I’m Ready to “Give Birth” to This Wedding!

Hello everyone – I hope you had a wonderful weekend!  My cousin had his wedding this past Saturday and it was a blast – both of them are really outgoing and hilarious, so there was a lot of dancing, festivities, and general hamming up all around.  B and I are pretty shy so ours will be a lot more mellow, but I’m definitely ready for ours to happen and I just hope that things will go as well as they can be.  I figure we have the priest, the food, and the booze, so everything else is just icing on the cake, yes? 😉

1) Timelines for the vendors and bridal party – Michelle hooked me up with her wedding timeline/ vendors/ bridal party instructions, so I’m modeling mine after that.  The ‘duties’ are pretty light, but I’d at least like my bridesmaids to remind me to eat at regular intervals to avoid the Anna-Monster from being unleashed.

Menu2) I am semi-DIY’ing the ceremony programs and menus.  I tried to find a free template for our ceremony programs and menus since we didn’t want to spend a lot of money, but I found the process really overwhelming and time consuming.  Instead, I chose this design from an Etsy vendor, who was affordable, extremely responsive, and helpful, so I highly recommend her!  She made our ceremony programs in Regency (purple), and our menus, place cards (I got lazy and thought this would pull on our color themes better), and table numbers in Apple (red) since we’ll have purple table cloths.  My friend who made my invitations gifted card stock for us that matched our invites, so we’re very thankful for that.

3) My SD girls surprised me with a mini-bachelorette party!  It was a hilarious sight, as we went to one of my favorite wine bars, though none of us drank since I’m trying not to until the wedding, and all of my friends who went are either nursing or pregnant. 🙂  It was so much fun and thoughtful, and I don’t have to buy underthings for practically the next two years – yay!

4) Reader/groomsmen/parents gifts.  I have now learned that my soon-to-be-hubby is quite the procrastinator, so I had to basically throw out ideas to him with clickable links so that he could figure out his groomsmen gifts (personalized beer mugs with funny sayings).  Since our readers are my brother and best friend, I gave them the same thing, and we bought personalized frames for our parents.

5) B is ‘sponsoring’ me for another half-marathon for his Valentine’s Day gift!  He doesn’t understand my love of overpriced races (#Iamasuckerforpinkraceshirts), but he at least supports me.  I think it’s the perfect stress reliever for after the wedding, and if I become injured, at least we have a long plane ride to our honeymoon to help me recoup… at least that’s how I justify it!

6) Not gonna lie, the bridezilla has been emerging somewhat.  For the most part, it’s containable, as I mostly get snippy at B for not communicating things in an effective manner (I quickly apologize when I know I’ve crossed the line, though).  However, I am up to my ears of people who make this about them with some family drama that went down.  I won’t get into it, but I honestly don’t understand some family/cultural dynamics sometimes.

Alright, enough about that vent – for the most part it’s just all the communication and time involved with this, from dinner with our parents meeting, rehearsal dinner communications, to actual day of communications with vendors.  As much as I enjoyed the process, this end month is a lot of work, and I’m just ready to ‘give birth’ to this wedding.  I asked my friends if this is what being pregnant is like, and my favorite answer came from my friend who said, “Nope, you get more sympathy and casseroles when you’re pregnant.” Love it!

To those that celebrate, I hope you have a wonderful Valentine’s Day and I’d love to hear if you have any plans!  I’ll probably put B to work with cutting up our place cards and menus since I’m a big romantic like that. 😉

44 thoughts on “I’m Ready to “Give Birth” to This Wedding!

  1. that is an awesome Valentines Day gift – I might have to throw that one at my fiance… but it might be a bit too late. Who am I kidding, he’s a procrastinator, so there isn’t anything purchased 🙂

  2. It’s coming so close. I’ve had my share of family drama during my wedding planning process. That’s one of the reasons why I tried to do everything by myself. I thought my culture was the worst, but every culture has their own weirdness. Just breathe in and out and let go of little things that matter less to you and things that do matter, hold your ground with your fiancé. Just try to distract people who are giving you hard time with useless time consuming things.
    Have a happy Valentine’s day and weekend. Enjoy all the love and attention you’re getting from your loved ones.

    • Thank you so much for these kind and motivating words, Michelle, I really needed it right now! Yeah, “old school” cultural dymanics perplex me since I was raised in the U.S… I’m definitely doing my best to just let some things go. Thankfully, B has been very patient with my mood swings, so I’m very grateful for that. 🙂 Happy Valentine’s Day, Michelle!!

  3. Hi Anna! I’m happy to hear things are coming together for your wedding. I had a similar experience to your wedding programs and menus with my invitations. I tried to DIY it and found that the whole process overwhelming and time-consuming. I found an online business who did everything for me for just a bit more money than what it would cost for me to do it myself. You’re in the home stretch with organizing, hang in there!

    • Thanks so much, Lindsey! In hindsight, even the semi-DIY is taking some time, so I think I would have ordered, as well, despite the money. At least it will all be done soon, though, I hope you have a nice weekend! 🙂

  4. Love B’s Valentine’s Day gift to you! Understanding what you REALLY want – now that’s true love 😀 I know you’re excited about the wedding, and you’ve got the rest of us excited too! Hang in there with the family drama.. seems like in every wedding there are some family members who refuse to accept this day is about the bride and groom and NOT them. We had the same thing.. I think it must simply come with the wedding territory. Hope the drama is manageable and easy to brush off!

    • Haha, I couldn’t agree more, Kali – I’m very excited that I get to do another race soon. 🙂 Sorry to hear you had your own set of family drama – I’m doing my best to just let it go, but it still irks me. Oh well, your wedding looked so beautiful, so I hope mine is the same. Happy Valentine’s Day, girl. 🙂

  5. Love the design of the menus. I can only imagine all the things you have to do to get prepared for the wedding. I would take all the help I could get too, otherwise I’m pretty sure bridezilla Tanya would emerge. She may be small but she is fierce! LOL! Seriously, it sounds like everything is coming together nicely. Woot! Woot!

    • Thanks, I think it’s a pretty design, too, mostly because it isn’t my work! Mine would probably have stick figures or something. haha Haha, uh oh, I don’t know if I ever want to see bridezilla Tanya – the smallest are usually the most feisty. 😉 Happy Valentine’s Day, my friend!! xo

  6. Make sure you eat some cliff bars to ward off the Anna monster. Probably one every 3-5 minutes should do it! I can’t believe you are doing another half. Crazy girl. I’m still broken! 😦 You’re in the final stretch…go get em…and send me some cupcakes please! 🙂

    • Haha I still crack up at the Clif Bar comment, though in my defense, it was like 3-5 hours… okay, well 1-2 hours… 😉 Sorry to hear you feel broken!! I hope you’re on the mend, though, hopefully the chocolates you bought did the trick. 😉

    • Haha, aww, that’s very kind!! I’m looking forward to this perk when it hopefully happens… hope you’re doing well and have a great weekend!! 🙂

  7. Anna, I remember being a bridezilla before our wedding, too. Rick was being a total slacker about things like putting together the table centerpieces. I begged him for weeks, and he just blew it off!! Finally I blew up and said “Screw it – you put the d__ things together – I’m done!”. So he called his mom over to help, cuz I wasn’t doing it at that point since I’d done so much by myself, and his mom, totally unaware of the situation, says to me “Laurie, don’t you think it’d go much faster if you’d help us?”. I about strangled the both of them. 🙂 Don’t worry, hon, the fun part is almost here. 🙂

    • I’m so glad to hear that someone who seems as even-keeled and rational as you had these moments, as well! Oh dear, the Rick and MIL comments would have irked me, too. I definitely can’t wait for all this to be over – thank you for your encouragement, Laurie!! 🙂

  8. That sounds hilarious about the bachelorette party, lol! I love the menus for the wedding as well. Yay for fueling your love of racing 🙂 I’m working tomorrow night, but we might do something nice on Saturday.

    • Haha, it was definitely a sight, especially since we sat on bar stools and I was so afraid of the pregger ladies falling or something. 😉 Aww, let me know what happens on Saturday, we’re probably just going to rent a movie on Redbox and eat take-out. 🙂

  9. LOL! Give birth to your wedding … I love it because it’s true. It does feel like giving birth. It’s such a big to-do and until you actually plan your wedding … you really have no idea. I have a hard time seeing you as a Bridezilla but wedding plan can make you go crazy! You’re in the home stretch now and soon you’ll be in the happily married stage. 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Shannon!! Yeah, it’s definitely been an interesting process, for the most part fun until these last couple of months when it was mostly business and dealing with drama. I cannot wait to join your ranks in the happily married stage!! 🙂 Happy Valentine’s Day!! xo

  10. I’m sorry you’ve been dealing with some family drama. It’s your day, don’t let anything or anyone get in the way of that! I’m sure you’re not really much of a Bridezilla at all, so it’s okay to unleash a little :). I like the Valentine’s gift! Very practical.

    • Haha, B would probably beg to differ, though he at least lets me know how much he appreciates all I’ve been doing. 🙂 I hope you had a wonderful Valentine’s EM!!

  11. Aww sounds like you’re making awesome progress!! It will be here SO SOON. And honestly, I felt the exact same way as you. I was just SO over the whole thing. But the day arrives and you’ll have an awesome time. And the best part is – you will be married and just start your married life together. Onto the next thing. It will be just lovely!!!!

    • I know, I can’t wait to cross over already – your pics have made me so motivated for it to come, what a beautiful day you had!! So happy for you, Kelly. 🙂

  12. Aww, Anna, I am so excited for you! I am sure you will have an amazing wedding and have lots of fun on your wedding day! I can only hope you will post some photos on your blog so we can all have a little look 😛 Hope you had a lovely Valentine’s day! xo

  13. Anna,

    It sounds like things are really coming together for your wedding.. It seems like so long ago that Michelle and I went through all of that (11.5 years now), but I remember it fairly well. There is so much planning and coordination to do, and it’s fairly easy to get overwhelmed. That said, it looks like you have a very nice handle on things and have been taking it all in stride!

    • Thank you for your kind words, Jefferson – it’s overwhelming, but I’m definitely looking forward to seeing all my loved ones. Congrats on you and Michelle being together for over a decade – that’s such an awesome rarity these days, I wish you many more decades to come! 🙂

    • Aww, thanks so much, Michelle! I tend to be a little anxious anyway, but I’ve been on anxiety overdrive lately. Gosh, I hope I don’t bridezilla to my friends! :/

  14. I’m totally late with the comment, but I echo your angst at people who make your wedding somehow a part of their ridiculous drama. Get your butts to the wedding, or don’t…just give me the yes or no RSVP people, and spare us the never ending stories and phone calls.

    Hmmm…maybe I’m holding on to some old grudges…

    Best of luck with the wedding! It’s all going to work out!

    • Hahaha, sounds like we have a lot in common with the drama, because those are basically the same exact thoughts I’ve been having! So glad you and the Mrs. had a great Valentine’s my friend, it is well deserved. 🙂

  15. Ahh family drama…don’t understand why others have to interfere with wedding plans as if they’re getting married. Seriously, it can be stressful, but you just gotta do what you think is the best! Good luck. As for “bridezilla” I’m glad my wife hadn’t gone to too many weddings when we got married, because now that we have…she’s always like “argh…if I could do it again, I would etc, etc,etc…!” Hahahaha

    • Yeah, I was getting stressed about it for awhile, but now I’m just letting it go or having other family members fight the fight for me. Haha, aww, I’m sure your wedding was beautiful! I’ve been to a lot of wonderful ones, but it can be overwhelming with the wonderful ideas out there! I hope you had a wonderful weekend, Andrew!

  16. I can’t even imagine the stress of planning a wedding. I can’t even plan a family trip without stress, so a wedding is probably infinitely more stressful. Wishing you a quick, easy and pain-free “birth” and a happy belated Valentine’s day!

Leave a Reply

