March Madness – half-marathon, honeymoon, and new job

Hi everyone – sorry I’ve been pretty MIA during March, but I’ve been gone for most of it on our honeymoon!  I thought I’d write a brief overview of what’s been going down lately.

1412442_10152004213774103_2140038726_oFirst off – a couple weekends after the wedding, I ran my first half-marathon as a Mrs.!  I was a bit worried about it since I didn’t run a long run for awhile, but despite the heat, time change, and big hill on mile 9 (which I mostly hiked up), I had a lot of fun!  B was there to meet me at the end, and while before I thought it would be my last half for awhile, now I’m on the hunt for a next one.

Also, we went on our honeymoon!  We ended up going to Santiago in Chile, Buenos Aires

Leia and Hans enjoying the Moai statues on Easter Island!

Leia and Hans enjoying the Moai statues on Easter Island!

in Argentina, and my ultimate “bucket list” destination – Easter Island!!  I’ll probably do a post on each three places since they’re all so different, and it might be useful for anyone traveling there in the future.  I had so much fun and even more motivated to continue with Spanish.  I also read quite a few “fun” books while here – The Husband’s Secret, What Alice Forgot, and The Rosie Project – all of which I really recommend.  Our aim was to spend about 50% of our gift funds and invest the rest, and I think we’re more on our way to meeting that target (knock on wood!).

And finally, I got a new job!  The day before we left, I interviewed for the position and they’ve notified that I was chosen.  I of course negotiated (I mean, all they can do is say  no, right?), and it’s a great promotion and opportunity at a different area, and I’m super excited about it!  Plus you know what this means – lifestyle inflation!!  Kidding, of course.

Anyway, I’ll write about the different honeymoon destinations soon (as well as posting money stuff including Argentina’s inflation, counterfeit money in Chile, and the cost of living in each place), but I hope everyone has been doing well and keeping up with their financial goals!  I miss y’all so much and can’t wait to catch up with each of you. 🙂

53 thoughts on “March Madness – half-marathon, honeymoon, and new job

  1. Congrats on the new job! Awesome news all around. I can’t wait to hear more about your honeymoon! That last picture is so cute, I love that you took the toppers with you.

    • Haha, thank you for appreciating my dorkiness EM. 😉 B usually thinks my antics are cheesy, but he found the toppers posing kind of hilarious. 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Mrs. PoP! Easter Island was awesome, had we done it even better we could have ‘hopped’ on over to Tahiti – I’ll explain during that write-up!

  2. YAAAAAAY!!! So much awesomeness! Congrats on your first half, getting hitched, and all those super cool places! Easter Island sounds AMAZING. I’ll start posting about my own wedding planning shortly. yeah!!!

    • The empanadas, dulce de leche, and inexpensive rib eye steaks are for sure my favorite part… oh and the sights, too. 😉 Thanks again for your recommendation, WHB!

    • Thank you, Erin!! Haha, the foodie pics are for sure plentiful (more in Buenos Aires, steak dinners here with wine were $47 for the both of us – we indulged as much as possible. 🙂

  3. Wow, so much going on this month! Don’t know how you trained for a half marathon and prepared for a wedding at the same time. Looks like you had fun on the honeymoon…my wife and I definitely would like to go to South America at some point. Congrats on the new job!

    • Thanks Andrew!! I ran one in early February before the wedding, so I was kind of just ‘maintaining’ that fitness… though that completely depleted during my honeymoon. 😉 South America is for sure amazing, I’ll share as much as I can remember! 🙂

  4. “Leia and Hans”

    Ha! I have a little plastic dinosaur that goes with me on all travels and gets his photo taken everywhere. Keep up the tradition!

    And Easter Island, holy cow! That is awesome! One of my dreams as well.

    Hey, see you this weekend?

    • I just realized that I use waaaaaaaaaaaay too many exclamation points. Calm, down, calm down,. calm down…

      I CAN”T!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Easter Island was for sure amazing, the statues are as breathtaking in person as they are in the pics! Yes, can’t wait for this weekend to meet the 1500 family – March just keeps getting better and better! 😀

  5. Welcome back, Anna! It sounds like you had an amazing March! Congrats on running your first half-marathon as a Mrs. 🙂 I can’t wait to hear all the details (okay, maybe not ALL the details 😉 ) of your honeymoon. And congratulations on your new job too!

    • Thanks Shannon! Haha I for sure won’t write ALL about it. 😉 Thank you so much for your well wishes, I hope you and the fam have been doing well in SoCal (the weather is autumn, so thankfully it wasn’t too much of a weather transition here!)

  6. Big congrats, on all fronts! We considered Easter Island when we were in Ecuador but couldn’t swing the costs. I’m jealous! Oh, and we’re going to Buenos Aires (& Montevideo) in May, so I’d love to hear any tips you have on Argentina. Cheers!

    • Thank you so much, DbF! Easter Island was indeed our biggest budget buster (including food since most places are kind of pricey), but we figured we’d splurge on one segment. 🙂 I’ll for sure share tips, there’s a lot to know while here!

    • Thank you so much, KK! I’m definitely feeling thankful all around – I hope you have been doing okay, been thinking about you since your post about your uncle. Hugs to you, my friend.

    • Thanks Michelle! Aaah, I am sooo jealous you visited Iguazu Falls – I wanted to go so bad, but we already splurged on the Easter Island segment. Do you have pics so I can live vicariously through you? 🙂

    • Haha, yay, thanks for thinking my dorky tendencies are funny, Laurie! I will for sure share in a few days, so much fun! Hope you and the fam are doing well!

  7. Welcome back, Anna! Sounds like March treated you very, very well! Love the pic with Leia and Hans – too cute! Can’t wait to see more pics. And congratulations on your new job. Very exciting and well-deserved. Hearing that you ran another half-marathon makes me feel like I need to get my butt off this chair (but not before I post comment!) and start exercising!

    • Thank you so much, Tanya – that is so kind of you to say my job is well deserved, thank you!! Haha, I love your priority with first commenting then start exercising. 😉 I hope you’ve been doing well and that there haven’t been more earthquakes in SoCal to scare Max (and you). 🙂

  8. Yay for great new job after honeymoon! So smart that you negotiated too. It looks like this marriage came with some extra perks! 😉

    • Thanks so much, Tara! I figured all they could do is say no, so nothing to lose, yes? Hope you’ve been doing well, I didn’t realize how much I missed my blogger friends until now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

