Brief Update

Hi everyone!  Sorry for being MIA – I had every intention of writing this weekend, but my wedding thank you cards came in and I was busily writing in those the whole time.  I don’t know if I ever mentioned it, but we took a big group shot of everyone, and I made that into the cover of our cards.  I also inserted pictures both sets of families inside the card so we can honor them and give our thanks, as well as a black and white shot of us and the goofy shot of the group.  I loved how it turned out, and I’m pleased to say that I powered through all the cards and have fully reconciled the wedding to do list!

On the personal finance front, things are going well.  Though I don’t really want to divulge our combined finances since B tends to be a pretty private person, I can say that for “my” portion if we were to divvy it up, I’ve put some more structure into the budget and sticking to it.  I get paid biweekly, and I’ve budgeted rotating one paycheck for all of the month’s expenses, such as living expenses, car/gas, food, entertainment/gifts, etc., while the next paycheck goes directly to savings and investments.  Shannon has mentioned it many times about the importance of goals, and now I’m a big believer in it despite it taking awhile to gel with me.  Nothing puts a fire under you than saving for a grand goal in the long term, and it’s been pretty motivating to have this structure in place.

If I include my pre-taxed accounts, I’m able to exceed my original savings rate of 40-45%, so that’s also been motivating!  I’m not a savings rockstar yet like Mr. DbF who saves like over 60-70%, but it’s at least motivating to see my own progress within these past couple of years.

In other life news, there really isn’t much other than the crazy fires that happened all last week in SD (and some this week).  We weren’t affected by it, but we do have some friends that had to be evacuated.  It’s been pretty scary and surreal, and gave me so much more respect for firefighters than I already have.

In pop culture news, I watched “American Hustle,” and though I thought Amy Adams was amazing in it and deserved an Oscar, I don’t really understand the hype overall?  Our next movie will probably be “X-Men” so perhaps my opinion should be taken with a grain of salt. 😉  I also read “The Light Between the Oceans” and loved it, as well as want to visit Australia now with all of the author’s gorgeous descriptions of it.

Alright, y’all, I hope everyone has been doing well and I’m looking forward to catching up with you!

 

30 thoughts on “Brief Update

  1. Glad all is going well, Anna! The group wedding shot sounds SO fun!!! You guys did so many cool things for your wedding. I get you about the $$ – Rick is private about that stuff too. Keep on kicking it, my friend, and have an awesome week. 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Laurie! A friend of a friend actually did it before me, and I thought it was a great idea for the card. 🙂 I hope you’re having a great weekend, too, my love! 🙂

  2. American Hustle was great. I really liked the movie, even the plot and the ending… but I guess it’s one of those movies where either you liked it or you thought it was OK.

    Amy Adams was awesome. So was her wardrobe!! Jennifer Lawrence wasn’t so bad either.

    • Yes, I LOVED her wardrobe, as well! I didn’t like J-Law that much in it, but I think that was the point of her character so she did awesome in that respect. I was pretty cranky when I watched it (after writing in all those cards), so maybe I wasn’t in the right frame of mind to watch it. Plus I had to turn the subtitles on because it was hard to hear with their accents!

    • Aww, thanks so much, my love! We’ve been meaning to catch Spiderman 2, but more excited about X-Men (Michael Fassbender… drool!). I hope you’re doing well, I’ve missed you!

  3. What a cute idea regarding your “thank you” cards! I bet everyone will love such a thoughtful card 🙂 Glad to hear you and your hubby weren’t affected by the fires!!

    • Thanks Mackenzie, I hope so! I managed to also include 1-2 shots for most people, since I always want pictures where I’m all fancied up. Sorry to hear that the air quality in your area was affected by the fires, I hope it’s all okay now! 😦

    • Thanks so much, Melanie! I hope you’re doing well, and taking some time from your crazy work schedule for you! Keep at it, freelancing rockstar!

    • Thanks Andrew! We have a pretty low mortgage (relatively speaking) currently, though I’m sure it will jump up once we get our ‘forever’ house, so might as well save as much as possible now for our grand goals! Man that must have taken forever for you and your wife to write, as well! I definitely don’t want to be doing that again!

    • Hi stranger, so nice to see you on here! Yeah, they definitely were labor intensive, but I’m really glad that I’m done. I hope you’re enjoying newlywed life!! 🙂

      • I know, right!? It’s so strange being away for so long. But it’s almost like the more you’re away the more you feel guilty for being away, so then you’re away more. haha. Vicious cycle. Glad all is well with you and you’re enjoying being a newlywed as well 🙂

  4. Glad you weren’t too affected by the fires. Congrats on your savings rate! I also didn’t think AH was that great. I thought it was pretty slow and boring, but I like J-Law a lot in that movie. I think I could be buds with her. 🙂 I saw Godzilla this past weekend and I thought it was pretty good! Also Short Term 12 which is on Netflix was GREAT!

    • Ooh, we have Netflix currently, so I’ll have to check it out! Haha, yeah, J-Law is definitely likeable, though not in that movie, which is the point of what she played. She’s really charming, I’d love to be friends with her, too!

  5. The wedding thank you’s you put together sound so nice! I don’t know how you powered through them, but at least everything is done now! Congrats on your savings progress, awesome job. I used to get paid bi-weekly as well, and even though it was slightly annoying, you have a good set-up in place. I’m relieved to hear the fires stayed away from you, and I hope your friends are okay.

    • Thanks EM! It was time-consuming, but I’m so glad they’re done! I agree, I liked getting paid monthly better, but I’ve adjusted to the bi-weekly method. I hope you’re enjoying your new digs!

  6. I love your wedding thank you card idea!! We got married 10 years ago, and I feel like our options were not as fun, but maybe it was because I was not trying hard enough to look for better ones. Anywho, I agree on the hype of American Hustle and I have not heard of the Light Between the Oceans, but I am always looking for great book opportunities. I was going to read the Fault in Our Stars, but heard it is a big weep fest and not sure that is “mood” I am looking for right now.

    • Thanks Shannon! The Fault in Our Stars is definitely a tear jerker – I don’t really know any teenagers who talk like them in the book (It kind of reminded me of Dawson’s Creek the way they spoke), but it definitely made me cry!

  7. Really cute thank you card idea! We included a picture in ours too and for family we gave framed pictures for Christmas gifts that year as well (and other gifts, we aren’t that cheap ;)) Glad to hear you weren’t affected by those fires, sounds awful!

    • Aww, that’s a really great idea about the framed pictures, though we probably would just give that because we’re cheap. haha I hope you’re doing well, Morgaine!

  8. That is a great wedding card idea.. Very clever 🙂

    Nice to hear that things are going so well for you guys.
    Am Hustle is mostly style with little substance.. but the still is so darn cool, it really makes up for it 🙂

    • Thanks Jefferson! Yeah, it definitely had a lot of style, and I loved Robert DeNiro, even though he was only in it for a little bit!

  9. I’m totally impressed you’re already rocking it through the thank you cards. I just received a thank you card in the mail from a wedding we went to last August (I know you technically get a full year to send them out). When it came, I swore it was a baby shower invite and I got super excited (it was a still a sweet card, just not what I thought it was). Rock on with your awesome saving!

  10. Thanks so much for the mention and the kind words, Anna. Having paid off the house is what allows us to get to that figure — we’d be at a much lower rate had we done what we ‘should’ have and kept the mortgage while investing.

    Your idea for the thank you cards is a great one! I wish we’d thought of that — it would have saved us from having to send out photos later. I haven’t seen American Hustle yet but now maybe I’ll skip it. Thanks again for the tips in Buenos Aires. Our anniversary is on Friday and I might give that restaurant you recommended a try! Cheers!

  11. Thanks for the mention, Anna! You know how much I love goals! LOL! But I am glad that you are now a big believer too. 🙂 I am also very glad that you and B weren’t affected by the wildfires. And your thank you cards sound creative and beautiful. I love how wedding invitations and thank you’s have become so unique and personal. As an old married, in my day, they tended to look alike. 🙂

  12. I have not seen American Hustle yet, although I love all the people in it. I’ll have to rent it sometime. Hehehe – I’m hoping to catch the X-Men too. It looks really good! 🙂 What a great idea to put your family pics in your thank you cards. Now they are real memento! Glad to hear you didn’t have to be evacuated. Scary! You’ll have to let me know how good X-Men is because I probably won’t catch until next week so I want to make sure it’s worth my hard-earned money!

  13. I’m impressed you got your cards done that quickly. That must be a new record or something. I watched about 10 minutes of American Hustle ad said nope, this isn’t for me right now.

    Way to kill the saving rate! Right now I am at about 15% with my employer match factored in. If I didn’t have debt and could funnel most of that to savings I’d be closer to a 40-50% savings rate. That’s my light at the end of the tunnel – that I will catch up to you… Db40 I am not so sure about though 🙂

Leave a Reply

