No Debt is Boring

Though in a good way, so before you get your knickers in a bunch, let me explain. 🙂

Hi everyone!  I hope you’re having a great January so far and staying warm to those in colder climates.  I’ve been keeping busy with trying to get my long runs in for my half-marathon with Tonya and, of course, planning my wedding (tangent: does anyone remember the Seinfeld episode with Susan Chang?  I kind of had that moment when I was writing my name with B’s last name on the marriage license application – like what if people see my name and envision a tall German goddess and then I come strolling in with my vertically-challenged Asian self??).

Anyway, I tried to think of something more PF-esque to write about, but now that there’s no debt to take care of – I’m all sorts of boring now!  Well.. not that I was so incredibly exciting before, but I suppose this is what peace of mind and security is about.  Kinda boring, but it’s not a bad thing.  I remember a friend telling me (during my ‘bad decisions era’ when I would constantly date bad boys) that just because a guy might seem boring, doesn’t mean that it’s a bad thing – it just means there’s no drama or stress.  Well, I suppose the same can be said for what I’m feeling now – the fleeting courtship phase where I was all excited about not having debt is gone, and in comes this kind of mellow comfortable phase, I suppose.  It’s boring in the sense that it doesn’t preoccupy my mind or stress me out, which are obviously very good things!

I have also noticed some worry has diminished now that I have a realistic budget set in place backed by last year’s data (B and I’s first full year of co-habitating).  It’s still challenging to balance at times since, admittedly, being frugal and not buying things impulsively still takes some work for me, but at least now I don’t get frustrated when I don’t meet a previously unreasonable budget metric (say, $400 for groceries since realistically ours is at $500 – he’s a big Mungo eater!  Well… and, okay, so am I).  I’m still working on fine-tuning the budget since we’re starting to co-mingle funds, but this year has definitely been easier to manage (though I do realize it’s constantly changing/evolving, especially if we hopefully have little ones).

I do think it will get more exciting once I start looking into maximizing my investments more (right now I only really invest in index and P2P, he invests more).  But for the time being, at least through Quarter 1, I’ve decided to just relax a little in terms of PF stuff (though still keeping in line with a budget!) since wedding stuff and training are taking up a lot of my free time.  I will confess that now that I’m physically making these tail-end payments to wedding vendors and having that fund source whittle away, I do at times get a tinge of remorse at having such a big (well, medium-sized when compared to others) wedding.  However, I do believe that these tinges will be squashed once the day arrives since it’s going to be one heckuva reunion, and it at least keeps me in line with not impulsively buying ‘little’ touches that can add up to a lot.  So I just gotta keep going with that belief (and if there is remorse, I’ll admit it, pinky swear 😉 ).

Have a great rest of the week and let me know how your personal finance progress/goals are starting off for you in 2014!

45 thoughts on “No Debt is Boring

  1. Hi, Anna. I agree that being debt free is kind of boring, but I’ll take that over the alternative. And I’m flipping old, anyway: boring routine is kind of my jam. I hear about people spontaneously hopping around from bar to bar until sunrise, and all I can think of is, man, that sounds exhausting. Give me a vodka tonic and a good book.

    We relaxed on the PF stuff quite a bit running up to our wedding, too. You have a lot on your plate, so crazy focus on just one thing (the wedding) sounds like a good plan.

    • I couldn’t agree more, Mr. DbF – I’m a fan of ‘boring’ routine, as well as boring foods. I can relate, too, about being exhausted even after hearing about some of our younger coworkers’ adventures – I’m a pretty content couch surfer. 🙂 Hope you’re having a great week!

  2. our budget is also $500 a month for groceries since we eat mostly organic and grassfed. that being said, it’s still a struggle most months! But I still like keeping that number because it gives me something to aim for. we’re also pretty much debt free, but I tend to write about personal life as well so that helps when I don’t have anything related to finances to talk about : )

    • We’re the same with organic (though we get more lenient if it has a peel) – do you notice any difference with grassfed? We still buy ‘regular’ meat (though not if the chicken breast is overly sized like in some supermarkets), but I’d ideally like to transition to grassfed at some point… it’s so expensive, though, but I’m curious to know if people perhaps feel different or it tastes different.

      • Me and Mr Bacon also have a $500/mo grocery budget! This includes the once-a-month trip to Costco to load up on protein. I try to do the grass fed and organic…can’t always tell the difference though. :-/

  3. It sounds to me like if you focus mainly on the wedding and keeping it on budget, that will put you in a good place after the Big Day and there will be plenty of time then for future investment strategies, etc.

    • Indeed, for now I figure lay low with investing to get the wedding stuff out of the way, and then once it’s done then really focus on different ways to invest. Thanks so much for stopping by and for commenting! 🙂

  4. You’re not boring. I’ll gobble up whatever you write, so please continue to write this blog!!!
    Don’t feel bad about your wedding size and your budget. As much as I didn’t like the debt we got for our wedding, I loved our wedding~ It’s your wedding day and the big difference with many other people are that you have no debt. Feel free to enjoy this time.

    • Aww, I’m glad you think so because when I was proofing I felt totally bored. 🙂 That’s exactly what I hope to happen when the actual wedding day comes – seeing that ‘pot of money’ go away as we pay vendors is a little discouraging, but I know that once we see all of our loved ones that it will dissipate! I’m hoping to love our wedding as much as you loved yours. 🙂

  5. Our budget is similar but food costs a lot here so that’s for very basic groceries in fact.

    I’m stoked about 2014, just looked at the numbers last night and made a budget!

    Had to laugh at your line about your new name and the potential physical incongruity 🙂

    • Ooh, nice to hear you’re stoked about 2014- I think I get excited when others are excited, so I’ll be interested to see what your numbers look like (well, whatever you choose to divulge, of course). Lol, I told B about that ‘concern’ and he just looked at me like “probably, but get over it.” lol

  6. I can’t wait for boring, lol. It’s not so bad and I think you’re right, it just gets to that point of no drama. When you are so used to drama, it can make you a little uncomfortable at first, like what’s this? Don’t feel bad about your wedding, it’s your deal, your turn and your life girl! You got this! And now that you are a super co-habitating duo, you will make things happen.

    • Yup, exactly!! I was so used to (sadly) having drama in my life, that once I finally started dating ‘good’ guys then it actually took awhile to transition to it. I’m glad I did, though, because life is so much better! Thank you so much for your words of encouragement, Melanie – I don’t feel bad since I know it will be a fun day, I guess I was just having a case of the ‘mine’s’ with all the wedding funds being distributed. lol

  7. Anna don’t be like me when I didn’t pay attention to my wife’s wedding planning We went 15K over budget which really sucked. Thank goodness for investments and we were able to pay off the debt in 11 months.

    • Ooh, yeah, $15 over budget would suck, but that’s awesome you took care of it in 11 months! I think we’re pretty in line with the budget (though it for sure hit the national average), and we’re grateful that my parents contributed, I just don’t like making the final payments to everyone. lol

  8. I like your parallel between bad boys and debt. I suppose I’m the dating equivalent of a well padded IRA. I didn’t have as much luck in college on the dating front. Heck, you could even call me boring, but now that I’m a real adult, being conscientious instead of wild seems to be a turn on for women. I’m quite enjoying it 🙂

    • Haha, yes, being conscientious and “having your sh!t together” is for sure the way to go! I love the well padded IRA comment – whoever you choose to be your partner is one very lucky gal to have someone as financially savvy as you! 🙂

    • Ah, don’t these big expenses just make you want to die a little inside? 🙂 I hope your budget and life gets back to normal soon, and thank you so much for your well wishes. 🙂

  9. I kind of know what you mean about debt but I have my own excitement/stress with trying to earn a higher income as a freelancer. Yeah that keeps me on my toes. I’d take a little PF boring (which probably means steady but now overwhelming work) at this point. 🙂 I’m sure the wedding is doing a nice job of preoccupying your time. Hope it’s all going well. And less than three weeks! OMG!

    • I know, right (about the three weeks)?! I’m so excited to finally meet you, though! Oh wow, that must for sure be stressful with earning a higher income – are you still getting crazy/long hours? I hope even if you are, that you’re getting better sleep, though!

  10. Ahh yes, the “bad boys!” It drove me nuts back in my younger dating days that women often went for the more exciting “bad boys!” Haha. Boring is not necessarily bad…well it can be…but not always. Just like investing: the high-flying stocks and active investing are much more exciting but ultimately I believe that slow and steady wins the game so I love my boring low cost index funds.

    • Lol, sorry Andrew, but at least we learned eventually?! 🙂 That’s a great point about boring versus exciting even in the investing side of things – I hadn’t thought of it that way, so thanks for the insight! I agree about slow and steady, as well. 🙂

  11. I would love to be boring, and see numbers grow rather than a large negative number get closer to zero.

    Personally, I think I’ll sleep for two days straight when my debt is under $10,000, because I find it’s such a high level of base-level stress to me. Even when I try to let it go, it’s still always there. I don’t think I truly understand how much it is doing to my habits, etc, and it’s not even like I’m scrounging to pay my minimums – it’s actually going down!

    • I know what you mean about trying to let (the stress go) – it seems innately there! You are doing so amazing, I can’t wait to read the post where you reach balance zero!! 🙂

  12. LOL! No debt is boring … but the best kind of boring, right? 🙂 It’s amazing how time and energy we spend thinking about debt … and now you can fill that time with your wedding planning! Way more fun! ” like what if people see my name and envision a tall German goddess…” – I laughed. I am the tall German! Goddess – I’d like to think so … maybe on my best days! Glad the wedding planning is going well. It’s a lot of work but it will all be worth it!

    • It’s the best kind of boring indeed, no complaints here! I agree, I guess before I didn’t really realize how much it consumed me (I guess it’s like training for a race, too, and that’s why people get post-race blues since they have all this free time?). OH NO, I hope they don’t imagine you walking in and they get me – I’ll be apologizing constantly about being so misleading! lol

  13. It sounds like you paid off your debt at the perfect time. I would much rather focus on the wedding and training without having to worry about debt in the background. It’s also really nice that you’re focusing on the big picture when it comes to the wedding with getting the family together. I’m sure it will be a blast for everyone and a very memorable occasion!

    • You’re right, EM, it’s definitely greater peace of mind to only have one major task rather than also juggling it with debt goals. I just had my bridal shower this weekend, and I think it for sure got me in the big picture frame of mind – I’m pretty excited! I hope you had a great weekend!

  14. It’s definitely boring until life changes and you’ve got a bunch of new things you’re glad you can spend money on, rather than making someone else rich! But I feel the same way, sometimes I wish I had started blogging when I was deep in debt so I would have more to write about.

  15. Debt isn’t boring. However, investing isn’t boring either. When your investments start to snowball and you start having big days, that kind of excitement is about 1,000,000x better than the debt! Uh oh, I feel a haiku coming on. Brace yourself!!

    Bye bye stupid debt,
    Hello sweet money snowball,
    You are much better.

  16. No Anna.. Giving all of your paychecks to banks to make them richer is boring.. Being able to decide how you spend that money yourself.. That is not boring.. That is freedom. Trust me, I recently finished off a similar journey.

    Also..
    It’s still possible to find things to write about. See Debt Run is still going strong 11 months after we finished paying off debt.

    • Agreed, Jefferson, it was more tongue-in-cheek. I do find myself getting writer’s block, though, but maybe because I’m just burnt out from planning! I’ll look to SDR for some inspiration. 🙂

  17. Ah….yes. The drama of bad boy boyfriends and debt … both so alluring at one time. LOL! I’m glad you’re in the boring phase of your life, my friend. Living debt-free and getting married to a great guy … who knew boring could be so amazing? 🙂 I love that you are short and your husband is tall. Whenever I see a cute guy, I’m always thinking too tall, too short or just right. I don’t want him too short. I am the short one. I need someone who can reach the second shelf in the kitchen cabinet without a step stool or crawling on top of the counter! Have a great weekend!

    • LOL and the third shelf!! That shelf never got any use out of my old place, and now it’s filled – the perks of being with someone taller than 5’2. 🙂 I’m glad you got out of your bad boy phase, as well – they can be fun, but not worth the trouble!

  18. Haha, I love that Seinfeld episode! My wife is actually going through the process of changing her name now so she may be put in similar situations as Donna Chang/Changstein soon enough. Btw, congrats on being debt free!!!

    • Oh, it’s Donna, not Susan?? Haha, I manage to even mess the first name up. I’d love to hear anecdotes about your wife experiencing that! And thank you. 🙂

  19. I am looking forward to the boring day where I have no debt 🙂

    Um, goals — what are those again? A death in the family threw goals out the window and I am failing so hard for January. But I have 11 more months to make up for it and people trump goals!

    • Aww, Erin, I’ve been thinking a lot about you and your hubby – I hope both of you are doing okay. And yes, one month is a mere drop in the bucket not only for this year, but for the rest of your lives! I pray positive thoughts for you two (and family).

  20. LOL, funny about that Seinfeld episode – love that one!! Don’t worry about your boring life of being debt free; your wedding stuff and married life/reaching financial freedom stuff/running stuff will give you plenty to keep us all interested, and keep you interested too. 🙂

    • Aww, thanks Laurie! I hope that stuff is interesting since I feel like I’m saying the same stuff all the time. I hope you had a wonderful weekend, my friend. xo

  21. I’m with Laurie—you’ll find so many other things to write about besides debt! Also—I thought of you and tried to get a free veil the other day when I was dress shopping. Shut. Down. haha

    • Lol d’oh! Well, at least you asked, and I think that’s awesome! I actually ended up buying mine on Ebay – veils are ridiculous expensive at stores, even at 50% off!

Leave a Reply

