Almost July Updates – The “Padawan” Edition!

Hey everyone!  I can’t believe it’s almost July in just a few short days!  It’s been quite busy in my tiny corner of the earth, as work is always busy (in a very good way!), and I’m grateful to report that B and I are expecting a little one! 🙂  This first trimester has felt like FOR-ever as I wanted to keep it a secret, but I’ve slowly told family, friends, and coworkers, as well as have now publicly told it on FB.  Here’s some experiences and thoughts I’ve collected these past few weeks!

1)  When I took the pregnancy test, it was the longest 5 minutes ever and I was talking to myself thinking “if not this month, there’s another month, it’s okay, just relax…”  Imagine my disbelief and happy surprise when I saw the second, albeit faint, line!  I didn’t want to get my hopes up, so I took another one a couple days later with a more sure second line… and then 5 more throughout the week. 😉  I told a couple of friends right away since both are mothers and one’s a nurse, and they’ve been an amazing source of support for every worry, from freaking out that I ate turkey on my panini to did I just harm my baby by using ear wax remover drops.

2) I was kind of freaking out telling work since I started recently, but am relieved to get a tremendous amount of support and happiness for me.  It was also so much fun telling my parents, as I gave them a frame with an ultrasound and a “Grandbaby” poem.  It took them awhile to figure it out (and I think my dad was searching for his reading glasses lol), but I will cherish their reactions for the rest of my life. 🙂

3)  I’ve had no problem playing the baby card any chance I get – I’ve often said “I think Taddy could go for some frozen yogurt” [nicknamed Taddy that week since a website described it as the size/shape of a tadpole] or “Do you mind doing the dishes?  Kinda tired tonight, ya know, growing a human inside me and all.”  B attempted to in the worst way possible when he tried to play the baby card by saying “baby wants sex.” O_o

4) This is the primary reason why my fitness has been pretty basic – equal parts of me still being superstitious/old-fashioned and feeling guilty about “jostling” the kid around whilst running despite all these studies that say it’s okay, and me feeling nauseated anyway after 3 miles.  Around Week 10, I started getting back into 4-5 miles, though only every other day and at 1-2 minutes slower per mile than usual.

5) I’ve been eating salty foods like no other – my favorite are cheddar rice cakes, California burrito (carne asada, guacamole, potatoes, salsa, and cheese in a burrito), tempura bowls, and any panini I can get my grubby hands on.

6) I also tried the complimentary pickle (the second or third in my whole life) that came with a panini to see if I’d start craving those like some pregnant women do.  NOPE, still disgusting!

7) Upon finding out I was pregnant, my coworker stated, “Ooooh, so that’s why you have that whole stash of snacks in the drawer!”  That awkward moment when I reply with, “Oh, no, I always keep that stash around…”

8) I’ve had mild nausea, but am susceptible to crazy heart burn.  A big culprit was vinegar, which is unfortunate because I do love me some daily salad with balsamic vinaigrette.  Now I’m mostly eating steamed veggies and that seems to keep the heart burn at bay.

9) We took a blood test since I’m of ‘advanced maternal age’, and we were beyond grateful to get genetic results back as healthy.  We also found out the sex!  Any guesses? 🙂

10) This is how I announced it on FB… because we’re geeks:

padawan

11) Not going to lie, when the doc showed me the two chromosomes (XX or XY) and asked if I knew what it was, it took me awhile as I went back into my AP Bio class memory to remember. lol

12) Seeing the baby’s heart beat on the ultrasound for the first time with B will easily be a permanent fixture on the Top 3 moments of my life.

Anyway, that’s my news lately, and the biggest reason why I’m more devoted than ever to increasing my savings rate as much as possible these days.  Infant day care, as well as baby stuff in general, is pretty expensive, and finding our ‘forever’ house is still a project for us, so we’re doing all we can to set ourselves up for a secure (as possible) future.  Now your turn – I’d love to hear anything new going on for you, or if you have pregnancy or parenting tips, I’d love to hear it! 🙂

 

63 thoughts on “Almost July Updates – The “Padawan” Edition!

  1. Eek, I’m sooooo excited for you!!!! Many congratulations my dear 🙂 glad to hear everything is going well, and that you and the baby are healthy.

    Pickles are totally disgusting, by the way.

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! Hearing about your first trimester brought me back to mine. I could only eat grilled cheese, ramen noodles and chocolate milk. My co-workers even commented on the fact that they thought I was eating a ridiculous amount of grilled cheese. I will never forget the first ultrasound I saw of my son at 8 weeks. He was a little beating blip and I fell head over heels in love with him from that moment and the love has not stopped for a second since. I can’t wait to hear about your journey. So exciting!!!!

    • OMG yes on the grilled cheese sandwiches!! Anything savory, I’m all about it. That’s when we saw our baby’s heartbeat, as well (8 weeks) – it was so amazing that thinking about it makes me tear up! Thank you so much for your well wishes, Shannon, it means so much. 🙂

  3. YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Advanced maternal age, ha! My OB said “Because you’re old”. 🙂 Luckily we had a great relationship, else I might have smacked him, LOL. My advice? Take good care of yourself, give into those cravings, and NO stressing. It’s all good, my friend. You guys are going to be awesome parents – I just know it. Did you totally bawl when you saw the heartbeat? I did – every time. 🙂 I’m guessing: boy.

    • Thank you for your awesome tips, Laurie!! I’ve for sure given in to cravings, though I at least make sure I still get in some veggies and fruit. I was more excited about seeing the heartbeat, but once I saw B and his eyes were a bit red-rimmed, I started tearing! YUP, you guessed right – Gold Star!! 😀

  4. OH MY GOODNESS CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!

    I have so much advice but only if you want to hear it… 🙂 Shoot me an email. Or read my posts on this, I think I blogged about it quite a number of times.

    BABY!!!!!!!

    • Haha, I love it!! Thank you so much and for sure, your blog has given me more enlightenment about the whole process – thank you for being so detail-oriented!! I hope you are enjoying motherhood!! 🙂

  5. How exciting!! Congrats. What is ‘advanced maternal age’ as I note you say you’re into your thirties. IN any case I’m so glad things are a-ok with the baby nonetheless!!

  6. Congratulations!!! I’m so happy and excited for you two!! I love the picture you used to announce the news, and I also love the nickname. At my last job it was a known fact that my desk was the snack/candy desk. I laughed at #3, as it sounds like something my boyfriend would say. Men! I’ve lived with heartburn for a while, and it’s odd that vinegar sets it off. So many home remedies say to mix water with apple cider vinegar and take it before eating, and it has worked for me. I hope it gets better and that everything goes smoothly!!

    • Haha, we have so much in common, even down to what our partners will disgustingly say. 🙂 I know, I had my usual salad and it burned like crazy, especially when I was laying down. I guess it’s hormone related or something, I’m not sure. Sorry to hear you’ve had your own bouts of heart burn, it totally blows! I hope you’re settling in nicely in your new town, EM!

  7. ANNA! Well, you already know how excited I am for you and B. 🙂 I do remember doing multiple “confirmations” too. I mean maybe you peed wrong! LOL! I’m looking forward to more baby updates now that you’re wedding is done! Parental tips … hmmm… first and foremost you will not be prepared for how much love you feel for your baby when you first hold him in your arms. You need to hold onto how deep that love is for those nights when he won’t stop crying, fluids are coming from every hole, etc. Because there will be days and moments where you’ll wonder what have you done and then the next moment you’re rocking your beautiful son to sleep and remember why.

    • Haha, I loved your reaction so much, Shannon, thanks for being happy which made me happy! I know, I confirmed like crazy and even now I wish there was something where I can hear the heartbeat in between the doctor appointments! Aww, I love your parental advice so much – I honestly can’t fathom how I would feel, both the good and the bad, but it’s something I can’t wait to experience! Thank you for your great tip. 🙂

  8. Oh my gosh, wow! Congrats! When one of my friends was pregnant a few years ago, her OB stamped a giant “AMA” on her file and was super embarrassed when she had to ask the nurse what it stood for. You guessed it, “Advanced Maternal Age”. =/

    • Thanks so much, Mrs. PoP!! They had me take home the genetic screening test/kit and paperwork so I can go to any lab I want at 10 weeks, and there was a big check mark at “advanced maternal age.” Wow, a big stamp is really embarrassing! I haven’t seen the file, but you think they’d be a little more sensitive about it!

  9. Congratulations! And you guys are adorable nerds with that Padawan reference. I’m so happy your family will be growing. That’s the very best news.

    • I know, I’m usually a sweets person, too, but I’ve been liking savory more. Aww, 1 year old already!! I’m pretty sure you discussed this in your blog at one point, but I’m curious what day care rates are like in NYC – it’s crazy in SD!

      • My friend paid about $1500 a month in Manhattan…I think it can be even more sometimes. I think it’s a little more if they’re not potty trained! Outside of Manhattan, it’s still in the $1000 range, but you can find family day care or smaller day care centers which are more affordable. My wife worked at one and I think they charged around $800. Also, some places don’t accept kids under a certain age. Fortunately for me, my mom is able to help out. I maxed out my dependent care flex spending account ($5000 for the year) and I’m paying her a very discounted amount but using pre-tax money. I might have to look into a part time day care because my son is getting mobile and I think it’s gonna be too tiring for my mom.

    • Thank you, Jocelyn!! I know, right – I was a little worried since statistics weren’t really on our side, but we are thankful that it happened quickly! I hope you are settling into your new digs nicely! 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Pauline! The doc actually wants me to keep my normal exercise routine (with caution of course), though he’ll assess around 20 weeks to see if it’s okay to continue with running. Not sure I can hang for even that long, though, as the extra weight is already taking a toll, but I figure I’ll continue for as long as I can. 🙂

  10. Congratulations! I’m SO excited for you guys! Eric says that if your nose gets wider (I’m not even sure if that’s physiologically possible?) then you’re going to have a boy. So I guess you’ll have to tell us if your nose is getting wider and then we’ll know the sex of the baby 😉 Curious what the cut off was for “advanced maternal age”? I suspect I’m already there, but I’d heard 35 from a couple of friends who are trying to get pregnant and thankfully I have 4 years to get there.

    • Thank you, KK!!! Haha, I’ve never thought about my nose, just noticing my expanding waistline! But now I’m going to have to observe this. Yup, AMA starts at 35. The perks is that you get all these tests where you can find out the sex pretty quickly! But, there’s definitely more risks involved being AMA.

  11. Congratulations, Anna ~ very happy for you. Babies are so much fun! I’m enjoying watching my daughter as a new Mom and having a ball being a grandma! 😀

Leave a Reply

