Wine Tasting With My Girls

Heidi-ho, folks!  I feel out of the PF loop since last week was my first week at the new job, and by the end of the day I just wanted to go home and sob (not really, it’s great).  To make up for it, I had a great weekend full of seeing my roly-poly godson on Friday night, and then going wine tasting with Tonya and Mackenzie!  I met Tonya before during our first half so I knew we’d get along, but I’m happy to report that Mackenzie is every bit as genuine, awesome, and hilarious in real life as she is on her blog!  It was so much fun going to different wineries with them, stuffing our faces with cheese and crackers in the car since it was so windy, and gabbing like we’ve been long-time friends.  There were so many quotable moments, but this was my favorite as we were driving to the next winery (I completely ad-libbed):

Tonya: “Okay, turn right here.”

Mackenzie (about a couple minutes later): “Um, this road is starting to look like one in a horror movie…”

Tonya: “No, the main road is at the end on this map, see?  We’re fine.”

Mackenzie: “I think that’s what the first person who gets killed always says.”

I’m bummed I didn’t meet Mackenzie sooner for more hang time, but I suppose if ever it’s a great reason to visit Portland (yes, girl, I pretty much invited myself over).  And lest you worry since these are PF’ers, Tonya did a fabulous job scoring some 2 for 1 deals (as well as printed out a great map of all the wineries), and we stayed in reasonably priced lodging so that no one was driving home drunk.   I was surprised that the lodging was actually nicer than I thought, considering it received a 2-star rating (because, you know, nothing but the best for us! 😉 ).  I guess it just goes to show that with some reviews, you just gotta take it with a grain of salt.

Other than that, there isn’t much to report, so I’ll keep it short and sweet.  I hope everyone has been doing well and I look forward to catching up with you soon!

Do you like wine?  Or you more of a red or white wine?  Do you like leather in yours like Tonya?  Do you pair it with beef bourguignon like Mackenzie?

36 thoughts on “Wine Tasting With My Girls

  1. I’m glad you guys had a fun time! I’d love to meet bloggers in real life, but I think I had a better chance of that happening at my previous location. Maybe Fincon is in the cards for this year. I’m not much of a wine person, but I do prefer white wine. Out of the limited varieties I’ve tried, Moscato was my favorite.

    • Aww, you’re an even bigger sweetheart! I’m so stoked we met before you moved, Mackenzie! Are you going to the May the 4th be with you event? 🙂

  2. Hope your new job is treating you well. I know it can be overwhelming to start something new. So jealous of your girls weekend! I love Mackenzie and Tonya — just need to meet you, so I can love you for realz too, lol. I LOVE red wine — tempranillo, malbec, cote du rhone. I like cheese and crackers with wine. Mmmmm.

    • Aww, I know, we need to hang! Anytime you’re in SD, you’ve got a place to crash! I looove red wine, too… malbec and merlot are my faves!

  3. Pretty cool that you met up with some fellow bloggers. I rely on online reviews but sometimes I try not to put too much stock into them…some people are just hard to please. I prefer white wine…didn’t know you could put leather in it. I guess I’m no wine connoisseur.

    • Haha, we didn’t either (about the leather) until we read it. I agree about reviews – you just gotta take some with a grain of salt (the ones with a bunch of exclamation marks make me think that the person might be an alarmist, too).

  4. Oh lucky! You met other PF bloggers! Were you ladies in Temecula by any chance? I’ve been to many of the wineries there 🙂 I’ll admit I ended up a big day-drunk in the process, but we had someone else driving so it was a-ok.

    I hope your new job is great and you’re only ready to sob because it’s amazing!

    • Thanks so much, Kali! It’s been great and I’m pretty thankful – so jealous of you for meeting PF bloggers soon at FinCon! I hope you have a great time. 🙂

  5. I’m so jealous~ and congratulations on your new job. Many big changes happening for your this year. I’m absolutely sure that you’re doing a great job with the new job and being a hot and smart wife~^^

    • It was for sure fun, but hopefully we, too, will get to hang one day! Haha, I don’t know about hot… hot tempered maybe. 😉 But if ever, I model after you, girl!

  6. Sounds like such a good time. If only, you all lived on the East Coast 😦 I like red wine better than wine and craft beer better than wine, but I’ll drink almost anything 🙂

  7. I can see that was an incredibly silly and fun night for you! I’m a white wine girl – Pinot Grigio actually and yes, I know, i sound like that NY Housewife Ramona when I say that. Congrats on the new job!

    • It was definitely fun! Thanks for the well wishes on my job – OMG I loved Ramona! We don’t get Bravo anymore, though, but she’s so spunky!

  8. Pingback: April Review/May Goals | Budget and the Beach

  9. Sounds like a great weekend! I can see the three of you getting into all sorts of trouble! LOL! I’m glad the new job is going well too! It is always a bit exhausting when we start something new but I’m sure you’re doing great!

    • Aww, thanks for having the faith in me, Shannon! It’s gelling a bit more this week, but I’m just going to assume it takes a year’s cycle to get it down pat. It was definitely a lot of fun, I hope you’re staying cool with this heat wave going on!

  10. This trip sounds like SO much fun! I am a big fan of wine, in particular, sparkling wine, which I lovingly call champs (even though I know it is not all champagne). I went to Napa with my hubby 10 years ago, and it was one of the greatest trips we ever took.

  11. LOL! I am pretty sure that’s what the first person killed in a horror movie says. 🙂 I’m not a big wine drinker and normally rely on someone else telling me what I would like. Sad, but true. I actually did a couple of wine tastings when I was in Temecula for work but I could only take a few sips because I’m such a lightweight. I’m glad everything is going good with the new job too!

    • Haha, no worries, girl, I’m the same way so you’re in good company (well, I can drink at least a glass, but that tends to be my limit! Mackenzie was a crack up when she said that – Tonya was hilarious too! I’d love to do a meet up with you one day, we can share homemade treats (though yours will blow mine out of the water for sure). 🙂

  12. SO jealous!!! It sounds so fun, you guys!!! One day we’ll have to have a ginormous PF girl party. 🙂

  13. Sounds super fun! And Lori, I totally love the PF girl party idea. 🙂 I’m glad Tonya made it through the trip considering the circumstances. :p I’m not a wine person, really, but I enjoy other drinks on occasion.

Leave a Reply

