust! (clap clap)

It was a no brainer in terms of number crunching and risk assessment, but to be honest, I kept delaying because it was more emotional versus logical.  However, after quite a few motivating comments (thank you!!) and a lot of dealing with my ghosts of worries past since I’m the Chicken Little of worst case scenarios, I let go, thought of K.I.S.S., and Kept It Simple, Shorty (and I know that’s supposed to be Stupid, but why would I call myself stupid?  That’s not very kind!).

It also aligns quite well with my 2014 goals to save 40-45% of my total income next year, though I suppose it’s misleading considering 1) I’m just replenishing what I took out for my debts in the beginning and 2) some are going towards our ‘forever’ house and hopefully little rugrats funds, but I do plan on further cultivating my investing skills.  I got my big toe in this year and saw modest gains, so I’m looking forward to exploring more, as well as looking at side income.  And, not going to lie, I still need to control my Spendy of Spenderville ways, since I’ll own that I like to spend and it’s something I have to work on.

Anyway, that’s my news as of late.  I’m motivated to ramp up in 2014 and beyond, so I’m excited to see what these next few years will bring us.  I might not become Financially Independent Rock Stars like The 1500’s, Johnny Moneyseed, Done By Forty, The PoP’s, or Cash Rebel who will accomplish F.I. in their 30’s 0r 40’s, but I do believe that B and I could have quite a promising outlook in our 50’s, which is really like the new 40, anyway, dontchathink? 😉

I hope everyone’s been doing well and I honestly can’t wait to see what the year ahead brings for those paying down debts, reaching financial independence, and/or overall just taking care of their business like a beast!  There was so much progressive movement and positive energy in 2013, so it’ll be amazing to see what happens in 2014. 🙂

56 thoughts on “K.i.s.s.’ed my debt good-bye

  1. I am so freaking proud of you Anna! I remember when I found your blog back in January and thinking, “wow, I can totally relate to this Girl” and now you are debt-free!!!! I’m excited to hear more about you dipping more than your big toe in investing so I can learn from my big sis! 🙂

    • Aww, thank you, GMD! That’s exactly how I felt with your blog – you were so happy and relatable, so glad I found your site! Can’t wait to see what 2014 brings you, lil’ sis. xo

  2. You go, girl!!!! Woohoo!!! Celebrating with you, Anna. What an awesome Christmas gift to yourself and to your future with B. 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Laurie!!! Your support means so much to me, and I can’t wait to see the great things that come for you and the family in 2014! 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Shannon – I know, it was quite a cool gift indeed!! I’ll be taking notes on all your wonderful financial advice in 2014 for sure – thank you for always being so supportive! 🙂

  3. Way to go!! Congratulations! That’s a nice early Christmas present for yourself =). I love that you’re keeping a positive outlook on your financial situation, too. I’m looking forward to making investing a focus next year as well.

  4. That’s amazing!! YOU ARE DEBT FREE!! Ahh, I want to have a party for you. Don’t worry, you have an amazing life and now it will only get better. I will join you in a few years 🙂

    • Haha, awww, thanks Melanie!! No worries, the party will come soon enough – YES, I can’t wait until you join me in just a few short years! Cheering you all the way through, my dear friend! xo

  5. Waffling? Waffles? Mmmmm! Hooray for paying off another one! High 5!! I actually thought of you yesterday, my coworker brought in his 5-day-old newborn and made me hold him and said “you know they’re contagious. Now you’re gonna want one…!” Augh it’s so true! Then Love Actually was on tv 🙂

      • Haha, yup, all of it – thanks so much!! It was kind of nerve-wracking at first, but now I’m so glad I did it. Now it’s just a matter of rebuilding those funds back up! So excited to see what awesome things happen for you in 2014!! 🙂

    • Oooh, waffles with nutella – yums!! Haha, oh man, my coworker brought his baby, too, and I didn’t want to give it back!! Man, love me some “Love Actually”! 🙂

  6. Wow, debt free? AMAZING!

    You’ll find new opportunities and a better taste of life, believe me. Congratulations for the big step and may your finances work even better from now on. Now this is a great way to enter the new year 😉

    • Thanks so much, dojo!! I sure hope so, it does feel quite liberating, so I’m excited to explore this new chapter in my life! I hope you’re doing well, soon-to-be mama!! 🙂

  7. I am humbled that I made the list of bloggers there. It is not deserved, but like all compliments, cookies, and offers of a free puppy, I will take it!

    Congratulations on being debt free! It’s a great accomplishment and, yeah, a great excuse to truffle shuffle.

    • HAHA, winner winner, chicken dinner!!!! I was wondering if anyone would catch the truffle shuffle part – you obviously rock with movie references (and FI!)!! 🙂

    • Seriously, the first thing I was going to say was that this needs a Truffle Shuffle GIF. Dorktastic moment: have you ever noticed at the end how she’s trying to decide between a sharp and b flat…..which is the same exact note?

      Anyways….CONGRATS, Anna! That is so freaking exciting! So excited for the DEBT-FREE new year for you!

      • LOL oh yeah, huh, I didn’t even catch that! Gotta love dorktastic moments, glad you’re in that club with me, FF. 😉 Thanks for the congrats, it definitely feels awesome!

  8. OMG!! Congratulations, Anna! What a HUGE accomplishment! I can’t wait until I see a zero balance too. 🙂 And I like your KISS version better too! Who wants to be called stupid? Not me. And unfortunately or fortunately shorty works for me too!

    • Haha, it’s a total fortunate thing – closer to the ground, greater center of gravity, all positives to being short in my book! 😉 Thanks so much, Tanya, Merry Christmas! xo

  9. Pingback: My Favorite Debt Pay Off Posts! From 2013! | The Shop My Closet Project

  10. Congratulations! It’s one of the most amazing feelings to pay off a debt and realize that they don’t own anymore of your future income. Good luck in 2014, after reading a bunch you have written, I know you’re going to be able to meet your savings goals. You seem pretty on top of things.

    • Haha, I love your name (Mr. Roboto will now be playing in my head all day)! Thanks so much for your kind words – I’m definitely motivated for great things to happen in 2014! 🙂

  11. Sooo happy for you! Becoming debt-free has been one of my biggest accomplishments to date. Now that you’re got that “monkey off your back” your money is truly yours to save and spend as you please. I remember once I hit submit and sent that final payment. It felt awesome then, but felt even more awesome the next month when I didn’t have to pay anyone anything. Woot woot and big congratulations!

    • Thanks so much, KK! Your success story was no doubt a great motivator, so thank you for that! I know, it’s amazing to not owe anything to anyone (well, except wedding vendors these next couple of months lol). Looking forward to *saving* and investing like a fiend in 2014! 🙂

Leave a Reply

