Confessions of a Somewhat-Procastinating Early Bird with a Love-Hate Fitness Relationship

IMG_20131231_091408_007

One of my favorite running spots

Jefferson’s post on his typical run was so awesome, I decided to go ahead and plagiarize become inspired by it and create a timeline of what a usual weekday morning workout routine looks like for me.

4:34 a.m.* – Yes!  I’ve woken up before the alarm goes off at 4:45, I’ve already “won” for the day – suck it, technology!  Now time to sneak out the room ninja-style as to not waken the grumpy bear.

4:35 a.m. – 4:50 a.m. – brushed my teeth and hair, changed, prepped my work clothes, and chopped up our morning fruit with a quickness – just call me butter, cuz I’m on a roll!

4:50 a.m. – 5:10 a.m. – I know I should be leaving, but what human tornado entered this place (I’m looking at you, B!)??  Can’t. Stop. Organizing. And. Wiping. Things. Down.

5:10 a.m. – 6 a.m. – Okay, arrived at the gym and ready to get my buff on!  Dangit, someone’s on the cables, time for Plan B.  Okay, first set – one, two, three, four, five, *mind wanders*, dangit, what rep am I on?  Let’s just say eight… (Continue at least 2-3 times with various exercises).

6 a.m. – 6:15 a.m. – Time to run outside!  Hrm, still dark out, better chill a bit so it gets a little lighter and better pack my pepper spray.  Please Sweet Baby Jesus, don’t let there be wandering coyotes/strays or creepers because, as you’re aware, I’m not fast by any stretch of the imagination.

6:15 – 6:20 a.m. – Alright, start of the run – set my iPod to a 45 minute run, let’s do this!  Bones creaking, not yet in my groove, shuffling my feet until I warm up… what do you mean it’s only been 5 minutes, Lady who lives in my iPod??  You’re a b!tch!

6:20 – 6:30 a.m. – Okay, I’ve got my groove now!  Starting to get light out, look at the cool kayakers on the bay!  My shuffle is starting to get into prance-mode**.  Life is good!  Wow, it’s already been 15 minutes, Lady in my iPod?  Time flies!

6:30 a.m. – 6:40 a.m. – Nuts, the cars are starting to come around… hey, share the road, busters!  *Motions with my hands* Go around, go around…

6:40 a.m. – 6:50 a.m. – Ah, my favorite part – the extra segment that cars/bikers/runners usually don’t frequent since most take the short loop.  Savor this because it’s a nice place of solitude.  What a great view of the water, palm trees, and… wtf, is that a skunk?!  Ruuuunnnn!!!***

6:50 a.m. – 7 a.m. – Last leg and you can go home, you got this – let’s put on some happy music like Black Eyed Peas to set the pace right!  Oh crap, a pack of morning runners going the opposite direction of me, finish strong, yo, do-not-walk, do-not-walk!

7 a.m. – Yay, back to my car!  Thanks for congratulating me, Lady in my iPod, you’re my BFF!  Now time to race home and shower… and subsequently have an energy crash around 10 a.m. 😉

*This could also have the reverse effect of me snoozing the alarm and not waking up until 5:15 or so.  In that case, then I usually say “dangit, well I can run a couple of miles at least!  You won this time, technology!”

**Allegedly, I prance instead of run according to gym and runner friends alike.  I’ve come to embrace and accept this.

***Only happened once, but it did happen!

And to be honest – I don’t do this every day!  It’s my favorite routine, but I do more or less time (or only do weights or only run) depending on what time I wake up.

What’s your morning (or workout) routine thought process? 🙂

41 thoughts on “Confessions of a Somewhat-Procastinating Early Bird with a Love-Hate Fitness Relationship

  1. Do you eat before or after? I can’t exercise in the morning because I can’t run on an empty stomach, but I can’t run for at least a couple hours after eating (and no way am I getting up at 5.30am to run).

    • I usually eat 1/4 of a bagel when I’m cutting up fruit, and then a bit more like 15 minutes before my run. I keep a Clif Shot with me ‘just in case’ while I run, but usually save it for long runs since they’re like $1/piece. After I like a protein shake with banana that I drink while I get ready for work.

  2. Oh my~ This is why I admire you so much. I only think about going to the gym on the weekends and I don’t even do that well. When I do go, I only go to the group class since I don’t know what I’m supposed to do or how I’m supposed to work out on my own. Personal trainers a way too expensive for me.

    • That’s awesome about going on weekends – something is better than nothing! I envy those that can do group classes like yourself – I’m okay with spin, but anything else is just too much coordination for me! 🙂

  3. You had me cracking up with this one! I TOTALLY do the “do-not-walk do-not-walk!” alarm in my head whenever I see a pack of runners (usually kids from the XC or track teams at the high schools.. fast and skinny little buggers) coming at me! I don’t run in the mornings, I guess because I’m insane – I usually find myself out running around 3pm, even in the summer. I can deal with any kind of heat way better than I can make myself do anything before having to be in the office at 7:30!

    • Haha, glad you enjoyed – oh man, that’s exactly what I was talking about! They’re all so fast and gazelle-like, and they don’t even look like they’re breathing all that hard! Whoa, 3 p.m. even in the summer?? You have quite the heat tolerance!

      • Makes up for my complete and total lack of cold-tolerance, I reckon! If it’s in the 60s, I get chilly. Below 60 degrees and I need boots, a sweater, and a jacket too!

  4. Hilarious! I was once running on the stand a a group of 0% body fat teenage girls barely wearing anything ran by me so fast that I nearly spun like a tornado. You do not want to hear what evil words I was thinking in my mind. “skinny b*tch” was only one of my tame thoughts. 🙂 I’m so impressed you do ALL of that before I seriously even wake up! I don’t get up till 6:30 or 7, and don’t do any of my runs till 8:30 ish or 9…ah the perks of being a freelancer. And I have a hard time with motivation at THAT time! So impressed! BTW if I smelled a skunk I’d totally be booking it too!

    • LOL right?! And they’re *everywhere* in SoCal, and more so where I live since a college is nearby – grrr. 😉 I like to get most of my workouts started around 6ish even on weekends – it gets so crowded otherwise. I agree, though, that 8:30ish is when I’m most energetic… I just hate having to wait for machines or needing to “Red Rover” past a row of 5 walkers (like really? You all need to walk in a row?! haha).

  5. 4:45am??? Now I know why you sleep at 9:00pm 😛 How long have you been running early in the morning like this and how often a week do you run? Your favorite running spot is gorgeous! My morning thought routine is usually “what should I wear today?” and “how should I do my make-up?” 😛

    • Haha, yup, sadly I’m an old lady with the schedule to prove it! 😉 I started around my mid-20’s, and now just really enjoy waking up while it’s still dark – it’s a nice kind of quiet. I try to get in 3-4 runs, or 20-25 miles/week (same amount of weights sessions). I wish I had your make-up skills – I do the boring routine every day. But oh man, I *love* the lipstick you got me!! Thanks again. xo

  6. Hahahaha! I love the “finish strong – do not walk!” part. I hate that when I’m dying at the end of my loop (especially when I was still learning to run) and I would just want to look good to the other runners to “prove” I belonged as one of them.

    Was the skunk dead on the side of the road, or was he ready to make you stink for the rest of your life?

    • Haha, I totally get that “belonging” feeling – for sure why I do it, too! The skunk was alive – kind of just putzing around and meandering, but there was no way that I was going anywhere near it. My friend’s dog always gets skunked and, while funny since I don’t have to wash him, is so stinky! 🙂

  7. This post rocks! I’ve started waking up at 4:30 am which really means that I fall back to sleep and wake up at 4:50 am. Then, I workout. This is CRAZY. But, I can’t say that I don’t have enough time to work out anymore-I found it. I’m still kind of bitchy in the morning at work. However, now I’m the first person at work so that’s ok. LOL.

    • Woo hoo, another early bird!! I agree, morning workouts work best for me since I just want to go home and do nothing after work (I have more energy, but mentally I’m just not there). Now it’s become pretty ingrained in me, so I don’t even go two days without doing so (unless sick or injured). Great job, Michelle!!

  8. Pingback: Ramblings and Link Love | Budget and the Beach

  9. Too funny! All I can bear to do early in the morning is read blogs and write comments, most of which end up filled with typos. This year I’m trying to work out every day (9 for 9 so far) and that usually happens late afternoon, if I’m running, or late at night if I’m doing a bodyweight workout. I hear that early morning is the best time though, so good on ya!

    • NICE, great job on your 9 for 9, Mr. DbF! Morning workouts usually work best for me, but B likes his in the afternoon – I think so long as someone does something, that’s all that matters! What kind of bodyweight routine do you have? I’m looking to switch up my calisthenics days and want to know what others do. 🙂

  10. This is a riot! You are so funny and cute. I can’ believe you wake up that early. I feel like you get more done than me by 7am than I do…..all day? You are owning the fitness, girl! I’ve been trying to wake up “earlier” at 6:30 instead of :45 or 7 and it’s so hard. But I’m also a night owl and usually go to bed around midnight. Trying to find my most effective time/sleep/work patterns.

    • Haha, aww, thank you, Melanie!! I do love fitness, but I wish I would own the nutrition a lot more. haha That’s a work in progress… oh wow, if I was sleeping at midnight, it would be hard to get up around 6:30, too. Maybe just work up to it over time, and ‘force’ yourself to sleep by 11 or something (and by force I mean relax lol)? Good luck with trying to get to your goal wake time! 🙂

  11. LOL! This is hilarious! My morning routine? Mrow. Mrow. MROW! MaxE stop being naughty! Mrow. Stumble out of bed and get attacked by a 17 pound hungry cat. Feed him. Contemplate that smart people exercise in the morning. Acknowledge big toe seems to hurt, ankles seem wobbly and are unsure where tennis shoes are. Are unsure whether I even have tennis shoes. Sit on couch and surf gossip sites instead. Eat breakfast and ponder putting on real clothes. Decide to work in my PJs. 🙂 In all seriousness, I watch runners with envy. There is something elegant about it but I am not just built to run. But I am very much want to move my body every day this year.

    • Lol about your big toe – I get those moments, as well. 😉 So proud of you for wanting to incorporate more fitness into 2014, Tanya! Hope you’ve been doing well so far, let me know if you need a 5 a.m. wake up call (kidding of course ;)).

  12. Oh my frickin gosh!

    Yes you can eat whatever you want!

    So I get up around 5.30am to walk for about a half hour, then shower, change, eat, snuggle BF then drive to work to start at 7am.

    I have no idea how you wake then (and what time you go to bed to be rested to get up then), but high five to you!!

    Oh and absolutely hilarious reading, thank you!

    • Aw, thanks and nice to see you again, Sarah!! I sleep really early – 9 is usually my target sleep time, though give and take an hour or so. 5:30 walk is so awesome – don’t you love the quiet and stillness in the morning?? 🙂

      • I do love the quiet, I keep thinking I’ll try to push it to 5am, but I did hate my alarm at 5.20am this morning… so we’ll see :p

  13. Holy crap Anna, you’ve had a full day by the time I wake up! I used to work out in the mornings (7-8am), but my apartment gym doesn’t “open” until 8am, so I’ve started working out after work. The trouble with after work is so many things can sabotage your workout: getting together with friends, cooking dinner, transportation issues, or just having to work late. Needless to say, I’ve been probably averaging just 1-2 days of working out during the week.

    • Oh wow, you’re showing your face now – nice to “meet” you, Roger!! I can’t do p.m. workouts for the reasons you listed above – I have a feeling I would opt for friends time more, so it’s just easier to work out in the morning. That’s lame that your gym doesn’t open until 8 a.m. – is it near other residents that it makes that much noise?

  14. I’m with Roger! Good for you! Inspiration to get my #PFworkout on…mine are comparatively pathetic. Side note: the fiance and I saw a coyote prancing down the street the other week. It was super early in the morning, but we live in the city. Freaked. Me. Out.

    • Whoa, that would have freaked me out, too! I frequent a lot of places where the owners don’t have dogs on a leash – I understand the dog wants to be free, but it still freaks me out, especially if they run after me!

  15. Wow.. That is so early! but awesome indeed… I can definitely relate with a lot of the feelings there. The mornings can be the most productive time for me, and it is typically when I get a lot of blogging and other online work done. I should probably stop “working” and go run right now, come to think of it.

    • Ha, thanks for letting me outright copy (well, I suppose I didn’t get your permission first, but thanks nonetheless! :)). Hope your running has been going great!

  16. What a fun read, Anna! 🙂 I started getting up early (well, early to me, I get up at 06:40am) to do my 20-min intensive DVD workout before jumping into the shower and start getting ready for work. I really like morning workouts, much better than after work when I have no energy whatsoever! I’ve also started my 7-day detox, so far so good, I feel much lighter already! 🙂

    • Yay, so awesome about your morning workouts, great job, Eva!! I’d love to hear more about your detox plan – I’ve seen some around, but I haven’t really found one where I wouldn’t bite B’s head off by the end of the day. 🙂

  17. Oh wow that’s pretty damn early. I don’t wake up much later, 5:15 am, but I START work at 6:30 am :(… so morning workouts for me are definitely not an option. I usually work out in the evenings and on weekends.

    My thought process is a little different from most people because I teach group exercise classes, so those classes are my workouts. Sometimes my thoughts are “OMG, I’m dying, but I can’t stop. I have to make it look easy. Smile, smile,SMILE!”

    This post was awesome! I’d probably have the same thoughts if I was on a run. Haha.

    • Oh yikes, 6:30 is early – but you must get out pretty early and with businesses still open? That would be a good side benefit for sure. SO envious that you teach classes – people like you definitely make it look so easy, while I’m huffing and puffing away (well, at least in spin). Glad you enjoyed and thank you kindly for stopping by. 🙂

  18. LOL, this sounds exactly like my FORMER running experiences. 🙂 I walk now, with a peep or two, and we gab the whole time, and it’s awesome and fun, and I have the excuse that since I’m on the other side of 45 now that I need to “take better care of my joints, so walking is better”. 🙂

    • I love walking, as well – I used to do it a bunch at lunch, but my partners have decided they like to eat during that hour instead. 🙂 I can’t run and talk at the same time, though, so I mostly go solo. lol Hope you’re having a great week, Laurie!

  19. Nothing wrong with prancing my friend! You woke up at 4:30am, so you can prance if you want to. I can’t even remember the last time I was up that early (oh yes I can it was a couple days ago because I felt sick-I can’t even imagine waking up that early on purpose ;-)) You go girl!

  20. Holy shit Anna you are up at 4:30am to workout!?!?

    I’m lucky if I’m up at 6am and with a coffee in hand reading my daily BBC News 😀 😛 😛

    But that is awesome! I don’t know if I am a morning workout man: my joints are stiff, I don’t feel warmed up, and I like sitting and reading the news.

    Maybe I’m making too many excuses though 😉

Leave a Reply

