Pregnancy Notes Round 2!

Hey everyone!  It seems I say this every time, but sorry I’ve been MIA.  Work has officially kicked me in the bum, and recently I’ve been obsessed with finding our ‘forever’ home.  We don’t have a deadline, really, but we hope to find something amazing within the next year or so.  While we know that there’s no such thing as a perfect house, a great school system, reasonable commute, a comfortable place for our kids and parents/in-laws, and a nice kitchen (though I realize this can be remodeled) all within our price range is being taken into account, so it’s a bit like trying to find a needle in a haystack.  Despite being able to ‘choice’ schools in the system for houses closer to work, if it’s not a guarantee on a specific house, I tend to be a little risk averse, so I think a longer commute and great school system is more likely (plus, these areas tend to have great trails, so lifestyle wise it would be great).  I guess we’ll see!

I wanted to do a post about home daycare versus corporate daycare since I received so much great advice (especially from An Exacting Life and Shannon at Financially Blonde, thank you!), so I’ll be sure to write up the post and my experiences with it soon!  In the meantime, let’s do another round of Pregnancy Notes: The Good, The Bad, and The Funny!  Enjoy!

The Good

  1. I feel Flash’s movements grow stronger and stronger every week, and it is such an amazing feeling!  He’s most active when it’s super hectic at work or at night when I’m trying to sleep, but I always welcome it.
  2. Said movements are starting to make my belly twitch and wiggle.  B felt it when he had his arm around me and got so excited, I teared up.  Ditto when my dad and sis-in-law felt it – their reactions were priceless.
  3. I am definitely showing more these days, which is great since it takes the guesswork from others whether I just let myself go or not after I got married.  Here’s a recent pic from this past weekend!
  4. preggo
  5. When I made my FB announcement, a couple of others told me they are preggo, too – I LOVE it, and love that I have some friends to compare notes with. 🙂
  6. The baby shower is set, and you best believe we are having a Padawan-themed party!  I found this super cute invite on Etsy and our menu will be copied from these ideas, amongst other ones.  My favorite is Boba Fettucini and Jar Jar Links in a Blanket. 🙂

The Bad

  1. I didn’t really take into account that I’d not only gain weight in my belly, but hips and thighs, as well.  I’ve been doing fine all summer with muumuu maxi’s, but I’ll definitely need to size up my maternity pants come Fall since I’m getting camel toe with my current ones.
  2. Initially they told me that a healthy pregnancy is about a 25-35 weight gain.  At first, I thought, “okay, I’ll shoot for 25 since I’m pretty short.”  Well, I’m about two-thirds there and now weighing in at 22 pounds heavier, sooo… 35 limit it is! 😉
  3. I unfortunately am getting bleeding gums, which is really gross when I wear my retainer (I think I’ve been grinding my teeth, too, at night).
  4. Unfortunately, I didn’t pass my 1 hour glucose test so I have to take the 3 hour test.  Apparently, it’s common amongst my friends and probably people are age, but I just hope I don’t have gestational diabetes.  Please send well wishes that I pass!
  5. Sometimes, Flash is breeched, so while I love his movements, when he treats my bladder like a trampoline that tends to not be my favorite! 😉

The Funny

  1. I’m apparently well acclimated at work now, because a coworker said “Look, you practically have to stick your belly out to show that you’re pregnant.”  Three weeks later, she was like, “Wow, you are GI-NORM!!” lol
  2. The weird dreams continue, sometimes about outlandish results at work and most recently a lot of naughty dreams.  I told B about a naughty dream one day and his response was, “Is that why you were giggling?” wth?! lol
  3. I was at the doc’s one day and he had me lay down and lift up my maxi skirt while he put a blanket on top so he can check for Flash’s heartbeat on my belly.  I was laying down already and said I couldn’t lift it up, thinking that he had slid the bed part of it so that my skirt was caught.  Apparently I had a user-error moment since he responded with, “um, you need to lift your heels, it’s on the skirt.”
  4. Apparently I snore now, and one night I snored so loudly that I woke myself up.  I wondered whether I had imagined it, but my nostrils were pretty sore.

I hope everyone is been doing well, and thank you Alicia and Mackenzie for motivating me to get out of my shell.  Miss you all! 🙂

35 thoughts on “Pregnancy Notes Round 2!

    • Thank you, Mr. DbF! SD houses are definitely still such a sticker shock for me, but hopefully we’ll find something that fits most of our needs. Hope you’re doing well and that you weren’t affected by the flooding last week!

  1. Awww, you look so sweet Anna! Great pic 🙂 Okay, so two things: first, I didn’t pass my 1 hour glucose test either, and had to take the 3 hour. Baby was not happy at not the whole not eating thing, but it worked out and I passed the test. You will too I think quite a few women fail the first test, not sure why 🙂 Second, I gained about 35 pounds with my pregnancy, but my daughter was 8 pounds of that weight. So don’t worry about the weight gain. You were active before the pregnancy and knowing you, you’ll have your precious bundle of joy in one of those jogging strollers, and you’ll have lost the weight in no time!

    Happy to hear from you Anna! XO!!!

    • Mackenzie, thank you soooo much for sharing your experiences. It gives me a little hope that I’ll pass the 3 hour test, too! I know, not digging the 8 hour fast before the test, but I’ll have a snack ready as soon as it’s over. I thought about those jogging strollers, but wow, they’re expensive! You’re right, though, baby will take up at least a fourth of the weight, so hopefully I’ll be able to shed it quickly. Enjoy some rain time for me in Oregon, and jump into one or five puddles for me in those cute boots! xo

  2. You look so cute Anna! So still with the weird dreams eh! Glad to hear that work is going well for you and I really hope you won’t end up with gestational diabetes. Always love reading your updates 🙂

    • Thank you, Debs! I know, I thought the reaction was so random (the giggles), but pretty funny at the same time. Thank you for the well wishes on the housing and test, and I hope you’ve been doing well!! 🙂

  3. Aw, I love the picture! You look adorable. I absolutely LOVE the Padawan baby shower theme. That is too awesome for words. I hope you pass the glucose test this time around! I was happy to see a post from you today!

    • Aww, thank you for your sweet note, Erin!! Haha, we’re trying to think of Star Wars themed baby games, too – we found pretty funny prizes on Think Geek, so we’ll probably incorporate that. Hope you’ve been doing well and still so jealous you were able to go to FinCon, Erin!! 🙂

    • Awww, congrats Auntie!! YAY, I so can’t wait to hear about wedding planning – it’s such a fun time, and I know yours will look and be amazing!! Hope you’re doing well, Jocelyn, any races coming up soon? 🙂

      • Yup I’ve still got a half ironman at the end of October, whew, time to get out of vacation mode once we fly back! (We’re at SFO right now waiting to board…)

    • Aww, thanks Alicia!! The profile is something else, but I’m definitely enjoying pregnancy. Hope you’re doing well and thanks for helping me get out of my rut, Alicia! 🙂

  4. SO glad you posted another update, I have been wondering where you were. I am also happy that I was able to help you in some of your decision making. Definitely email me whenever for any other questions. I was one of those people who gained weight EVERYWHERE when I was pregnant. I would complain about my butt getting bigger and people would say “Well, you are pregnant” and I would respond, “Yes, but the baby is not in my a$$” I also gained a ton of water weight toward the end and eventually had both kankles and hobbit feet. In my third trimester I got bad reflux and we had to tilt our bed up because I couldn’t take Pepcid. It should be no surprise to anyone, why I only had one kid. 🙂

    • Aww, thanks Shannon, it’s really helped me a lot with some decision making, so thank you for that! Haha, that’s EXACTLY how I feel when people say I’m pregs – it’s like I’m not pregs in my booty or thighs so what the heck?? I’m definitely wondering what third tri will be like, since I’ll probably get kankles and heart burn, too (feel it at times already, and I also start breathing like Darth Vader at times). Thanks for the tip on tilting the bed up – might have to do that down the line, as well! I hope you and your fam have been doing well xo

    • Thank you so much, Morgaine!! I can’t wait to see pics of your NY vacay – it’s the only way I travel these days – vicariously through others. 🙂

  5. It’s great to see you back in action, Anna! I’ve missed you. 🙂 But I figured between baby and new job that you were probably tired! I gained my weight in belly. People would say they couldn’t tell I was pregnant from behind until I turned around and they saw my belly. I joined WW after I gave birth to help lose the baby weight and they really made a difference. One of the thing many great things about being pregnant is you can blame almost everything on it. I forget to do this … baby’s fault. 🙂 I’m glad everything is going well overall and you look beautiful. 🙂

    • Aww, thank you so much, Shannon, that really means a lot to me and I’ve missed you, too!! It’s no surprise you didn’t look preggo until people saw your belly since you’re so uber fit! That’s a great tip about WW – that program helped me in my early 20’s, so I think I’ll definitely do that once Flash comes out. Haha, and I’ve DEFINITELY been pulling the baby card, especially when I forget to text or call people back – I’ve never felt as ditzy before as I do now! 🙂 Hope you are doing well and that your girls are enjoying this school year!! xo

  6. Good to hear things are going well. Good luck with house hunting…having a child really makes you want to put down roots And yes of course a good school district is always a big consideration. We bought a co-op and will be moving in soon…it’s slightly bigger and we can convert a room for our son. Would love to buy a house in the future but crazy expensive in NYC too.

    • Thank you, Andrew – man, I totally know what you mean about wanting to put down roots! Good schools are for sure a priority for us, because private school is so darn expensive. Congrats on the co-op!! I’m bummed if I missed that post, so I’ll have to check back your archives on when you announced it. That’s awesome your son gets his own space, too, even more so for you and your wife!! Hope the move goes well, my friend. 🙂

  7. OMG! I love Boba Fettucini and Jar Jar Links in a Blanket.So much fun! Although my favorite has to be Jabba The Hummus. I’d serve it with Millennium Falcon chips. It’s exactly the kind of baby shower I would have expected from you! I’m glad you and Flash are doing well and good luck with all the house-hunting.

      • Aww, thank you so much, Mrs. PoP! Haha, I know, the snoring has been a trip, but it doesn’t seem to mind B much (for now). Thankfully he sleeps like a bump on a log! Hope you’ve been doing well, my friend! xo

    • Haha, I love that you enable my dorky tendencies – thank you, Tanya!! That’s hilarious about the Millennium Falcon chips – I think we’ll definitely incorporate that, as well!! Hope you’ve been doing well, Tanya! 🙂

  8. good to hear from you, Anna!!!! LOL, I had totally forgotten about the naughty dreams during pregnancy!!!! You look simply adorable, btw – very cute picture. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear more about the boy, and good luck on the house search!. 🙂

Leave a Reply

