2014 Goals/Plans

Hi everyone!  I hope y’all had a great weekend – I had my annual bake day on Sunday, which somehow always goes from “Yay, bake time!” to “Omg, why do I subject myself to this every year?!” approximately 4 hours and/or a couple of singed fingers later (note to self: the cookie sheet you just took out of the oven is hot. Hot.).  They’re all shipped off, though, and now I have one whole year to forget about it until my next “Yay, bake time!” moment. 😉

Beautiful sunrise taken today after my a.m. workout!

Random pic that has nothing to do with the post of the beautiful sunrise taken today after my workout!

Anyway, now that I’m an old pro at being debt-free (ha!) and completed my primary 2013 goal, I thought I would share some of my 2014 goals:

1) Stay debt-free.  Experience has taught me that as challenging as it can be to take something off, it can be just as challenging, if not more, to keep it off and manage it correctly.  It’s like a diet – you might make some changes that could lead you to lose a ton of weight, but if you don’t learn the correct lifestyle skills to keep the weight off, then you might be more susceptible to slip ups or regressions.  This becomes more important as the wedding nears, since I’ve heard from friends that towards the end, some became carried away and spent quite a bit, so hopefully I won’t fall into that.

2) Have a ‘savings’ rate of 40-45% – I’ve mentioned this before, but it’s somewhat misleading since it’s going towards a down payment for our ‘forever’ house (assumes we keep our current place/rent it out) and hopefully future little ones funds, but this will also include investing and regular ol’ savings.  We’re also transitioning in combining our finances early next year, as we’ve agreed upon keeping our personal accounts and siphoning off a flat rate for our discretionary funds (I proposed % rate since he makes more, but he was okay with flat), and then funneling the rest to joint accounts.  Combining will make our projected savings rate even greater, but I still want to make sure I’m doing my part in not only keeping costs down, but exploring how to increase my current intake level, as well.

3) Read 24 books.  Did you know Mackenzie and Mochimac are reading machines?  They inspired me to read more often, especially since I’ve noticed I’ve been watching TV frequently which is no good.  I won’t count books for work, but rather ones for pure leisure or that revolves around personal finance/investing.  I’m probably setting the bar low with this goal compared to avid readers, but what can I say, I’m easily distracted (I’m looking at you, Buzzfeed!).

4) Continue with Spanish.  This is particularly important as we’re paying a visit to a couple of South American countries in 2014 (more on this soon!), and I’m the only one that can somewhat hablo.

5) Learn one new Filipino dish, and one new German dish, each month (alternate each month as to keep it less lofty).  Consider this my nesting period, but once we have kids, I want them to not only know about their cultural heritage, but also grow up on the same comfort foods that I grew up with (sinigang or arroz caldo on cold rainy days?  Yes please!).  It sounded like B also grew up with some German dishes, so I’d like to learn this since I predominantly cook ‘American’ dishes and a ton of stir fry at home.

I’m not adding any fitness goals since I’m pretty consistent with doing something active 4-6 times a week, plus I’m running a half with Tonya (woo hoo!) – so long as I stay healthy and able, it’s all good.

What are your 2014 goals?

52 thoughts on “2014 Goals/Plans

  1. Love your 2014 goals, Anna. I’m right there with you on the savings rate (would love to get to 50%, but I think that’s stretching it!) and on the reading and working on Spanish. Do you use DuoLingo at all? You can download it as an app or visit their website, and it’s a pretty fun way to stay brushed-up on your language skills. I’ve been having fun with it for the last few weeks (although I’ve abandoned it lately, need to get back to it). Best of luck achieving all these awesome things in the new year!

    • Wow, 50% would be awesome, I say go for it, Kali! 🙂 That’s funny you mentioned DuoLingo, because I just started that last week (Dear Debt and Cash Rebel use it, as well!)… so now I get friendly reminders from that owl to log on. 🙂 Thanks so much for your kind support, best wishes on your 2014 plans, too!!

    • Thanks Mr. DbF! I’m going to do my best and not cheat with the Mama Sita packets for sinigang. For pancit, I just remember it’s a LOT of chopping… something I’d like to outsource! Ha, see what I did there?! Um… never mind… 🙂

    • Thanks so much, GMD! I think I’m going to keep investing pretty simple for the most part (index funds, P2P), but I’ll for sure write about it. LOVING my new lipstick, thanks sis!! 🙂 Can’t wait to read about your 2014 goals!

  2. love those goals, especially the savings rate! I don’t know why it would be misleading though because usually when you’re saving money, it’s to eventually put it toward SOMETHING right? whether an emergency fund, a house, investments, etc… I mean, it’s not like I have any desire to become Scrooge McDuck and swim in my savings of gold coins…

    • Thanks Erika, it’s so awesome that you have the same goals, as well! You know, you’re right when it comes to the saving money part – I think I meant that it will eventually ‘decrease’ my net worth (at least the little rugrats fund), but I suppose saving for retirement is the same thing in a few years (well, decades lol)! Thanks for the change in perspective!

  3. Awesome goals, Anna! Your savings goal is badass and I don’t think it is misleading at all. Money saved is typically saved for SOMETHING, usually to be spent at a later date 🙂

    I need to finalize my goals still and get them up on the blog in the next couple of weeks!

    • Thanks so much, Erin! Agreed, you and Erika definitely changed my perspective with that. I think I might still fine tune it to have a savings rate and increase my net worth since the little rugrats fund will eventually be exhausted (and decrease my net worth), but I suppose it’s the same thing with saving for retiring! Can’t wait to read about your 2014 goals! 🙂

  4. Sounds like great goals, Anna. I agree that sometimes after we get out of debt is when we have to be the most diligent. It’s easy to fall back into old habits or think because we have no debt we don’t need to think about the things we purchase. I’m sure you’ll do great, especially since you have such important goals you are working towards. My heritage is German too (I am a tall blonde after all) so I try to cook a few German dishes too.

    • Thanks so much, Shannon! Indeed, though I do feel like I learned a lot this year, I also don’t want to fall back into previously bad habits, so it’s something I just need to keep working on. I didn’t know you were German! I speculated Scandinavian, so close! 🙂 If you have any favorite German dishes, I’d love to hear them!

  5. Those sound like good (and reasonable) goals! I got to DF in August this year only to end up $2500 back in the hole. It really is hard to stay DF especially around the holidays (oh, and buying a new home). I’ve posted my savings goals for 2014 but will have the rest of the goals up shortly. Good luck in 2014 reaching your goals! 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Morgaine! Ooh, I’m going to check out your 2014 goals, it sounds like we have a lot in common (especially with the house, though we might take awhile). You’ll get rid of that $2500 in no time, I know it! 🙂

    • Wow, I didn’t even think about that, but you’re right – thanks for shining light on the wealth building aspect! Aww, and thanks for your kind words – I only hope I can be as awesome as you! 🙂

  6. It’s true. I’m a reading fiend… 🙂 Thanks for the mention.

    I too am very happy you are a net worth blogger now. This is very exciting!

    As for Spanish, it got me thinking that I may try and attempt another language next year

    • Of course, I’m always in awe at how much you accomplish in a month, so it was definitely inspiring! I know, crazy about the NW part, I didn’t even think about that way until now – exciting indeed! 🙂

  7. SO TRUE about getting carried away at the end. Honestly it’s more like decision fatigue. It’s just like “Hmm pay more or have to spend more time on it? Yeah let’s just pay more… whatever at this point.” It’s been crazy. Definitely be on guard!! I love your goals – it’s going to be a great year!!

    • Oh man, decision fatigue pretty much nails it! Do you find yourself falling into that lately? It seems like you’ve accomplished so much already, so it certainly doesn’t sound like that’s the case. 2014 is going to be awesome for you, as well, one more month for you, YAY!! 😀

  8. I love how broad your goals are. Reading 24 books sounds like an ambitious goal, and I love reading. It’s always from new books that I get my most interesting ideas, so it’s probably a great goal to have on the list. I bet you’ll crush it!
    So no fitness goals? I signed up for a tri. Have you ever done one?

    • Thanks CR – I read 19 this year (though 2 were for work), but I suppose aim high and see where I land? lol Thanks so much for your support! I’ve never done a tri (I don’t know how to swim, it’s so sad considering I live on the coast), plus that’s too multi-tasky for me. 😉 Nice, what distance are you shooting for? Best wishes for your tri goal!

  9. These are all great goals as usual! I especially love the last one. I have faith that you’ll be able to keep debt a thing of the past. My grandma does the same thing with baking. Everyone in the family begs her for her cookies, but it’s a days worth of work, and she’s not as young as she used to be! I think seeing the joy on everyone’s faces as they’re eating them makes it worth it for her, though. I’d love to follow in her footsteps someday.

    • Thanks so much, E.M.! I hope my debt will remain in 2013, that’s definitely the plan! That is so sweet of your grandma to bake – I agree it’s a lot of work, but the love and joy that gets returned back is for sure worth it! 🙂

  10. Great goals – I have a similar one with reading three books per month. I used to read like crazy – now, not so much.

    Awesome projected savings rate, even if some is going for a down payment!

    • Wow, 3 books/month is awesome! I know, I used to read a lot, as well, so hopefully I’ll get back into that. Best wishes for your reading, and 2014, goals!! 🙂

  11. I did totally terrible with my reading goal this year. It’s something I want to pick up again next year when I’ll hopefully have more time to read. If you find any good (and easy) Filipino recipes please let me know. I don’t know how to cook any Filipino dishes and poor bf has to drive to nearby Filipino restaurants if he has a craving for comfort food. I don’t even know where to begin.

    • You had a lot on your plate this year, KK, especially with career stuff! I had no excuse other than being a lump on a log. haha For sure, to keep myself accountable I’m going to post about the recipes and process! What does your bf like from the restaurants? Other than sinigang and adobo (which I don’t super love but I’d like to at least learn), I could use more ideas! lol

  12. I agree that it can be very easy to slip up into old patterns of debt if you are not careful. I’ve done it a couple times over. It is like losing a lot of weight. Great goals! I have not done mine yet but I have idea. I’ve been too busy. Erg. And I can’t wait for the half! Well, I kind of can for a moment since I woke up with a chest cold. ERG!!

  13. Love the pic. I moved here for palm trees and the ocean and they still make my smile. 🙂 Great goals. Love the reading goals. I love to read but I can be hit or miss. Sometimes I am a reading fiend where I will go through books like they were potato chips. Other times, not so much. You’ll have to share what books you read. Many years ago a friend introduced to a couple of Filipino dishes, pancit and lumpia. They were so good. I have never tried sinigang or arroz caldo but I’ll be on the lookout for them.

    • Isn’t it amazing, Tanya! I will never, ever take living in SoCal for granted! I’ll definitely post what I read in order to keep me accountable, as well as post the recipes for sinigang and arroz caldo (great winter foods!). I love lumpia, but oh man is that process tedious, especially since the outer shell is so darn thin! But, it’s worth it. 🙂

    • Aww, muchas gracias, Michelle (man, that’s like the extent of my Spanish. jiji… Are you fluent? Jealous!). I’ve helped my grandma prepare Filipino dishes, but a lot tend to be deep fried or have lots of oils/fats, so I’m trying to recreate the healthier options. The savings rate is pretty daunting (and methinks ambitious), but if it helps me reach for the stars, then I’ll still be better off at that point than where I’m at now. 🙂 Best wishes for *you* in 2014!!

  14. The debt and diet analogy is an excellent one. I’m sure you’ll have no problem with that one. 40 to 45% savings rate is awesome…I’d like to work on increasing our savings rate. How are you going to practice Spanish…Rosetta Stone, some other program? I tried listening to some learn Spanish CDs but they weren’t too helpful. I also tried speaking to my wife in Spanish but then I get frustrated and impatient and switch back to English! I just relied on my Spanish-speaking wife when we went to Central America…although I’d like to think my Spanish okay.
    Feliz navidad y feliz año nuevo!

    • Thanks Andrew, for your kind words and for your belief in me! I really like Live Mocha since Spanish speakers can correct your work (in turn, you correct people working on their English), but I also like DuoLingo as well which seems a bit like Rosetta Stone. I’ll probably use those two, as well as read dual-language books. Wow, so awesome your wife speaks Spanish, that’s awesome! Do both of you speak additional languages? Feliz Navidad!! 🙂

  15. LOVE that pic – it’s gorgeous!!!! You’ve got some great goals going on, Anna. Learning Spanish has been on our to-do list for years. We’ve got the curriculum, just gotta step up and get it done!! And I love the idea of making meals from your heritages – we might add that one to our 2014 list as well. Great work on 2013 stuff as well, my friend!

    • Thanks Laurie – it was so breath-taking, I had to capture it! If you do the cultural dishes, please share the recipes! I’d love to have a more global view when it comes to cuisine. 🙂 Merry Christmas and so excited to see what 2014 brings you!

    • Agreed Sara, it’s all about life-long changes and impacts! Thanks so much for your kind words and for stopping by – I hope you have a wonderful holiday break and New Year! 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Erin! I’m not fast by any means, but at least I’m consistent. 🙂 Best wishes for your 2014 goals/plans, though I have no doubt you’ll be as amazing as you were in 2013!

  16. We started taking Spanish together through an online program our library provides…we really need to step this up. So far I know, “Hola! Como estas?” Or “Hola! Como esta usted?” And I’m not even sure I have those right. I think I know a cuss word, too, but I could be wrong on that one as well.

  17. Pingback: December 2013 Budget Roundup = $217,275.17 or a decrease of -($914.10) or 0.42%

Leave a Reply

