Wedding update – two month countdown!

Hi everyone – I hope your 2014 is starting out amazing so far!  This lady sure is – not only did she pay off over $5k of debt in December, but she also got engaged – congrats again, girl!  Anyway, shall I continue with more wedding updates?  Don’t mind if I do.

1) Make-up booked!  I love the person I chose – she used airbrush make-up which looked really nice, and she combined fake lashes with my real lashes that looked fantastic so I’ve decided against eyelash extensions (which after some research, I guess it ruins your real lashes so this is probably a good thing).  I booked trial before an all day outing, and it kept up so long as I powdered in regular intervals to avoid looking Dali-melted. 🙂

2) Bridesmaids gifts completed!  I’m inept at picking out jewelry, so I opted to give them cute clutches, a heart-shaped purse holder with their name personalized on it, and make-up.  I took advantage of some sales, as well as double rewards on Ebates (thanks Roger, for letting me know about it!).  The readers are my brother and my best friend from high school (a guy), so I have to still figure what to get them.  Any ideas?

My ever-so-helpful coworkers decided to show their Spanish support by labeling my supplies en espanol! lol

My ever-so-helpful coworkers decided to show their Spanish support by labeling things around my desk en espanol! lol

3) Honeymoon flights booked!  Despite having to be on the phone for over 4 hours since going online wasn’t working out, they’re booked and I’m beyond thrilled that we’ll be paying a visit to South America!   We’re only doing one tour package for one region for 3-4 days, and the rest we’ll try to wing it, as well as do a mix of Air BnB and hotels since one area is pricier than the other.

4) Guest list almost confirmed.  I’m starting to plan out the seating arrangements (originally I was opposed to this and thought I would give guests free reign, but I’d like super special loved ones to have the best seats in the house… plus I may or may not be trying to play cupid with a few people going as singles ;)).  Our attendance rate is in the range of what we expected, though there’s going to be a ton of kids/babies.  I love how they boogie down on the dance floor, though, so I’m excited!

5) Wedding bands chosen!  We went with Blue Nile (no affiliate) and chose a semi-eternity for myself and tungsten carbide for B since this sounds harder to scratch.  Not gonna lie, his hand has never looked sexier as it did when he tried it on! 😉

6) Reception timeline somewhat set.  We spoke with the DJ for hours last night, and she was really thorough with a Q&A period about us, speaking with us individually, talking about our parents and every member of the bridal party, talked a lot about music genres and what percentage of each, and what we envision.  It was challenging to think of anecdotes on the fly, but I’m sure we’ll finalize things down the line.

dress17) Bridal shower and probably rehearsal dinner dress picked.  I chose this dress, which was a bit more sequin-y in person than online, but I think I can pull it off for day wear with the right shoes.  I love it, don’t even have to make alterations like usual, got a great deal online, will probably just wear it to both the shower and rehearsal/dinner, as well as my friend’s annual black and white party in a few months to get the most bang out of my cost per use.

Now that it’s coming to a head, I’ll probably write more frequent updates so feel free to tune these out if you’re over it.  It helps me figure out what still needs to be done, and the way these next couple of months are looking, it’s going to take some time coordinating with vendors, figuring out readings/songs for the ceremony, and making time for logistics like getting the license, follow ups, and walk-throughs.  Overall, I’m pretty excited that it’s coming, though! 🙂

Are you planning any big events for 2014? 

46 thoughts on “Wedding update – two month countdown!

  1. Wide strap, deep-V is always flattering I find. Love the rehearsal dress.

    I was a reader in a wedding in July and I didn’t get a gift from the couple. Went to the rehearsal party, etc,… But nothing like the bridesmaids.

    Good Luck!

    • Indeed, I’m a big fan of v-necks! Hrm, I agree about not getting something like bridesmaids, but I think I might still give them a token of appreciation… I’ll have to see what others did. Thanks for your well wishes, Alicia! 🙂

  2. Haha that picture and caption is so funny!

    We just booked our hair and makeup as well for me and all of my bridesmaids. I’m paying for most of it for them (I’m only having them pay $25 each), and the total is $1,022. AHHH!!!

  3. “and the rest we’ll try to wing it”

    I think that is pretty awesome. Some of our best vacation memories come from things we just stumbled upon; completely unplanned. Sometimes it’s good just to wander…

  4. So glad it’s coming together! I’m sure you’ll have an awesome time in South America. Let us know how the adventure goes!

  5. Sounds like you are on top of this – and I agree with DB40, I love that you are planning on winging some parts 🙂 It helps to have an idea of what’s going on when, of course, especially with a wedding – but you need to be able to relax and just go with things, too. It’s more fun that way and you’ll save yourself some stress!

    Also, love your rehearsal dress! And very kind of your coworkers to be so helpful with those free Spanish vocab lessons, hehe.

    • Thank you for your kind words, Kali! Agreed, I like having a rough outline during a vacation, but don’t like being too restricted when it comes to schedules – it should be fun after all! 🙂 Hope you’re having a great week!

  6. Oh, Anna, everything sounds just perfect!! So very excited for you guys. 🙂 It’s gonna be a great day, my friend!

  7. The big day is approaching~ I’m so excited. You’re really getting things done in good pace. I’d love to see your wedding day picture with everything you planned so hard coming together.

  8. Love your shower and rehearsal dress! How exciting that you’re getting down to the nitty gritty details. 🙂 South America will be fabulous! Have you or B ever been there before (sorry I can’t remember if shared this previously). Love these updates, so I’m not tuning out. 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Shannon! I’ve been to Central America (Costa Rica and Guatemala), but never South, so it’s going to be so exciting! The flights will be another story, but I’m sure it will be worth it. 🙂 Yay, thank you so much for your support! 🙂

  9. So exciting! That was really smart to book the trial makeup session before an all-day outing. If I may suggest something a lot of people recommend – there is a product called Skindinavia Bridal Makeup Finish. It’s a spray you just spritz on to set your makeup. I’m not sure if the person you’re booked with uses it, but it could possibly come in handy throughout the day. I’ve used their regular setting spray before and it’s pretty good.

    Four hours on the phone to book your flights?! I would have been going crazy. I am glad your trip is booked though, it sounds like it will be a lot of fun. That dress is pretty, too!

    • Ooh, I have never heard of that so I’ll have to Google it – thanks so much for the tip, EM! I did start looking a little toe-up in the end, so I could use all the help I can get! 😉 Yeah, it wasn’t fun, but the airline was so kind at least – just glad it went through!

  10. The bridesmaid gifts sound so cute! I love false eyelashes. I don’t wear them every day but they really do make your eyes pop! Ugh 4 fours to book your flights is insane but I’m glad you got what you wanted. I’ve never been to South America but I’ve heard great things. I love that you’re being a bit spontaneous with your trip too. It’s fun to plan but sometimes when every single minute is scheduled, it really doesn’t feel like a vacation, much less a honeymoon!

    • Thanks so much, Tanya! Yeah, the falsies were really nice, and showed up really well in pictures! Indeed, I’d rather explore on my own rather than rigid schedules during vacations – you get more of the feel that way in my opinion, though it’s also nice on tours to have some historical background. I still prefer the former, though. 🙂

  11. I’ve never had my makeup done professionally, but airbrush makeup sounds like so much fun (I’ve seen it done on TV and it always seems to give such a gorgeous flawless look). ” Not gonna lie, his hand has never looked sexier as it did when he tried it on!”-aww melt! Keep the updates coming!

    • Haha, I know, it’s cheesy, but it was so cool to have him try it on – it felt more real! Airbrush totally makes my skin smoother – it was awesome and I totally recommend it!

  12. you sound so much more on top of things than I was! I realize after everything that I probably should have had a wedding planner but at least everything happened without at hitch. The hubby was a big reason why things ran so smoothly so your future husband is lucky you’re on top of things like he was for me! 🙂

    • Aww, that’s a very nice compliment, thanks Tara! So cool of your hubby to be on top of things, as well – that’s what team work is all about, eh? 🙂

  13. I came to the same conclusion about eyelash extensions! Ended up going with individual fake lashes which worked really nicely for me. So happy you’re pleased with your make-up lady! 🙂 I LOVE that you’re going to South America – so fabulous. I’m so jealous! Are you going to multiple countries? I LOVE your updates, look like you’re making awesome progress 🙂 Congrats!!!

  14. It seems like just yesterday that my wife and I were going through all of that, planning our wedding. In reality, it has been 12 years.. But that was one heck of a party 🙂

  15. I’ve never been a bridesmaid, so I don’t actually know much, but I find the gift giving thing a little strange. I suppose cause I expect that I’ll pay for their dresses/shoes etc. I suppose traditions differ from place to place, if they paid for all that, then I would feel very inclined to give them a gift though.

    I love the dress too – wish I could see a bigger version. Is your DJ also a MC (does that mean anything to you – like the master of ceremonies, who introduces people etc/?)

    Totally up for daily updates – I sneak reading A Practical WEdding at work so the BF doesn’t know:p

Leave a Reply

