Star Wars Baby Shower

Heidi-ho, everyone!  I thought I’d share a quick post about my baby shower that took place this past Sunday!  As some of you know, B and I are big Star Wars nerds, so I had my heart set on a Star Wars themed baby shower.  A lot of the ideas I found online (mostly influenced by this birthday party), and I thought catering from Daphne’s, a Greek place that’s not really sit down but not really fast food, either, would fit the theme the most.  I for sure want to take credit for Chewbaklava, and my best friend thought of C3-Pollo. 🙂

The food puns are labeled in the pics, but overall it was so much fun!  I bought some Star Wars stuff here and there and my best friend (who graciously offered us her house for the party) went so above and beyond with decorating it!  I couldn’t have done it better, and I am so grateful on what an amazing hostess she was.  Even more amazing, is that my brother and sister-in-law bought the BEST cake I could have ever asked for.  They said that they wanted to take care of it, and while I expected something cute because my sister-in-law has a knack for finding cute stuff, I was blown away by what she selected!

Overall, it was so much fun, though it felt like a mini-wedding since there were over 50 guests and a ton of kids, so it felt like while I got a chance to talk to people, I somewhat felt rushed talking to everyone.  I think for the most part everyone understood, and I was completely blown away by all the love and generosity given to B and I that day.

Here’s some pics from the event!  Can you guess which one I am in the family pic?? lol

Now that the party is over, it’s definitely nesting period time on ‘roids!  Thank you so much for everyone on their advice about term versus variable life insurance – it definitely influenced us to choose term for all the reasons everyone stated, so I am so grateful for this community!  And, shamelessly, I have another question this time around – do you have a favorite “freezable” meal that you’d like to recommend?  I’m going to attempt to make as many frozen meals as possible this month so hopefully we’ll have a good reserve for when Flash arrives, so I’d love to hear them!

I definitely need to catch up on everyone’s blogs, but I hope everyone’s been doing well!  I hope you have a wonderful week. xo

33 thoughts on “Star Wars Baby Shower

    • Thanks so much, Tonya! I know, I’m bummed I missed the PF blogger meetup, too – free food is my favorite kind of food! 😉 I hope you have a great Thanksgiving, girl!

  1. Star Wars theme! So cool Anna! Flash is a lucky baby. :). As for freezable foods, if you like chili, that’s one that stays well frozen for an extended period. I am not an expert in cooking so I am sure you’ll get better advice from others. I am glad you made a choice on the life insurance that suits your circumstances. Happy nesting my friend!

    • Thanks so much, Kassandra! It was definitely a lot of fun, though kind of relieved it’s over – I’m done with event planning for awhile. Chili is a great idea, especially since it will get colder in the next couple of months – thanks for planting the seed! 🙂

  2. are you flipping kidding me?! My fiancé would totally be on board for this kind of baby shower. 🙂 and I’d eat all the chewbaklava! So inventive, and what a cake. You look adorable even without a head 😉 take care of yourself! So glad you keep popping in once and awhile to update us.

    • Haha, thank you, Alicia! Surprisingly, there was a lot of chewbaklava left over, I’m thinking because there were so many sweets (the Wookie Cookies were mint chocolate, super delicious! 🙂

  3. Adorable. =)

    For freezer meals, I like soups, lasagna or stuffed shells, or homemade burritos. All of those can be frozen pretty easily in small portions which is how we roll. Also worth noting, cakes and cookies freeze very well.

    • Thank you, Mrs. PoP! Burritos is a great idea – for some reason I thought the tortilla might get soggy during the freeze, but that doesn’t sound like the case. I’ll have to do a test run and might come back to you if I need freezing tips – thank you so much!

  4. Ok, cutest shower EVER, and I LOVE that cake!!!! Good for you for choosing term life: smart move. As far as freezable meals, it depends a lot on what you like, but we always did lasagna, chicken enchiladas (I’ve got a great recipe: email me on the site if you want it), chow mein hotdish, or really any kind of casserole or soup will work well. Spanish rice or stuffed green peppers is another one we like to freeze. Good for you for preparing ahead too with meals: this will make things much easier for you. And enlist moms to help with housekeeping and laundry if they’re available. This is something I will absolutely be doing for my kids if they want me to, as it was tough to focus on baby and take care of housekeeping stuff too.

    • Thank you so much, Laurie – I know, the cake was super cute, my bro/sis did such a great job. Thank you sooo much on all these ideas – I got your chicken enchilada recipe, too, so thank you thank you (I still have to respond, such a slacker!). The chow mein hotdish is interesting, too – I’ll have to try cooking noodles and freezing it, I didn’t know it kept! My mom will thankfully be here for a couple of weeks, but indeed, I want to project out as much as I can, if possible. I didn’t put it down, but a friend actually got me housekeeping services for a couple of times – best shower gift ever, and something I’ll probably do for someone else for the next shower!

    • Thanks, Mr. DbF!! I was pleasantly surprised with Daphne’s portions – I didn’t think I ordered enough, but by the end of the day I was begging people to take some food home (though I got enough to not cook for the week, lol). It can definitely get pricey, but the quality is pretty fresh!

  5. I LOVE the baby shower and you look amazing (if that’s you in the pink dress)!!! You can barely tell you are pregnant. We had our baby shower in a bar and had a great time. The bar owner thought we were nutty, but all of our friends loved it. Plus I was the DD for anyone who got over served. We froze a bunch of stuff too before the baby and it was a huge life saver. Any kind of casserole is great to freeze. We froze some lasagnas and enchiladas. I would also freeze in freezer bags anything that you could just dump into a slow cooker and turn on like soups and chilis. Try making meals now with one hand and that will let you know if you will be capable of making them after the baby because that is how you will prep most meals in the near future. 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Shannon!! Indeed, that’s me in the pink dress! Thanks so much for the idea about putting stuff in the freezer and dumping it into a slow cooker – what a great idea, plus i wouldn’t necessarily have to worry about setting the timer (which I forget about even without a baby). I totally LOL’ed about prepping food with one hand!! 😀 Though sadly, I’m sure that’s all but true for my future! lol

  6. The baby shower looked like so much fun, Anna! 🙂 And the cake – truly adorable! I’m glad you’re doing well overall and what little I could see you – you looked fantastic! When I had the girls we picked up a lot of ready made fresh food, which was a huge timesaver, but it is expensive so you’re smart to do some prep now. With that said, I don’t make a lot of freezer meals but my understanding is almost any saucy/soupy dish freezes well, but you should probably listen to the others before me. 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Shannon!! It was definitely a lot of fun though I’m secretly relieved any event planning is over for the forseeable future! I definitely think our consumption of eating out (or rather, taking out) might spike in the next few months, but hopefully I’ll have a stash to help us for at least a couple of weeks. Thanks for the idea on sauces and soups, those sound pretty easy, too!

  7. Aw, your baby shower looked like so much fun! What a cute theme! 🙂 As for freezer meals, lasagna and enchiladas are really good. Also as a sidenote, make sure you have a lot of snacks on hand. Especially when you have a newborn and are barely functioning on little sleep, you want to have things in the kitchen that you can grab with little to no effort. Especially when you’re holding the baby and need to eat something super fast. Also, this is probably a bit TMI but, make sure when you pack your hospital bag, make sure you bring your maternity clothes to wear home because it seems like you would be able to fit into normal pants after delivering your precious bundle of joy, but that’s sadly not the case, lol 😉

    • Thanks so much, Mackenzie! Great call on snacks, I’ll have to hoard some the next time we go on a run. Lol, hopefully SoCal weather will be okay enough where I can just wear maxis with a sweater or something – I might look dumpy, but I definitely think I’ve gained in my hips/booty so I think it will take a few months for the bottom half to get back to normal clothes. If you have other tips on what to bring for my hospital bag (especially for baby), I’m all ears! 🙂

      • Make sure you bring more than one “taking baby home from the hospital” outfit, just in case he spits up on the outfit as you are putting it on him 🙂 Also, for you, bring big granny-sized underwear. I know this is TMI again, but you bleed A LOT after you give birth, whether it’s naturally or C-section. And big giant maxi-pads too. Lol, if you have any questions on this call/text me 🙂

  8. Love the cake!!! Maybe you can freeze chicken, rice and beans and other chicken and stews that will be tasty even after freezing. I also have found pierogis to be a great frozen meal, you can find em in frozen foods, and to make, just blanch, then saute in a pan with onions and other veggies. Quick, yummy and kind of healthy!

    • Thanks so much for the tip, Sally! rice and beans is a great idea, we eat a lot of tomato and rice, so I’ll have to test run how that freezes! I have to Google Pierogis, but thank you for the tip! 🙂

  9. Awe! I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS!!! And yes, that needed to be in all caps 😉 Love the theme, the food, the food puns, the cake. Just seems like it would have been such a fun time 🙂

    PS I’ll have to come back to the comments section here for my own ideas for freezer meals 😉 Glad to hear everything is going along well 🙂

    • Hahaha, love it, Morgaine – thank you!! There’s definitely some good tips here on stuff we eat anyway but that I wouldn’t have thought of freezing. Hope your pregnancy is going well, seriously so happy for you!! 🙂

  10. One of my favorite meals is Mexican anything. I have a great crockpot chicken taco mix that is super easy and super easy to double, or triple and freezes great!

    1 lb chicken
    1 can each corn, black beans and tomatoes
    1 package taco seasoning

    Put chicken in bottom of crockpot. (This works best with boneless, but bones can be removed…) Cover with taco seasoning, add drained corn, drained black beans and tomatoes, drained or not, your choice. Cook on low for 8 hours or high for 4 hours. Remove chicken, shred with a fork, put back in crockpot to simmer for about 20 more minutes, remove and enjoy. Great with avocados on top! (Make sure the chicken doesn’t cook too long so check about halfway through cooking.)

    • This is AMAZING, thank you so much, Mrs. 1500!! Sounds pretty easy, too, and we always have taco seasoning on hand, so thanks so much! I have to tell you, I make your Stove Top meatballs quite frequently – such a great meal, and they freeze well, too, so thank you! 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Lisa! Haha, food puns are so much fun, especially when people laugh at them. Hope you’re doing well, too, girl, can’t wait to hear about your wedding planning! 🙂

  11. “Hans rolo” too funny. What an adorable shower. I especially love the cake. My freezer is always too full for freezer meals (too much ice cream cake, ekk). I do cook a bunch in my crockpot though. For an easy chili just dump a pound of ground turkey (frozen or not) in the crock with a couple of cans of your favorite beans (I like black beans and kidney beans). Then I add a can of rotel tomatoes and diced chilis or a jar of salsa and some seasonings to taste (lots of cumin and chili powder and some chilis and adobo). Just throw it all in, and put the crock on high for 4-6 hours or low 6-8.

    • Thanks, KK! Mmmm, ice cream cake!! 😀 Thanks for the great idea about crock pot chili – I like that the turkey can be frozen, too, because I tend to forget about defrosting stuff! Thanks for the great tip and hope you’re doing well, girl! 🙂

  12. OMG! I love C3-Pollo. Hilarious and so you. The cake looks amazing too. She did a fabulous job and a pregnant Princess Leia. I don’t even have the words! I want to start making more freezer meals too. Some days I’m not good with planning and it’s nice to have some back-ups. As others mentioned, lasagna and soups freeze well. I like to keep a container of homemade spaghetti sauce and meatballs (stored separately) in the freezer too. Just avoid sauces/soups with cream in them. Freeze before adding the cream and add it when reheating. Cream tends to get funky when frozen. Not all the time but you don’t want your hard work (and money) to go to waste! Breads and muffins freeze well. As does homemade pizza dough. And if you’re feeling naughty, cookies and cake freeze quite well too! If I stumble across any great freezer recipes, I’ll be sure to send them your way!

  13. TOO STINKIN’ CUTE!!! Hope you are well! I freakin’ love puns, and Star Wars…loved “Chewbaklava” but I think “7 Leia dip” was my new favorite! Sending you hugs!

Leave a Reply

