Wedding Stuff and the Half-Marathon Awaits!

Hi everyone!  First off, thank you so much for all your thoughts on my last post – it seriously helped me reconsider some situations that could have ended up really sticky, so thank you!  As An Exacting Life mentioned, at least when people do ask, I can do so with enthusiasm, so there’s that ray of hope!

Anyway, I have the half-marathon this Sunday with the lovely Tonya (so the highlight of the weekend!).  My training has been meh overall, but I think I’ll at least be able to complete it, and I’m glad I had this training since it seemed to give me more life balance and helped with my efficiency with the projects on my plate (my Spanish and reading goals for 2014 are another story, though, but it’s only January, right?).  Speaking of stuff on my plate, here’s more wedding updates!

1) Venue/ catering/ coordinator walk-through completed.  B and I met with the venue director, catering lead, and day-of coordinator to set the plan for where the bar, tables, and stations will go.  It was pretty easy since the catering has been at that venue before, so they were able to offer suggestions that made the area flow and become cohesive.

IMG_20140127_170050_5382) Card box selected!  My friends that went to the bridal shower know I’m cuckoo for Cocoa Puffs Etsy so they hooked me up with this rotating wedding card box from one of the vendors.  We’ll replace our travel pics  (we didn’t do engagement pics) with wedding pictures and have as decoration for our place (with our wedding cards inside).

3) Ceremony verses/music selected!  We decided on having a full Mass, and we made our verses and music selections (Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring for bridesmaids, Canon in D for when I walk down with my parents).  Since I selected the procession music, I asked B to choose the one after – he selected Hornpipe which wasn’t my first selection since it’s a little fast-paced and I’ll be wearing heels (plus he’s a fast walker to begin with), but I’ll just cling on to him for dear life when we leave. 🙂

4) Airport transportation – I don’t know if I ever mentioned this, but we were able to reduce our airfare by over $2k by flying out of TJ (flying out of SD internationally is always crazy expensive, and it was still $1k cheaper than flying out of LAX).  There’s shuttles that offer pick-up services, but I think one of our guests will drive us to and fro as our wedding gift – hope this works out, but if it doesn’t, I’m pretty sure it was still the most cost effective route.

5) Bridal shower thank-you’s – since I type more often than not, my handwriting has become atrocious!  I’ll have to see if I can buy the wedding thank you’s prior to our honeymoon if my 2-3 cards a day is any indication.

6) Lots of get-togethers – there’s a lot of events going on than just the wedding, what with our parents/siblings meeting that week, the rehearsal/rehearsal dinner the night prior, and then a brunch the day after (my dad’s idea, he’s so sociable).  It’s taken some time coordinating all those things and sending out the Evite with the rehearsal dinner, but thankfully they’re well on their way.

7) Ceremony programs and reception menus – initially I wasn’t going to give hand outs at the church, but thought it might be useful to know our ties to the ceremony participants, and for directions to the reception.  We might also do menus at the reception, which I didn’t initially want, but I’d like guests to know what each station is, that there’s a “Quiet Room” in case they have infants that need a mellow space, and to send phone pictures to us so we can feel part of their table.  We figured we’d only need 3 or so per table, though, rather than each person.

Alright, friends, I hope you have a great weekend, and since B is a die-hard Seahawks fan – Go Hawks! 🙂

33 thoughts on “Wedding Stuff and the Half-Marathon Awaits!

  1. Have so much fun this weekend! I’m so excited for you two. The wedding card box is adorable. I love Canon in D; when I first got a keyboard I learned how to play the basic melody. It’s such a pretty song. $2k is a lot to save on airfare! It really pays to look around at other nearby airports just in case.

    • Thanks EM!! Canon in D makes me so emotional – happy and teary all at the same time (though that’s not really hard to do for me since I’m such a sap haha). It’s for sure a convenience to live so close to another country, so we’re pretty excited we got a better deal that way!

  2. Everything’s coming along. I like your card box. I made a real flimsy one myself at the last minute for my wedding. It’s really embarrassing, but I didn’t want to spend the money so late. I didn’t do an engagement photos either. It would’ve been nice, but wasn’t a must due to our budget.
    And how awesome is it to save 2k for your flight. You can either save it or have more options during your honeymoon. It’s good to have more options, whether you take advantage of it or not.
    I think a brunch after the wedding day is a great idea. Good to say thank you and good bye to close friends and family that were part of your wedding. I should’ve thought of that for mine, but didn’t. Things are getting real. Enjoy every moment of it.

    • Thanks Michelle! We had engagement pics thrown in, but I asked for a discount instead of the pics and the photog agreed. We figure we have so many pics of us already, that we’re good. 🙂 Ooh, really, okay, that’s good to know about the brunch! I mostly want to see my friends and family, but it will be good to hang with my parents’ friends (who it’s primarily for) since they’re so incredibly nice. I know, the countdown begins, but I’m excited!! 🙂

  3. Have fun at the marathon! I don’t know how you two do it, I would be walking 🙂

    I love your card box as well! I still need to find one. I think my friend used a bird cage and I may just borrow hers.

    • I love the bird cage look!! We’re in a high traffic area, though, so we wanted something more secure (it has a lock, so we hope it’s a deterrent to any prospective thieves).

    • Thank you, Mrs. PoP!! If memory serves correctly, aren’t you running a full? We’ll be thinking of you (yes Tonya, I speak on our behalf now lol). BTW, I initially wrote “I saved 2k on airfare” and remembered your “saving” post, so I changed that phrase. 😉

  4. Pingback: The Big Picture | Budget and the Beach

  5. Wishing you and Tonya lots of fun. I’m impressed. I couldn’t do it, but maybe someday. Congrats on getting cheaper flights and getting stuff together for the wedding. It’s funny, I know there is tons of work in Seattle this weekend, but I can’t take any of it because my mom is coming to visit. Saving my hustles for later!

  6. t’s all coming together. Great tip on flying out of TJ: I am going to start looking into that as an option. I mean, it’s reasonable to drive 5 hours both ways from Phoenix, take a shuttle to TJ, and then do across the globe flights, to save a few dollars, right? 🙂

    I’ll be rooting for the Hawks this weekend but I think we’re going to need some help from the big guy upstairs. Let’s hope Russell Wilson is saying his Hail Mary’s.

  7. I must be totally losing it because I thought I commented on this post! lol! Oh man. If we meet and I appear to be out of my mind, you’ll know it’s just the lack of quality sleep I’ve been getting. I sure hope I sleep like a baby once this is all over with! 🙂 I love the card box, and I know a lot of people, even from LA that have flown out of TJ. You know I’ve never even been there! Crazy! See you tomorrow!

    • Haha, girl, I hope you got some much needed sleep last night! Thanks for being an awesome roomie… I’m itching for another half, are you?? 🙂 But I want another cool medal and shirt! lol

  8. OMG, I love the card box! I made my own (I DIY’d as much as humanely possible) but I just love the idea that you can use it after the wedding too and a great use for wedding photos. Everything seems to be coming along nicely 🙂

    • Thank you!! We liked it, too, and thought it would be a cool display of some pics since we’re not having a slide show or anything. Thanks so much for your well wishes! 🙂

  9. Good luck to you and Tonya this weekend!! You’ll both do great! It looks like your wedding is coming together nicely. I love Canon in D, so beautiful! You do look tiny next to B so you’d better hold on when you race down the aisle with him. 🙂 My husband and I are the same height so no issues there for us. I love the rotating card box, such as great idea! Can’t wait to hear the details about your half-marathon.

    • Haha, I’m jealous you and your hubby are the same height so you have the same stride – three of my steps are like one of his. 🙂 Thanks for the nice compliments and well wishes, the half was so much fun! I’ll post super soon!

  10. Pretty cool that you were able to save that much just by flying out of TJ. I think when I went to Baja California region in Mexico, we flew to San Diego and drove down to Ensenada/TJ, etc because the domestic flight was cheaper. I also agree that Canon in D is a lovely…I used the play the piano as a child…I wish I practiced more though. When I tried to pick it back up, I tried teaching myself Canon in D. Not having much success but I got the beginning parts okay. Good to hear the wedding stuff is going well…it’s such a hectic time, but also very exciting.

    • Wow, that’s awesome you play Canon in D! It’s such a beautiful song, I wish I knew how to play it! Yeah, flights from Mexico are pretty reasonable, though that must have been quite the trek coming from NYC! I would have been so tired from all the flying!

    • You don’t eve know how much I was LMAO at this comment!! 😀 It was from one of our travels, I don’t think he would have been allowed on the airplane, even if we disguised him with a mustache. 😉

Leave a Reply

