May Updates

Happy May Days, everyone!  I thought I would give a little update, mostly because I don’t really have anything else to write about.  Let’s proceed, shall we?

Work – I’ve been at my new digs for a few weeks now and I can honestly say I love it.  I kind of feel in my last position that I was doing more training and less learning over the past couple of years, so now this opportunity has created more learning and growing for the next couple of years.  I think careers tend to have those cycles, so I’m pretty excited to expand my knowledge base and networks further.  My coworkers are so genuinely sweet and positive, and they even planned a group lunch outing so I can get to know some people I wouldn’t normally interact with which was awesome.  I still have some anxiety about meeting some of my clients, but I think that’s with any new beginnings.  This work culture, despite being a bit more corporate than my previous place, feels more in line with my working style.  I’m pretty grateful to be here.  I won’t see a full cycle of the increase in a few more weeks, but it will bump up my savings rate as well, which is a great plus.

Marriage – B and I have been married for over two months and it’s flown by!  Married life isn’t all that different from living together life, including each other’s pet peeves – he still doesn’t do dishes unless asked, my hair still gets all over the place… 🙂  The only difference now is that I’ll do something incredibly dorky and I’ll say “haha, you married into this – sucka!” and he’ll do the same and say “I can do this anytime I want now you’re my wife!”  Perhaps we’re still in the honeymoon period, but I’ll take it for what it’s worth.

Fitness – Ever since we’ve come back from the honeymoon, I’ve kept my fitness at a pretty basic level.  This is part because I have to get to work earlier so it shortens my workout time – I could get ready at the gym again like I used to before going to work, but I’ve kind of liked going back home and being able to hang with B and kiss each other good-bye before we both head off to work (yep, must be still honeymoon period).  Another part is admittedly laziness, though I’m sure with the summer months soon approaching I’ll be singing a different tune.  I’ve already started feeling it now, since we have to wear khakis or slacks to work that are a looser fit – now when I wear jeans or shorts on the weekends, I have to do a few lunges and squats in order for them to stretch a smidge, so I should really take that as a cue. 😉

Finances – Finances are going well, though I did splurge a little to buy more work clothes for my new position since before I could just wear t-shirts and jeans.  I’ve scored some great finds on Ebay and taken advantage of big sales at some of my favorite stores, so I’ve had my fill for awhile.  I’ve been able to save a bit more, though it hasn’t been the same amount as I used to make my monthly debt repayments.  I think I need to switch my mindset on this and think of it as debt to myself for our forever house and life goals since somehow the concept of ‘debt’ drives me more (perhaps because it was recently experienced?).  I do at least save, though, and after a certain amount, I’ll just invest in another type of index fund.  I admit to haven’t really looked into investing as much as I would like because I get pretty beat after work, but hopefully this will change once I become acclimated to work.

Other than that, life is pretty good!  B and I are also working on a cool project that I’ll hopefully be able to share sooner than later.  I’m glad to hear everyone is trucking along in the PF world, and I hope you have a wonderful May!  Anyone have plans for Memorial Day (for the U.S. folks at least)?  It will be here in mere weeks! 🙂

42 thoughts on “May Updates

  1. I’m so glad that the new job is working out for you! Your coworkers seem really nice, which is always a plus. You and B are so cute. My hair gets everywhere, too. Even when we weren’t living together, R would somehow find a piece in his clothing. Can’t wait to hear more about the project you two are working on!

    • Thanks so much, EM! Haha, that’s B’s complaint for sure – it gets in his gym socks even! I say it’s a small price to pay for being with amazing ladies. 😉

  2. Haha love how the marriage is going. Sounds like us as well. My hair is everywhere! 🙂 The other day he banished me to brushing my hair in just one room LOL

    • Oh man, they must have had a convention because I’m only allowed to in the bathroom, as well. Hope wedding planning is going well, Michelle!

  3. Good to hear that everyone at the new job is treating you well. It’s always a little nerve wracking when you start a new job. Not sure of any plans for Memorial Day, but so glad that we’ll be having a long weekend. It’s been a while we had that!

    • Agreed, I’m still pretty nervous, but hopefully over time I’ll be more comfortable. I can’t wait for the three day, as well, hope you make some fun plans, Andrew!

  4. Sounds like you’re enjoying the new role, there’s always that first bit where you feel completely drained because you’re learning so much new stuff but soon you’ll be in the swing of things and you won’t be so exhausted. I’ve gone from much more casual to corporate jobs before and having to outlay so much for a professional wardrobe is expensive but if you get quality pieces they’ll last you a long time. I felt the same way you do after paying down debt, at first its nice to have a bit more room in the budget and then you feel the need to ramp up the savings. With your focus and determination, I know you’ll be building up wealth like a boss in short order 🙂

    • I agree about buying quality pieces, especially ones that you can mix and match. I agree about feeling the need to ramp up the savings, I just wish it was more second nature! Thanks for your vote in confidence in me, Morgaine, I hope May is treating you well!

  5. Haha, we say the same kind of things to each other when someone does something weird – “I feel sorry for you for choosing this!” Always joking of course. 🙂

    I’m so glad to hear that your job is going well! It’s always difficult transitioning to a new office, but I’m sure you’re charming them all.

    RE: the lunges – when my skinny jeans come out of the dryer I basically do a jig to get into them. One hand on either side of my hips with my waistband. It probably looks hilarious… until I get a little sad about the snugness.

    • We totally have the same sense of humor! And I totally get the jig and hand thing when trying to expand the waist – thankfully a lot of jeans have some stretch now otherwise I’d be really struggling! 🙂

  6. My husband and I have been married for 25 years and I like to think we are still in the honeymoon phase. 🙂 We still do things that annoy one another and we still just laugh it off (most of the time!) I wish the same for you and B! I’m glad you’re settling into your new job. It always takes some time to adjust but it sounds like your co-workers and the new work are a great match. You have to figure out what motivates you to save. I admit, for me, debt wouldn’t be highly motivating as it generally seems like a weight or burden. I am motivated to save (and hopefully buy soon since we need to get out of current home soon) because I think about what it represents. More space. My own office. Closer to the beach (fingers crossed), etc. and all those things make me really excited and I want them, so I willing to save and step up my savings to achieve them because I imagine how nice it will be to have my own office rather than work at the kitchen table. Either way is good as long it motivates you to save for something you truly want. Just be careful that if you use debt as your motivator that you don’t inadvertently create some extra stress and fear about your forever home too. You got rid of your debt like a champ and I know you can accomplish whatever you put your heart into, Anna!

    • Aww, I love hearing that you and your husband are still in your honeymoon stage after 25 years – your Silver Anniversary! Thanks so much for the food for thought, Shannon – I agree it’s about creating that delayed gratification mindset. I wish it came more intuitively for me, so it’s something I have to work on, and will probably continually have to. Great insight on creating stress about the forever home, too – I never thought about it that way, but you’re spot on. Best wishes on getting your new digs by the beach – I can’t think of anyone more deserving!

  7. Sounds like things are working out greatly for you. Your new co-workers sound sweet and thoughtful. I can’t wait to hear about the project you’re working on~^^

  8. It’s good to hear that you’re happy all-around in life which is a blessing! My DH and I have been married a little over 18 months (together for 5+ years) and it’s been great 🙂 Paying off debt gives us a certain rush that savings for the most part doesn’t…until you really define what you want to save money for.

    • Aww, a newlywed, too – congratulations, Kassandra! I think you’re right about defining specific savings goals – perhaps that will give me that rush, as well. I love your pic, btw!

  9. My husband and I are still in the honeymoon phase and we have been married almost 6 years! When it’s right, it’s right 🙂

    Glad the new job is working out Anna!

    • Thanks so much, Melanie! I’ve been feeling pretty fortunate for sure these days. I’ll definitely post about it hopefully sooner than later!

  10. So glad life is treating your right, Anna! Starting new jobs are always stressful. I remember I used to fall asleep as soon as got home and I worried something was wrong me. Then I just realized I was tired from all the “learning” I was doing. LOL! Glad it’s a great work environment because that is SO important. You and B are so cute and I can’t wait to hear about the super secret project you are working on together.

    • I totally get what you mean about feeling conked out from the learning/growing – it really does take a toll! I agree work environment is really important so I’m pretty grateful. I hope you have a great rest of the week, Tanya!

    • Haha, have you been talking to my parents, GMD?? They’ve been hinting so much, too, and really obvious about it. I hope you’re doing well, GMD, and that spring is starting to rear its pretty face in Vancouver!

  11. Woohoo! I am settling into my new job too, it’s going to be a varied mix of stuff that I’m well used to doing, and a lot of new stuff as well – and a LOT more collaboration. Got my first pay yesterday and looking forward to the next (which will cover a full pay cycle). Always good to learn and grow.

    Now gotta sort out the fitness … hard when it’s coming up to winter…

    • Yay, I’m so glad to hear that you’re loving your new job, as well!! I agree that variation keeps things interesting – I can’t wait for my full pay cycle, too! Hope yours is a great one. 🙂

  12. So glad all is going well!!! Just a warning: it’s been nearly 18 years of marriage for us and Rick still won’t so much as put his dishes in the dishwasher, so you might not want to expect too much in that area. 🙂 And I still get hair all over the place too, along with our 3 long-haired girls. We call that payback for not helping with the dishes. 🙂

    • Haha, I love that payback justification, Laurie!! I’m definitely not holding my breath for any dishes miracle, but at least he does it when I ask. 🙂

  13. I’m glad you like your new job! I’m about 4 months into mine now and definitely really like it. I’m so glad I switched! Congrats your marriage as well 🙂 That’s so exciting! You looked beautiful on your wedding day, Anna!

    I loved saving for a down payment on my condo! I made charts and projections showing me how much house/condo I could afford when and how much of a down payment % I could put down! It was super motivating. Did you do that with your debt? Maybe you should do that with your growing savings account as well 🙂

    • Aww, thanks so much for your wedding compliment, Leigh! And congrats on your new job – I’m glad you like it and are thriving! I have spreadsheets mostly, but haven’t really charted or graphed anything – perhaps that’s the kind of motivation I need to get some spark going with my savings. Thanks for the idea, Leigh!!

      • I also set lots of goals and celebrated every new $10,000 marker that I passed in my savings. So like a goal to save $X each month and $X*12 for the year, etc. and then tracking how I was doing against that instead of the big goal. You have to figure out what motivates you and then it’ll go so much faster!

  14. I can’t believe you guys have been married two months already. Feels like just yesterday you shared those beautiful wedding photos. I think it’s adorable you guys are still in the honeymoon stage. With Eric and I being together for 5+ years, I sort of wonder if marriage will change anything for us. Is it possible to be past your honeymoon stage before you’re married lol. No plans for memorial day yet, but I totally need a day off (or a vacation). I’ve been so worn down lately.

    • Aww, thanks KK – I know, it’s flown by but I’m loving it. Haha, aww, I’m sure the honeymoon stage will show up after (or heck, anytime!). You two are so cute together. I’m sorry to hear you’re feeling worn down, though – I hope you get some much needed rest!

  15. Oh, man, I need to revamp my work clothes so bad and there’s no budget for it. Consignment stores here I come! Glad the new job is going well! I love the idea of reframing the savings as debt. Whatever motivates us motivates us!

  16. Congrats again on the new job and on your new marriage! Stretch out the honeymoon period as long as you can. You only get it once!

Leave a Reply

