Wedding/ Honeymoon – Bridal Shower and Getting Into the Details

Hi everyone – lots went down the last couple of weeks with wedding stuff, so let’s cut to the chase and get on with the updates!

My lovely ladies

Some of my lovely friends

1) I had my bridal shower!  My mom and bridesmaids did an amazing job, and it was the perfect amount to really catch up with my friends and family.  It was Parisian-themed so there were macarons galore (oh man, such a fan now!), and all the games were super fun.  At the end, my sis-in-law had a video of B where he was asked a few questions and I was asked to guess his answers.  For the most part we were on the same wavelength since I knew what his childhood nickname was and how many kids we’d like, but he’s so practical and literal that when I answered “buy a house!” to “what’s the first thing you would do if you won the lottery,” he answered with “go out to dinner.” lol

IMG_20140119_171859_062

My mom was completely hilarious and all my friends loved her, not only because she has a cute personality all-around, but when it came to the gifts, she gave me the two-sided eye mask in the picture, a really elegant night wear outfit, and a really racy one that 1) should really come with instructions and 2) I’d probably need to stretch and warm up before trying it on.  I get it mom, you want grandkids stat. lol  Love her! 🙂

2) Air BnB is pretty darn amazing for our honeymoon lodging!  I started trolling around Air BnB and found a really cool place in one city with great views and lots of positive reviews (plus two adorable kitties).  Not only that, but once I booked, the owner already gave me information on reciprocity fees and the best/ least expensive way to get to her digs.  I’m super impressed and can’t wait to meet her and check out the living situation!

After this stop, we’re going to another section where it’s kind of a package deal (hotel/tours), and after that we’re going to our final destination.  The hotel prices are reasonable, but we checked out Air BnB again and found a sweet looking trendy studio that pretty much looks like a hotel but at a lesser price, and with the convenience of having a kitchen (since we don’t like to eat out all the time), a gym, rooftop pool, washer/dryer (coin-operated), and in a cool area with easy transport access.

3) Must-have shots list.  We’re meeting with the photographer at the end of the month, and after reading Kali’s post about her photographer, I’d like to work on the ‘must have’ list our photog recommended to ensure we have lots of shots of our loved ones.  If anyone has any recommendations (or horror stories), I’d love to hear any ideas I might not have thought of!

4) Seating arrangements is 90% done – it was actually pretty fun since it was like playing a game of who knew whom, and people I’d like to get to know for either networking or romantic purposes (I only have a 50% success rate with the latter, but hey, when you know two people who are so amazing, you just want them to meet!).  We’re going to hand out our lists to our parents so they can figure out their guests’ arrangements, and it will be complete.

5) Church readings and meeting with the wedding coordinator.  We’ve selected most of our church readings (I know the “Love is kind…” is pretty overplayed, but it’s the best one from the selections, and I still have to choose one from the Old Testament – any suggestions?), and we’re meeting with the cantor/organist this weekend to discuss the music.  The church also has a wedding coordinator (didn’t know until last week), who we have to schedule with to discuss the ceremony walk-through, give us ideas on announcements, etc.

6) Final fitting done!  I loved the cinching at the hips since it gave me a bit more form, and I didn’t know beforehand but it’s a good idea to have a bridesmaid (or someone) with you at the final fitting so she/he can learn how to bustle the train afterward.  Mine has a 7-point bustle, and while it seems easy enough, she did a great job with making it really seamless so I just hope they can find it the day of (looking underneath the lace helps, though).  I also ended up buying my veil on Ebay since, even at 50% off, the veils at the store were pretty ridiculous.  It’s not the greatest quality, but I’m only wearing it for an hour or so, so it didn’t seem worth it to spend a lot.

7) Reception walk-through tomorrow – I’m meeting with the venue director, catering lead, and my coordinator tomorrow to do a run-through of where things will go, so I’ll update in the next round!

dessertsAlright friends, I’ll part with a pic of the yummy desserts from the shower – I hope you have a wonderful week and let me know what’s going on in your corner of the world. 🙂

52 thoughts on “Wedding/ Honeymoon – Bridal Shower and Getting Into the Details

  1. Yay for Airbnb!

    I chose my photographer because I loved her style and wanted her to just do her usual thang at our wedding. Unposed, people focused, natural. I was really stoked with the results. We did a rough shot list but having such a small wedding meant it was pretty easy. I did kinda want to do a shot with all the guests as well, but they scattered a bit and I was so tired of smiling by the time we did the family photos I gave up on that one.

    • I know, you were one of the motivators for Air BnB, so thank you! I’m hoping for a group shot, as well, since I thought that might be cute as part of the thank you card – I hope it works out! We’re on the same wavelengths when it comes to the pics – I’d rather have action shots than poses, though I do want some family portraits!

  2. I’m so glad you had a great bridal shower! I love your mom’s gift to you, too funny! And thanks for sharing a little about your Air BnB experience.. I really want to use the service to find at least a few nights’ worth of accommodation when we go on our trip this spring, but I’m still a little nervous about it. Mostly that we’ll come across as rude if we don’t want to spend lots of time visiting with our host or something – I don’t know anything about Air BnB etiquette!

    Good luck meeting with your photog – and feel free to show them my story and say “you better not let this happen.. or else.” 😉

    • Hrm, I would think people would understand if you don’t hang too much since you’re there to explore, but I’ll be sure to give more insight about my experience with it! Also, the first place we are renting a room, but the second place we have the studio all to ourselves (I think the guy has a company that has these studios everywhere for short-term rental). I would really read the reviews, as well, and the ratings – I think if the place has a lot of positive reviews, then you can’t go wrong. But again, I haven’t actually been to it, so I’ll give the scoop once we go! 🙂

  3. That two sided mask is hilarious. I love that it came from your mom. Awesome.

    It sounds like you found some gems on AirB&B. You’ll have a great trip — would love to hear more about the places you’re visiting, too!

  4. Those treats look amazing. I’m glad you had so much fun at your bridal shower! The question and answer thing was a cute idea. I would have never guessed going out to finger dinner as an answer haha My coworker was just talking about how ridiculous veil prices are. It sounds like Air BnB is really worth looking into. The amenities on the second property sound nice.

    • The treats were so delicious – I had to restrain myself from eating more than a couple! I don’t really understand why veils are so expensive (I guess people are working with delicate material, but they can run upwards to $200 which is crazy!). I’ll definitely do a full report on Air BnB, so far it seems pretty cool and way more affordable than conventional lodging.

  5. Your Mom is a hoot! That’s something my Mom would do too… do something somewhat inappropriate because it came from her, otherwise it’s just a good laugh.

    Good luck with all the organizing. Honestly, that’s the biggest reason I don’t want to get married, even though we’ve been engaged for three years – I just can’t imagine all the planning!

    • Haha, don’t you love moms like that?? It’s probably where I get my weirdness from, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. Planning does get time-consuming, but I have a feeling it will all be worth it! Do you two have a target date, or not really in a rush? If you ever need planning help, let me know. 🙂

  6. I love your Mom! So adorable! The dessert table looked delicious and I love how brightly colored macaroons are. Yes, you definitely want lots and lots of pictures with family. My father passed away 9 years ago so I really treasure all the pictures from my wedding (well, any pictures I have of him!). While you definitely want lots of nice staged/planned photos … I find the candid shots mean more to me today. Those little moments they catch are priceless.

    • Haha, I know, she’s so funny!! The macarons were *so* delicious, especially the Nutella one! I’m so sorry to hear about your dad – I bet that the pictures are very treasured since they’re irreplaceable. I’m definitely making it a point to take lots of pictures with loved ones!

  7. Dang girl you are so organized! If I ever get married I’m totally hiring you as my wedding planer. I might be 90 when that happens BTW! 🙂 All this AND training for a 1/2! BTW, I scored some sleeping pills from my doc today. Yeah-ya! 🙂

    • Aww, girl, you gotta think positive!! 🙂 But yes, I will for sure help you when your big day comes, and if it’s in SD I will overload you with tons of spreadsheets! haha Nice on the sleeping pills – have they been effective? I hope so!

    • Haha, I know, my mom is cray-cray (in a good way). I’ll for sure write a breakdown of Air BnB – there were a ton of positive reviews for both places, so I’m optimistic!

  8. Yay for your wedding coming along. I also really want to know how your honeymoon experience went using Air BnB. I’m dying for a Caribbean getaway next fall but I want to keep it cheaper than the all-inclusive route I took previously. Keep us posted!

    • Ooh, the Caribbean would be amazing!!! All-inclusive is fun (I went to one in Mexico for my bro’s wedding), but I agree it can be really pricey, especially if you’re not big drinkers. I’ll give a full report after we go! 🙂

  9. Wow, your mom really does want grandbabies doesn’t she? I love it! When I read “must have shots list” I literally was thinking shots, like flu-shot. I think the never ending flu/sickness in our household is going to my head 😉 Ps those macaroons look delicious!

    • The macarons were amazing good, especially the Nutella one! Oh man, I wonder if we do need shots… I don’t think so, but it’s worth a check. I hope you’re feeling better, my dear!! Flu season seemed to kick a lot of people’s booties this year! 😦

  10. re: 5) I went to the wedding of a friend (& the parish administrator) and she chose Sirach 261-4, 13-18. It let the priest (ie her boss) have great fun about being a ‘silent wife’ (cause she is NOT silent). I could email you the order of service from this wedding – this is the second time I’ve recommended this reading!

    I’m oh so tempted to opt out of a photographer in my wedding – only cause neither of us like photos with us in them! So maybe one or two of us, but otherwise of ‘things’ and other people. What am I saying, I’m not even engaged :p

    • So cool, thank you so much – I’ll look into that reading!! Oh wow, you don’t like photos? I treasure them! But my friend just had another friend with a really great camera take pics rather than hire a photographer – it ended up being great in their case, so maybe it will work for you! Haha, no worries, I was already planning stuff before we were officially engaged, so you’re in good company. 😉

    • Thanks so much for the link, Lisa – the book they gave us was similar (so you can write down the verses and they select music for you). So funny, I chose that verse – great minds think alike. 😉

  11. You’re Mom is a hoot! My Mom probably would have given me an iron or something similar. My parents are big on practical gifts. Of course, now that I think about it, if Mama wants to be a Grandma ASAP, those are pretty practical gifts! LOL! I’m embarrassed to admit this but I have never had a macaroon before. I see recipes for them all the time but I’ve never made or tasted them. I need to try them sometime! They are always so pretty but seem fussy to make.

    • OMG you *must* try macarons soon – they are so delicious! My auntie gave me a macaron kit – I haven’t tried it yet, though, but will most likely once this wedding stuff is through. I hope you had a great weekend, Tanya! Going to see if I can try one of your recipes for the Super Bowl party this weekend. 🙂

    • Haha, thanks Laura – she’s so funny indeed! Oh cool, I’m glad to hear that someone’s had a positive AirBnB experience! I’m looking forward to it. 🙂

  12. Everything is coming along so nicely, Anna!! SO excited for you guys. For the OT verse, what about something out of Song of Songs, like 8:7 “Many waters cannot quench love, nor can the floods drown it.”. Some of the book gets a little TMI, but there are wonderful verses throughout about love. 🙂

    • Lol about TMI verses – hrm, we met with the music director this weekend and initially chose a Genesis verse, but I’ll have to check out your suggestion to see if I like it better. Thanks so much for the suggestion, Laurie! 🙂

  13. Your dress is super cute! I love Airbnb too, although in my experience of big cities, an early bird deal is often better with a chain hotel. Last minute, Airbnb almost always wins.

    • Thanks so much, Pauline! Hopefully we’ll have a good experience with Airbnb (especially since once place had an average hotel rate of $200/night, so we opted for a room to rent instead :)).

Leave a Reply

