Half-Marathon Completed, 2014 Goals, and Holy Canoli, Seahawks!

IMG_20140202_143251_963Happy Monday, everyone!  I hope you had a great Super Bowl weekend to those that watched.  Mine was awesome since I not only ran a half-marathon in beautiful conditions and a great course (thank you, Sweet Baby Jesus, for keeping the rain away throughout the race… we could’ve done without the headwinds, but thank you regardless!), but I also got a chance to meet Tonya!  Despite lacking some serious sleep for the past few days, she’s as sweet, nice, and funny as she is on her blog.  She’s also a really cool and considerate roomie (gotta love the dynamics of “I’ll pay for this,” “No, *I’ll* pay for this), and we had a pretty good set-up for race day because Parking Karma was on our side.  The course is beautiful, scenic for the most part, and pretty flat, so I highly recommend it.   Plus, we got the cool surfboard medal, which is as stylish as they come in my opinion.

Afterward, I raced back home so B and I could go to his friend’s Super Bowl party.  Since everyone there was a Seahawks fan, the house was totally crazy throughout the game!  Both offense and defense played incredibly, and I thought the win was well-deserved.  Another bonus of running a half the same day is that I was able to get my glutton on guilt-free with the great spread they had – 7-layer dip with lettuce on top that had a sour cream design of a football field?  I’ll take a couple of yards, please!  Chocolate-covered strawberries in the shape of footballs?  Don’t mind if I do!  Angry Orchard apple cider (since Washington is known for its apples)?  Once it hits your lips, it’s *so* good!  Two points if you get the last reference, by the way. 🙂

Other than that, there’s been a couple interesting financial scenarios that occurred these past couple weeks that made me realize that B and I are not aligning (yet!).  They’re not bad or anything, but it made me realize that our past habits or strains of thought do not equate to a ‘we’ thinking as I still think of things as ‘me’ while he still thinks of things as ‘he.’  I’ll post about it once I gather my thoughts (and stop eating everything this side of the Mississippi).  Also, here’s a quick rundown of how I’m doing so far with my 2014 goals:

1) Stay debt-free.  Pass!  Anything wedding-wise has been budgeted, and while my parents have requested some things that would increase our budget, I’ve managed to reason them out of it or just appeased them.

2) Have a ‘savings’ rate of 40-45%.  FAIL!  My savings rate was 32% rounded, which is at least higher than my 25% average last year (though I did have three paychecks this month).  A large part of this was the above and my car needing some repairs (I had funds for this, but since I took out of ‘savings’ this was a negative saving).  February might end up being the same thing, though I’m thinking by March or April that I’ll be able to accomplish this.

3) Read 24 books.  3 so far.  I read “The Reason I Jump” (interesting though not what I expected), “Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls” (disliked, he seems a lot more negative, and not in a clever way), and “The Fault In Our Stars” (um, yeah, I didn’t realize this was a young adult novel until I started reading the dialogue.  It made me cry, though).

4) Continue with Spanish.  Fail.  I did about 1-2 hours a week, when I should be doing it a day… I get really lazy after work and weekends have been a little cray.

5) Learn one new Filipino dish, and one new German dish, each month alternating-  Fail.  See excuse for #4.

It looks like everyone’s had a great January so far, but if you didn’t do a recap let me know how you did (or heck, if you did, tell me again or what you plan to do in February!).

48 thoughts on “Half-Marathon Completed, 2014 Goals, and Holy Canoli, Seahawks!

  1. Sweet race bling! I love the medals I’ve gotten from my races. And what better way to celebrate than gorging on Super Bowl party food?!

    I’ve been thinking about reading The Fault in the Stars. I could use a good teen cry-fest 😉

    • Thanks Alicia – I know, the food was the best part, once my stomach settled down. Lol, then you might like The Fault In Our Stars – I agree sappy reads like those are good once in awhile. 😉 Let me know how you like it!

  2. You are a rock star~ Running a half marathon seems like such a huge accomplishment and seems nearly impossible to me. I met up with a friend this past Saturday and we were talking about doing a 5k walk/jog. I’m planning to actually practice beforehand so I won’t suffer the day of and just to get in the habit of walking/jogging.
    Learning another language is such a hard thing. I think English scared the crap out of me, so I don’t even try a third language. But I do want to be able to at least ask for a bathroom or order food at a restaurant in a third language. I haven’t decided what language yet.

    • Thanks, Michelle! The 5k is a great goal – I like the run/walk method, too, it doesn’t hurt my joints as much afterward. I’m impressed you already know two languages, a third one would be amazing!! Let me know if you ever decide to pick up Spanish so we can be like the blind leading the blind when writing to each other. 😉

      • Don’t you already speak 2 languages as well? Spanish is a useful language since so many people in the US speak it, but French sounds cool and since I took it in high school it might come back? I’m also interested in German for some reason even though people say it sounds too harsh, I like it.
        I’ll let you know if I decide on Spanish by writing you very very short email in Spanish. haha~

  3. Awe thanks Anna! I hope my insomnia wasn’t too contagious and you slept well last night. I took some Fambien and although I slept OK, it still makes me groggy. Grrr! It was so nice to meet you and hang out with you too! Thanks for hanging in with me as long as you did! And of course thank sweet baby Jesus. lol! Glad you had a nice time at the super bowl party and boy did the Seahawks win. Geesh! The Fault in our Stars is a movie coming out too and the friggen trailer made me cry! It looks so sad! Hope the rest of the wedding planning comes together nicely!

    • So fun to meet you, too, Tonya!! It wasn’t contagious, I think I just had an abundance of sleep the previous days before (um… sorry to rub it in). Hopefully you’ve been sleeping normally now? Ooh, I should check out the trailer, thanks for the tip!!

  4. Awesome job on completing a half marathon! I’ve always wanted to run one but I lack motivation I guess, although I looove working out! I would’ve liked to meet another PF blogger in real life too, this must be great! 🙂 If you ever decide to try Russian food, I will be more than happy to share a yummy recipe with you, just let me know! 😉 Good luck in February!

  5. Ha! Old School Reference. Ann the Tank! Ann the Tank!

    Congratulations on the half marathon, getting to meet Tonya, and the Seahawks win. That’s a great weekend no matter how you slice it. Life gets in the way of savings rate goals, and you have many many months to make up for it. I’m positive you’ll get there.

    • Hahaha, winner winner, chicken dinner!! 😀 “We’re going streaking!!” Yeah, the weekend was pretty great, and B can’t stop watching any news coverage of the Seahawks! 🙂 Thank you for your well wishes on the savings rate, you and the Mrs. are definitely a high motivation!!

  6. Congratulations on the race!! You and Tonya are my motivation to get back into the miles 😀 Glad you enjoyed the Super Bowl, too! And as Alicia said, what an awesome way to celebrate your race with a bunch of party food. I didn’t really have a team in the game so to avoid being a bandwagoner, I was cheering the Seahawks and was happy they won. They have a CRAZY defense, obviously!

    • Aww, thanks so much, Kali! I can’t wait to read about what race you decide to enter – I love the whole process of it! And boy did you just score extra points by cheering for the Seahawks. 😉

  7. Congrats on the race!

    I just finished The Fault In Our Stars, too – and I liked it. Did you know there’s a movie and they just released the trailer last week? The movie will come out this summer… not gonna lie, I thought Gus was gonna be hotter.

    • Thanks so much, Mrs. PoP! I didn’t know about the movie until recently – LOL I imagined Gus as pretty hot, too (in like the shaggy sort of way). I’ll have to watch the trailer soon. What’s on your reads list lately? It seems like we have similar tastes. 🙂

  8. Congrats on completing a half marathon! Tonya is awesome, huh? It was great to meet her in Portland last year. It must’ve been fun to be at a party rooting for SEA. They killed it (even though I didn’t watch, I saw the score). I have the same financial issues with R….we are not totally aligned, but we’re getting there. But we also don’t combine finances, but sometimes I think it’d be easier. So many things to consider and it’s not easy!

    • Thanks so much, Melanie! Tonya is indeed awesome, I hope to meet you one day, too! Yeah, we’re in the transition of combining, and it’s a lot more challenging than I thought (well not the logistics of it, but some of our mindsets, I guess). Hey, if it’s easier and it’s not broke, why fix it, eh?

  9. That is a nice medal, congrats!! R uses running as an excuse to eat extra, too, it’s kind of amusing. The other day we were at my grandma’s and he had two slices of ice cream cake and two cups of coffee. I looked at him and he said, “well, I did go running today!” Angry Orchard is yummy. I didn’t make goals for January, but I am posting about goals tomorrow.

  10. Love Will Ferrell movies, but Old School was absolutely one of my favorites. We watched the super bowl mostly for the commercials (loved the beer commercial with the puppy and the Budweiser horse). Man did Denver get trounced. Congrats on the race!

    • Haha, totally, Old School had so many great actors (I watched it recently and just noticed the guy who plays Wolowitz on Big Bang Theory was on it, too!). I loved the Budweiser horse/puppy commercial, it was so cute (the pets and the man haha).

    • Thanks so much, Kelly!! Haha, I won some battles, but not all… still, if it makes them happy and it wasn’t completely unreasonable, it’s worth it. You must still be in the after glow of your wedding, I can’t wait to reach your side soon! Hope the transition/move has been going well for you! 🙂

  11. Congrats on the race. The surfboard medal is so fun! Love it! 🙂 I’m not a big football fan so I actually spent most of the day cleaning out my old office that I’m subleasing. Not very glamorous but needed to be done. 🙂 I wish I spoke Spanish. I took German in HIgh School (yes, it was a long time ago!) which isn’t real helpful these days! LOL! It’s great that you and B are working through how to handle your finances together. One of the best things you can do for your marriage is to get on the same page with how you use your money. I know I’m always goals, goals, goals but deciding together how you want to use your money and give it purpose – really, really helps make managing your money together so much easier.

    • Wow, sounds like a way more productive Super Bowl Sunday than mine. 🙂 Haha, I took French in high school, and it’s about as useful as German in these parts. 😉 Indeed, we have the same goals and purposes for our money, I guess there were just priority/timing issues (which were really non-issues). For the most part, we think alike, so I say we’re off to a good start. 🙂

  12. Oh my gosh – I’m so excited for you and Tonya that you not only got to hang out together, but you finished an amazing race as well – super, super cool!!!! Yeah, the Seahawks definitely earned their prize, didn’t they! I’m with ya too on the glutton of that day – gotta love it. Now, back to eating like non-gluttons. 🙂

    • Thanks Laurie – it was so much fun! Haha, I know, I’ve been eating a little cleaner these days, though it’s hard to resist cookies now that it’s Girl Scout cookie season! All in moderation, though. 😉

  13. Woooo! Congrats on the half marathon. That is such a cool medal. I was trying to figure out what it was until you mentioned that it was a surfboard.

    I accidentally read the fault in our stars as well. It wasn’t what I expected, but I was glad for a change of pace.

    • Thanks CR! Oops, I don’t take the best pictures, so I’m glad I described it. 🙂 Haha, yeah, it wasn’t what I expected to (and it irked me a little that all of her responses were always “I guess?” at the end), but of course my emotional self cried. 🙂

  14. Sounds like a great weekend…got to meet a fellow blogger, ran a half marathon and your Seahawks won. 32% savings rate is still pretty good…I need to do the math and figure out how I’m doing. As for learning Spanish, sometimes I would just listen to the Spanish radio station and hope it helps me pick up some words. But often times they speak too fast and I tune out. I do kinda like some of the music though =)

    • Thanks Andrew! I totally know what you mean about listening to Spanish radio stations – I kind of do the same, though also have Spanish songs on my iPod (LOVE Julieta Venegas). I’m the same way with Spanish shows speaking too fast – I can never understand Spanish soap operas, though I can somewhat understand Spanish court room shows since they talk slower and more basic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

