Lessons Learned from 2014 and Happy 2015 to You!

Happy New Year, everyone!!  I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season and an amazing start to 2015!  I know I tend to begin this way, but apologies again for being so MIA.  My last month of work before maternity leave was all sorts of hectic that it was hard to even check on everyone’s blogs at lunch, but know that you were constantly thought of and that I missed you!

20150102_100614Before I begin, though – serious big shout-outs to The 1500’s, who were kind enough to not only hang with B and I during their SD getaway, but also gave us these amazing Warren Buffet and Charlie Munger duckies for our soon-to-be little one (along with a Warren Buffet book on personal finance for kids)!  Coupled with the Star Wars characters we also received from our baby shower, bath time will be the most epic Berkshire Hathaway shareholders meeting EVER! 🙂

I’ve officially been on maternity leave for the past two weeks (which fit in well with the holidays, anyway), and while I had hoped our soon-to-be arrival would make an early appearance to maximize the “pre leave” with him, apparently he is telling us “You’re not the boss of me!” as it looks like he might be even later than the expected due date. 🙂 It kind of fits in well as I was two weeks late and B was a few days, so I suppose he’s just keeping with tradition!  Needless to say, we’re anxious to meet him and I’m especially excited to hopefully be able to go to restrooms and turning over in bed soon without having to do a 5-point turn. 😉

I also wanted to reflect a little on 2014 (updates on whether I passed/failed have been updated in my 2014 goals list!), and what I hope to accomplish in 2015 pf-wise.  In 2014, I not only remained debt free, but also managed to accrue a nice sum in my retirement, savings, and investment accounts due to a new job and salary increase, living well below our means, and just becoming more savvy with savings and investing strategies in general.  We’re also thankful and excited about all the wonderful hand-me-downs we received in terms of baby items which saved us quite a pretty penny, and I can’t wait to return that favor to others someday, as well.

I have to be honest, though – despite being debt free all last year and feeling pretty empowered due to it, I did still remain quite anxious and uncertain with myself when it comes to finances.  Though I did give myself allowances for some splurges every now and then, I did still feel insecure at times about “going back” to my spendy ways, regressing in my/our goals, or just not having as much in ‘the reserves’.  I suppose this anxiety is a bit valid with the last component, considering the expenses for this year with daycare and baby expenses, and perhaps buying our ‘forever’ home if we’re lucky enough to find that match we’ve been looking for (especially this one, since 20% down payment is a pretty hefty sum to ‘part’ with).  However, for 2015, I’d like to be more financially confident in my decisions.  I’d like to be able to trust myself in this arena a lot more, so much so that it becomes second nature.  Thankfully, I do have some tools and techniques I can base this off of (i.e., when I maintained my weight loss back in my 20’s and 30’s), but I also know that reading PF blogs and doing ‘self check-ups’ with myself are key in keeping this up.

So with that, I have to be honest in that I’m not sure of when I’ll be able to post again while I’m on maternity leave (though I will at least strive to announce his God-willing healthy and safe arrival!), at least, but I do intend to keep up with all of my PF friends as much as possible!  I hope 2015 brings you lots of health, happiness, and prosperity, and I wish you all the best! 🙂

 

17 thoughts on “Lessons Learned from 2014 and Happy 2015 to You!

  1. Happy New Year, Anna. I’ve missed you around these parts, but I totally understand how busy (and likely tired you are now). I cannot wait to hear the little guy is happy and healthy.

    Regarding the anxiety. I feel like I’m going to have that for a few years honestly. Until I feel “secure enough” (what does that mean?) that I cannot just topple everything over again. I think it’s pretty normal, honestly. Though I’m not on the other side yet, so what do I know 🙂

  2. Happy 2015! Though it’s a shame your little gremlin couldn’t have been a New Year’s baby… an awesome tax deduction! =)

    Stay happy and healthy, and good luck to you guys as you start a huge adventure!

  3. Happy New Year! I hope the little one arrives sooner rather than later, and that everything goes well! I love the little SW characters along with the duckies. I’m sure you’ll gain more confidence as more things get settled. =) I felt similarly this year with all the changes I had. Staying debt-free is still a great accomplishment, and I have faith you’ll stick with it!

  4. Happy New Year Anna! Yeah, first babies usually take their sweet time to make an entrance. They just love being cocooned by Mommy all snug and warm and don’t want to leave! 🙂 Can’t wait to hear about his arrival!!

  5. Hey Anna-

    It was a lot of fun seeing you and B again! I hope your little one enjoys the ducks and the book!

    I think you worry too much. Now that you’re on the right track and have been on it for a while, you’ll soon realize that you’ve changed. I notice this in myself on occasion. For example, I bought a $500 phone a couple years ago. Now, the very thought of buying anything more than a used one for fraction of $500 makes me cringe. You’ll notice things like this in yourself too if you haven’t already.

    Happy New Year to you, B and future Baby AYGET!

  6. Oh man, if Flash came in 2014, you guys coulda gotten a tax deduction! =P Haha j/k! I remember the last few weeks were a bit nerve wracking (but mostly because our place was a mess and we didn’t feel prepared). Baby LRC came a few weeks early so I guess we didn’t have to wait too long. Actually my wife had just taken maternity for a few days when he came. Can’t wait to see some baby pics! Hope you guys had a wonderful holiday season and an even better New Year.

  7. So good to hear from you, Anna! Been thinking about you lately and wondering when your little cutie will arrive on the scene. 🙂 I think a little bit of insecurity is a good thing, in the sense that it will help keep you from backsliding into your old spending habits, but at the same time, I like that you’re going to be working in 2015 to be more confident with your financial decisions. You’re doing terrific, Anna!

  8. Every time I see a new post from you Anna, I smile. 🙂 I can relate with your feelings on being apprehensive when it comes to spending, post-debt. I went through that and although it took time, the confidence you speak of did find it’s way into my thinking when it came to money and not worrying about regressing back to my shopaholic years.
    I pray that Flash doesn’t take too much longer to grace you all with his arrival and I wish you and yours simply the best for 2015!

  9. I hear you on the 5 point turn Anna!! I remember getting to the point where nothing was an easy task because my body was just bursting at the seems. I also know the last few weeks are the hardest because you are so uncomfortable coupled with being filled with anticipation to meet your little guy that each day feels like an eternity. I am sending good labor thoughts your way and can’t wait to hear about the safe arrival of your little guy. Good luck!!!

  10. Happy New Year, Anna! I was wondering if the little guy would arrive before the new year but it appears he wants to make sure his arrival is on his terms! Very smart of him to let you know who the boss is before he even arrives. 🙂 Here’s to a wonderful 2015 and a super easy, pain-free delivery of a healthy baby boy!

  11. Happy New Year! Hoping that the little one arrives soon (if he hasn’t already) and you have a quick and easy delivery. I was born on New Year’s day, and I can speak from experience that it’s neat to be born on a holiday, but also hard (when you’re a kid). Everyone is so focused on the holiday your birthday sort of becomes an afterthought.

Leave a Reply

